State Street Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

State Street Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4011 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
122 Ratings
  1. "Tax Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at State Street full-time

      Pros

      Option to work from home in certain depts. Pension matching is decent.

      Cons

      Micro managing. Be prepared to get yelled at.

      State Street2018-05-31

      State Street Response

      August 13, 2018State Street

      Thank you for sharing this with us. We encourage all employees to escalate their concerns right away. Employees should visit the Corporate Compliance community on the intranet and search for the “Speaking Up Resources” document to learn the best course of action.

    • "Derivatives operations specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at State Street full-time

      Pros

      Great people, progress very quickly

      Cons

      High staff turnover, people are unlikely to syay.

      Advice to Management

      High staff turnover

      State Street2018-05-26
    • "tax associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at State Street

      Pros

      open working environment, convenient location

      Cons

      office politics, less career opportunities

      State Street2018-05-02

      State Street Response

      May 30, 2018State Street

      Thank you for your review. I, too, enjoy the open work environment that we have at State Street and the convenience of our office locations. Our office spaces are collaborative and offer the flexibility to work from multiple locations, giving me the option of which location to be ...

      Show More
    • "Commission Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at State Street full-time

      Pros

      To see the dynamic in trading floor.

      Cons

      Repetitive work due to automation of processes in brokerage

      State Street2018-05-08
    • "Client Services Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      -flexible work hours -work from home

      Cons

      -long hours -high turnover -slow re-hiring process

      State Street2018-03-25
    • "Hedge Fund and Private Equity Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Hedge Fund Administrator in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at State Street full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Good way to get your foot through the door - Everyone is super nice - Lots to learn - Transportation and meals expensed if you work over 10 or more hours

      Cons

      - No work-life balance - Lots and lots of overtime - Low salary

      Advice to Management

      The company needs to take a big step forward in recruiting more people as a lot of teams are lacking bodies. There isn't enough people for work to be circulated, hence why everyone has to overtime so much or has way too much to do.

      State Street2018-03-23
    • "Client Service Associate 1"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Client Service Associate in Toronto, ON
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at State Street full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Learn a lot about securities and markets; custody and accounting. Team really helps each other. Medical/dental benefits. Insurance. Education assistance.

      Cons

      1 hour break but very busy at work. No downtime. Break is very limited. Work hours at 9-5:30 or 6pm.

      State Street2018-03-08
    • "Nothing comes for free at the bank"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Montreal, QC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good employee benefits package, relatively good opportunities for promotion (but the wave when the company was getting new business has passed), on a manager level expat opportunities may arise

      Cons

      It's a custodian bank, so in many ways a very regulated environment, with little excitement since most of work is fund accounting. Organization makes sure to use its human capital to the fullest.

      Advice to Management

      Strongly advise to reduce the number of hours from 40 to 37.5 which is very common nowadays in Canadian banking industry, obviously keeping the same salary. As a fund accountant, I could definitely do my actual work for 7.5h daily, and then move with my day.

      State Street2018-02-22
    • "Pricing Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at State Street full-time

        Pros

        Fun, Finger on the pulse, very finance

        Cons

        can be boring, low pay

        State Street2018-02-17
      • "New to STT"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at State Street full-time

        Pros

        Good colleagues to work with, good management so far

        Cons

        Seems like a lot of turnover

        Advice to Management

        Explain how the office works more..

        State Street2018-01-26
      Found 4011 reviews