State Street Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

State Street Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4115 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
155 Ratings
  1. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great to work with.

    Cons

    There is no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to associates

    State Street2018-08-23
  2. "Associate 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly and professional work environment

    Cons

    Long long hours and routine work

    Advice to Management

    Don’t overwork your A2’s to decrease your turnover

    State Street2018-07-14

    State Street Response

    August 13, 2018State Street

    Thank you for your review. I am glad that you think our working environment is friendly and professional. State Street is a strong advocate for work/life balance and you can learn about work/life programs and find additional resources on the work life Collaborate site. I encourage ...

    Show More
  3. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Good job out of school International offices

    Cons

    Low salary Apathy towards retaining employees Focus on cost cutting opposed to investing in employees

    State Street2018-07-27
  4. "Overall environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good working environment and location

    Cons

    lack of coordination between different departments such as IT and operations

    Advice to Management

    management to be improve

    State Street2018-06-02
  5. "Associate 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Diverse environment. Lots of free trainigs. Good benefits. Trusting bosses. I got employed in another company after State Street, and I would say State Street is more high tech than other companies that are claiming their system is state of the art. I've heard the same comment from another friend who worked for other big banks but they're just not as high tech as State Street.

    Cons

    I think the pay is low. They keep on laying off people and asks employees for ways to make the job more efficient and once we come up of an efficient way to streamline work, they lay off people or never hire anybody to fill in a position.

    State Street2018-06-11
  6. "Derivatives operations specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Great people, progress very quickly

    Cons

    High staff turnover, people are unlikely to syay.

    Advice to Management

    High staff turnover

    State Street2018-05-26
  7. "Senior Client Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to get your foot in the door and meeting people that are also in starting out in their 20's and 30's. Good benefits - extended health, matching group retirement savings plan.

    Cons

    Starting salary is low, salary increases are low too. Hours can be long but at least you are compensated for overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in more career development/trainings for employees. Share how anonymous employee feedback was received and if any changes were made what were they. More fun employee events then annual bbq and rewards night.

    State Street2018-06-04
  8. "Tax Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Option to work from home in certain depts. Pension matching is decent.

    Cons

    Micro managing. Be prepared to get yelled at.

    State Street2018-05-31

    State Street Response

    August 13, 2018State Street

    Thank you for sharing this with us. We encourage all employees to escalate their concerns right away. Employees should visit the Corporate Compliance community on the intranet and search for the “Speaking Up Resources” document to learn the best course of action.

  9. "Tax Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good work life balance.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other companies, leading to high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more.

    State Street2018-05-31
  10. "Commission Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    To see the dynamic in trading floor.

    Cons

    Repetitive work due to automation of processes in brokerage

    State Street2018-05-08
Found 4115 reviews