Statistics Canada Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Statistics Canada Chief Statistician Anil Arora
Anil Arora
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very stressful and fast-paced deadlines had to be met for the census(in 13 reviews)

  • "Most jobs appear in Ottawa Canada(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Data Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highly value work-life balance, have the opportunity to work on interesting projects and positively contribute

    Cons

    Bureaucracy can lead to frustrating delays

    Statistics Canada2020-05-22
  2. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Flexible.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any..

    Statistics Canada2020-05-18
  3. "Accommodating and inclusive enviroment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Lots of knowledge people willing to provide assistance

    Cons

    Expect bureaucracy when working at the organization.

    Statistics Canada2020-05-07
  4. "Constant harrassment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Golden handcuffs. Beyond that, not much.

    Cons

    Avoid at all cost. You will be subject to constant harrassment and discrimination. The mechanisms for resolution are only meant to protect the employer so they can buy time to fire you. If your a white englsoh male, forget about it, you will run out a job at the earliest opportunity.

    Continue reading
    Statistics Canada2020-04-22
  5. "Good work culture but lots of work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Pay Supervisor in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are great, managers were great, work was meaningful.

    Cons

    Very stressful and fast-paced deadlines had to be met for the census.

    Statistics Canada2020-02-04
  6. "A Decent Job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Census Enumerator in Collingwood, ON

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a good team of enumerators, and the supervisor was good too. You somewhat choose your hours of work with this job, although those hours need to align with when you expect people to be home to be enumerated. Paid training is provided before you begin enumerating.

    Cons

    There were fewer hours of work than expected / advertised. Perhaps some other locations had plenty of hours, since it would be difficult to predict in advance how many enumerators will be needed per city.

    Continue reading
    Statistics Canada2020-01-02
  7. "Easy place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Management doesn't ask for too much.

    Cons

    Experience depends on group and file. Some teams are dynamic and progressive others are more stagnant. Job can be slow depending on the file. Pay grades are set lower when compared to other Federal Government institutions. Most people stall out at an intermediate position. Best to work there for a few years and move one. Most processes are very internal and not useful outside of StatCan.

    Continue reading
    Statistics Canada2020-01-14
  8. "Good job for new graduates"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Methodologists in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, nice people, not much workload

    Cons

    Not much to do sometimes, no bonus, bureaucracy

    Statistics Canada2019-12-27
  9. "Trading hours for dollars"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer Co-op in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Okay-ish job for a student to get a foot in the door. The team I worked on was working on the cloud with the latest industry tech. Students get decent salary and have the option to bridge into a full-time role after graduation.

    Cons

    Boring and bureaucratic job. There was nobody there that I could call a mentor. Each team seemed to have different management styles and different processes. As a software developer I was hoping to work with statistical algorithms and machine learning, but the work I was doing was grunt work. I wouldn't take this job if I had to do it all over again; it's not worth relocating for this position. I felt like I was in the movie Office Space most of the time. No complementary coffee.

    Statistics Canada2019-12-28
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Data Dissemination 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Many divisions to experience different projects and expand knowledge.

    Cons

    Horrible parking. Alot of people in high positions are less skilled than ones in lower positions.

    Statistics Canada2019-12-12
Found 160 reviews