Statistics Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Statistics Canada Reviews

Updated Jul 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Statistics Canada CEO Anil Arora
Anil Arora
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment, great people, simple work(in 28 reviews)

  • "Pretty flexible hours; my manager let me leave earlier as long as I'd make up the hours(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can face difficult residents who oppose doing the census(in 12 reviews)

  • "Can only go up to a certain level if you are not bilingual(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist 

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great management and compassionate coworkers

    Cons

    Internal politics might lead to struggles in promotions

    Statistics Canada2019-06-16
  2. "Great for young professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GIS Programmer-Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good community, secure employment, interesting work projects

    Cons

    Legacy systems, too much management hierarchy, slow to adapt

    Statistics Canada2019-07-17
  3. "Employee training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Nanaimo, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training for the job

    Cons

    No training on employee relations

    Advice to Management

    All staff need harassment training whether they are casual or not.

    Statistics Canada2019-07-24
  4. "Great taste of government IT work for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst - Coop in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My team (of 5, which I think is a fairly average size) has smart people who work and communicate well together, and they are not at all hesitant to give me full responsibility and autonomy even as a coop. I have worked on all layers of a software project, from database through to UI. Graduate hiring or co-op bridging opportunities exist It's a friendly and inclusive environment, with lots of activities going on - definitely...

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of older technologies. Especially as a co-op, it's basically luck of the draw what you will end up working on. It could be fun and stimulating, or it could be boring bug fixes on ancient code.

    Statistics Canada2019-06-15
  5. "Pleasant work environment but slow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment. Friendly people. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Too many meetings, too bureaucratic.

    Statistics Canada2019-06-02
  6. "Senior Interviewer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment for me

    Cons

    Low pay, overworked at times

    Statistics Canada2019-04-28
  7. "Statistical Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Statistician 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Interesting, creative, peaceful, friendly, growing

    Cons

    none, none, none, none, none

    Advice to Management

    none

    Statistics Canada2019-04-23
  8. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible and understanding. Have a high chance to continue working with them beyond the summer term. Relaxed and friendly environment.

    Cons

    You won't be learning as much as you would wish; student jobs there are usually very basic - it looks good in a resume but it doesn't teach you much.

    Statistics Canada2019-03-27
  9. "Tax Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interviewer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Like to work with taxes

    Cons

    Long time in telephone, sometimes boring.

    Statistics Canada2019-03-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Archaic and unfulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Production and Dissemination Coordinator in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work hours. - Decent salary - although not on par with most other government jobs. - There are a few rare, niche positions/divisions with interesting work.

    Cons

    - Archaic mentality. The workflows and processes are years, if not decades behind their time. Everything is tailored to the "older" workers, who have been doing the same thing for decades, without any clear intent in modernizing processes. Blatant discrimination towards younger workers, who are handed all the garbage work while the older workers slack off and live in the 1990s. - Impossible to receive promotions,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop discriminating against the younger crowd. Stop protecting the lazy and incompetent workers. Invest more in motivating your employees by developing actual useful job positions, and stop living in the past.

    Statistics Canada2019-04-12
Found 143 reviews