Starwood Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Starwood Hotels & Resorts CEO Adam Aron
Adam Aron
386 Ratings
  1. "Great umbrella company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Starwood is a great company with an awesome company culture.

    Cons

    Franchised properties can be a complete mess and treat their employees questionably.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-03-06
  2. "Guest Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Great team, hotel was well located, lots of work when the season was busy, great orientation into the business and the brand

    Cons

    Hours were not guaranteed as they would depend on how busy the hotel was

    Advice to Management

    Look at improving performance management and constructive goals for employees

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-03-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Thumbs down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservation Sales Associate in Saint Thomas, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was an okay place to work that offered incentives to do well. A good community among the employees.

    Cons

    Pressure to make sales, goals that were impossible when people would call simply to say they forgot their shoes in a hotel room, were bitten by bugs, or to ask if there was a pool at the hotel. We had to pretend we worked in the hotels rather than a call center, which could be awkward when the computer system froze and we were asked a question we'd know if we really worked at the hotel. Also, I was fired the day... after my supervisor found out I was pregnant- and this was also following a very positive performance review. I was walked off the premises by security as though I were a sociopath (which is standard practice there) but was incredibly traumatic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    ....

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2016-12-08
  4. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Starwood Hotels are an innovative, diverse and trusted company.

    Cons

    After years of working with this highly dynamic company I have little negative to say.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2016-05-30
  5. "Good salary, bad environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Third Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, steady raises, lunch made (need to pay for if not kitchen staff).

    Cons

    Work environment is very competitive, can be harsh. Benefits are only after a certain amount of days in the past 3 months, so very hard to obtain if you're working in banquets (hotel banquets die in the summer and January- March).

    Advice to Management

    Manage the people themselves better. Not building teams that work together.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2016-04-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Call Center St. Thomas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Saint Thomas, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work Fun events Opportunities to try different work Ability to work from home Possibility to make bonuses Cool benefits (hotel discounts, reward points)

    Cons

    Difficult to hit the bonus goals Computer system can be dicey in terms of speed and reliability Good schedules hard to come by, dayshifts often go to whoever has a doctor's note

    Advice to Management

    Make sure standards are applied consistently across different teams Ease restrictions on computers e.g. desktop customization

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2016-02-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Call center associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Saint Thomas, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Been employed for over 10 yrs. non call taker. Love my co workers. Benefits are good, lots of over time and opportunity to work holidays. Ample vacation time.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, from managers down to team leads. Nepotism is rampant. When you are an associate without a friend on a higher level you are never going to be considered for advancement. Supervisors are grossly under qualified. Confidentiality is a huge issue. When you become a tenured associate they actively try to get you out. You are told this is a career but it is really not. You are basically there to pull... numbers and make your supervisor look good and then are never given credit. Also if you are disabled or come down with a chronic illness they are less than understanding. Supervisors tell you that you can not do you job with a disability and if you are sick they will try and fire you. HR is there for management so do not be fooled. Also no respect for mentally ill associates. Leadership loves to ridicule them. It is disgraceful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at call center leadership. You are promoting and retaining the wrong people. Stop the blatant nepotism, that allows for creation of leadership roles for friends. You call center leadership is ruining your name.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2016-02-01
  8. "All depends on your managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, easy workload and fun environment

    Cons

    Bad management at least at the Westin Edmonton. The managers keep the most inept individuals because they are friends with them.

    Advice to Management

    Be more strict and follow starwood pplicy and procedures.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2015-12-16
  9. "Event Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits package

    Cons

    Various department goals are not aligned.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2015-10-26
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    great development plans and expansion, very bottom line driven

    Cons

    some time too bottom line driven, and work life balance could be an issue in large cities but all hotels are he same

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2015-10-04
Found 1985 reviews