Cover image for Strive Living Society
Logo
See All Photos

Strive Living Society

Engaged Employer

Strive Living Society

Add a Review

Strive Living Society Reviews

Updated Oct. 3, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 31 of over 35 reviews
3.6
70% Recommend to a Friend
Strive Living Society President  and Executive Director Kerry Horgan and Mike Hopton
80% Approve of CEO

Found 31 of over 35 reviews

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Strive Living Society President  and Executive Director Kerry Horgan and Mike Hopton
Kerry Horgan and Mike Hopton
15 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    -

    Sep. 7, 2022 - Program Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work environment, learning opportunities, awesome staff, good compensation, good benefits

    Cons

    Nothing to report. Thank you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    Director of HR and IT

    Thank you for your response, we hope to continue to offer you a work environment filled with growth opportunities and a group of supportive colleagues during your time with Strive!

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Adapting to change in Difficult Times

    Sep. 27, 2022 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    innovative, honest effort to try new things to make operations work

    Cons

    slow to adopt the changes they propose

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    Director of HR and IT

    Thank you for your comments and your patience with us, we are doing our best to bring forth not only new changes, but changes that we believe will serve both our clients and staff for the better.

  3. Join the Strive Living Society team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Unethical Managers

    Oct. 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Higher than average pay, generous benefits, great co-workers

    Cons

    Managers will manipulate you into doing unethical things and then blame you for doing what they told you to do. I wouldn't recommend this job even to the people I hate the most.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    Director of HR and IT

    We’re sorry to hear you have had a difficult time at Strive so far. We will take your feedback, and if you are willing, we will do our best to work with you and our managers to improve your experience while you are here.

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pathetic management with zero accountability

    Sep. 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    working environment itself - depending on the residence and client, is not too bad. There are opportunities for downtime.

    Cons

    - be expected to perform duties outside of your role (painting walls, handyman work, landscaping etc) - residence managers will pull tricks to deny vacation requests without doing any callouts for coverage - higher management is all about public image of organization; there is no protection/additional training for staff to protect themselves against physical aggression/serious allegations from clients who dont like you

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    Director of HR and IT

    We are sorry that you have felt stretched and unequipped in your current role at Strive. We will do our best to take your feedback and offer more support to our staff so that they can deliver the best support to the individuals we serve.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Aug. 15, 2022 - Support Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers, pay is good as well

    Cons

    very unorganized in many of the programs

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    Director of HR and IT

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Strive. We will take your feedback and continue to find ways to ensure organization and functionality is evident in every single one of our programs.

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good employer

    Aug. 14, 2022 - Registered Nurse in Coquitlam, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed non profit environment with regular RN duties.

    Cons

    I did not experience any cons while working here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Staff not supported

    Aug. 18, 2022 - Child and Youth Support Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was above industry average.

    Cons

    There was zero staff support and too many expectations for the lack of support. And some management decisions were unethical.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    Director of HR and IT

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Strive. We wish we could have worked with you and your manager to find ways to support you in order for you to find success and fulfillment in your role.

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good

    Jan. 12, 2022 - Support Worker in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, unionized , benefits, Good co workers

    Cons

    Not all department are unionized, lack organizational

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    HR Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Strive. We try to provide competitive pay and benefits to all our valued employees. If you have suggestions on how to improve, we’d be happy to hear them so we can earn those last two stars. Take care and stay safe.

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Working as a youth support worker

    Nov. 23, 2021 - Residential Youth Support Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great perks and benefits and a strong feeling of fulfillment while working with youth.

    Cons

    Employees tend to get burnt out very quick.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    HR Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience with Strive. We’re glad you spent a few years with us and happy you found it to be fulfilling work. At the same time, we understand the job can be demanding and we’re always trying to take care of our staff the best we can. Our Employee and Family Assistance Program is top-notch and free for all employees. All the best.

  11. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    not organized

    Nov. 18, 2021 - Community Support Worker in North Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    some co coworkers were great

    Cons

    horrible management, horrible client placment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Strive Living Society Response

    HR Coordinator

    We’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at Strive. It’s unfortunate we didn’t have the opportunity to work with you to improve your experience while you were here. Strive doesn’t discriminate against any clients, regardless of ability, in hopes that we can make a difference in their lives. Sometimes it may not work out, but we approach each client with a positive mindset and try our best.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews
</>Embed

Strive Living Society Reviews FAQs

Strive Living Society has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 35 reviews left anonymously by employees. 70% of employees would recommend working at Strive Living Society to a friend and 55% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Strive Living Society employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Strive Living Society. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

70% of Strive Living Society employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Strive Living Society 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with Strive Living Society Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Strive Living Society? Share Your Experiences

Strive Living Society logo
or

Strive Living Society Careers

Cover image for Strive Living Society

Strive Living Society is a non-profit registered charity which endeavours to design and deliver community living services, tailored to each...More

  • Our History
  • Values
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Strive Living Society

692 days ago

Keep up with the latest Strive news and COVID-19 updates!
Shared image - News
News
glassdoor.com
See all

Strive Living Society Photos

+ Add Photo
Strive Living Society photo of: OHS Award
Strive Living Society photo of: Residential Award
Strive Living Society photo of: Non Profit of the year!!
Strive Living Society photo of: Hiking Club at Grouse Mountain
Strive Living Society photo of: Headway BBQ's for Brain Injury Awarness
Strive Living Society photo of: Employee Referral Program
Strive Living Society photo of: Health and Safety in the workplace demonstrations
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 35 Strive Living Society reviews submitted anonymously by Strive Living Society employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Strive Living Society is right for you.