Starwood Hotels & Resorts "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Nov 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Starwood Hotels & Resorts CEO Adam Aron
Adam Aron
400 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance, challenging to grow with transition(in 64 reviews)

  • "Long hours that is not compensated a lot of times(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales and Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Lots of support, great benefits

    Cons

    too many reports, confusing with Marriott taking over

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2016-07-26
  2. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPG Associate in St. Thomas, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and average pay

    Cons

    Very stressful if you their thought is that all calls are reservation calls and you should always get a reservation and some of the Supervisors reprimand you if your stats are not in goal

    Advice to Management

    Control your out of control supervisors

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-01-19
  3. "Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company, great programs, at the head of hospitality Great benefits

    Cons

    In the ME, it’s all about the owners... job stability 0, no matter how many years you have been in the company When you change hotels, you loose your seniority

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-11-03
  4. "Director of sales and marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Sales and Marketing in Pretoria, Gauteng
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic company with great benefits and solid structure. Good policies and procedures. Great training fantastic travel opportunities

    Cons

    now being part of Marriott and way too big ..... don’t allow outside associates to apply or they do t know about the job opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Advertise the job opportunities better

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-09-11
  5. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, 401k, discounted rates for hotel rooms, cafeteria food, and parking.

    Cons

    under-staffed management at the SLS Hotel.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps pay your floor managers more so they are incentivized to stay. All of the competing hotel in the Beverly Hills area have a higher starting salary.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-03-02
  6. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management left a lot to be desired but there are great benefits and many perks to working for this company

    Cons

    If you don't like working late nights or in a club setting this is not for you

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-03-05
  7. "Great Company but management needs training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Hollywood, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, friendly co-workers, good salary

    Cons

    Management needs training on how to treat employees. No room for grow.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-01-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great for long term, able to grow in some departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, free lunch, shower/locker rooms. Free uniforms, able to grow and transfer.

    Cons

    No set schedules. Favoritism Parking far from building Department moved to a new location and that’s where it went downhill for me. My new manager belittled me at times infront of coworkers when I asked her a question. She had favorite employees. One former employee whom I use to work with quit for the same reasons. If we were to request a day off for doctor appointments she would try to make you change it to a different date to accommodate her. I had proof of pregnancy and showed her documentation of proof of pregnancy and next appointment. She wasn’t pleased about my appointment because other people were on the list to have the day off. Asked me if I could changed it and because I was afraid I did, she still wasn’t happy because it was another busy day for the department. I was so overwhelmed I just quit I never thought I’d leave the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please don’t burden the employees (reservations agents) with so many new tasks. Make other departments responsable for their bookings like dining and spa. Reservations department already was handling multiple properties, and group reservations. It can be extremely overwhelming. I was an employee for years and I quit earlier this year. People don’t leave because they hate their job, people leave because of poor management.

    Show More
    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-12-23
  9. "woderful company ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great group of people to work with. not great benefits

    Cons

    too bad the company was sold

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-12-18
  10. "Best rate guarantee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Rate Guarantee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits

    Cons

    Could pay more or offer incentives for performance

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to add

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-12-07
Found 86 reviews