Street Capital Bank of Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Street Capital Bank of Canada Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Street Capital Bank of Canada CEO Duncan Hannay (no image)
Duncan Hannay
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible working hours - Easy to maintain a work/life balance - Upper management is very receptive to feedback and easy to approach - Opportunities to travel and attend conferences and trade-shows - Great team atmosphere

    Cons

    - High volume of work, but if you manage your time properly, this isn't really a con

    Advice to Management

    I am very happy with how management interacts with employees. Executives at Street are the most approachable execs I have ever had the pleasure to work with.

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2016-08-10

    Street Capital Bank of Canada Response

    February 6, 2018Street Capital Representative

    Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you are having a positive experience with Street Capital and hope we can continue to provide an environment of growth and development for you.

  2. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice perks, fun crowd, bonuses every year.

    Cons

    Compensation not the most impressive

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2019-07-16
  3. "Work review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Has potential for growth increasing market share.

    Cons

    Market conditions are a driving factor

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2019-05-28
  4. "SCBC Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Open communication Flexibility Ability to gain lots of experience

    Cons

    Compensation/Pay inequity Favouritism Opportunity for growth More transparency

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees for reccomendations Implement a proper compensation model Drive engagement and positivity in the workplace

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2018-11-29

    Street Capital Bank of Canada Response

    December 21, 2018Street Capital Representative

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you are gaining valuable experience in your position, and that the organization has provided you with an open and flexible working environment. Additionally, we are always looking for ways to improve employee experience, and we ...

    Show More
  5. "Save Yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    -Some flexibility with work hours and working from home. -Average to above industry pay (I hear this has changed since becoming a bank)

    Cons

    -Company as a whole favours credit team and is blatantly obvious about it. -Same few individuals get promoted -Unqualified managers dealing with front line staff creating blockages due to indecision, fear of making mistakes, and just generally unknowledgable. -Managers create a toxic team environment by bullying and intimating staff, trying to pit team members against each other, always inexplicably suspicious... of staff, and being extremely secretive and purposely withholding information. -Managers feel threatened by staff and never provide positive feedback or assist in developing front line staff. The attitude is "I'm the boss, do as I say." -No raises, very few perks, only 3 sick days - got the flu once and had to take vacation time to cover days off -Data for many departments is tracked in excel spreadsheets. As a bank, the company should invest in some system platforms to bring it into the 21st century

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Replace abusive, incompetent managers and focus more on promoting from within. -Better training courses for front line management. Also, on the job/cross departmental training should be organized by training team so individuals actually have the opportunity to take advantage. -Increase amount for education assistance.

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2018-11-06

    Street Capital Bank of Canada Response

    December 21, 2018Street Capital Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. The experience of our Team Members is extremely important to us and we are continually working to provide a healthy and productive work environment. We are sorry to hear you aren’t receiving the level of support ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some flexibility with working from home. Great co-workers and laid-back environment. Lots of and fast internal promotion.

    Cons

    Very unorganized and high pressure. Poor management. When management is feeling pressure everyone does and it isn't handled professionally. High burn out. Employees who value the company and their work are expected to pick up slack for everyone else. Inconsistent expectations. Often required last minute to pick up other people's work at day/week end. Only people who "they know they can count" on have to do this and... are guilted into it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like you care. Not just about them but the company.

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2018-10-20
  7. "Morgage underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    better than average pay and benefits; management is supportive; flexible working hours

    Cons

    stressful workload in busy seasons

    Advice to Management

    hire more

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2018-10-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A Directionless Mess."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some really great co-workers Pay is pretty good Downtown location Nothing further to say about this company as cons massively out weighs the pros

    Cons

    Managers don’t have any direction and don’t offer you support because they aren’t supported themselves. Company makes a lot of promises but rarely ever pull though. Way too much internal politic with upper management. Benefits are Pathetic compared to all other banks. Favoritism is law of the land. As of today this “Bank” still hasn’t figured out funding for refinancing because it relays solely on outside... investors.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some of your directors only look out for themselves. They don’t care about the growth of the company and have caused you to lose a lot of great talent and each of these people will go on NOT recommending you guys to do business with or work for.

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2018-04-02

    Street Capital Bank of Canada Response

    April 9, 2018Street Capital Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. The experience of our Team Members is extremely important to us and we are continually working to provide a healthy and productive work environment. As a growing company we are in the process of making long ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Staff are professional and hard working

    Cons

    Management have no regard for employees efforts

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2018-02-12

    Street Capital Bank of Canada Response

    March 20, 2018Street Capital Representative

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn’t receive the level of support you expected. We strive to provide a healthy and productive work environment for our Team Members and are always looking for ways to improve employee experience. Best of luck with your future endeavors.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Street Capital Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Nice pay and some employees are fun to work with.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about their employees. Supervisors were promoted because of politics even without qualifications. HR people doesn't know what they are doing computed severance wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Management should start caring for their employees, they are the backbones of the company. HR people should be more trained on labour laws.

    Street Capital Bank of Canada2018-01-22

    Street Capital Bank of Canada Response

    February 6, 2018Street Capital Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't receive the level of support you expected. The experience of each of our Team Members is of the utmost importance to us, and we take responsibilities pertaining to our employees ...

    Show More
Found 17 reviews