Starwood Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Starwood Hotels & Resorts CEO Adam Aron
Adam Aron
383 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance, challenging to grow with transition(in 63 reviews)

  • "Long hours that is not compensated a lot of times(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales and Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Lots of support, great benefits

    Cons

    too many reports, confusing with Marriott taking over

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2016-07-26
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Chef in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great peers, supportive leadership team

    Cons

    no comments to make here

    Advice to Management

    no comment

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-09-25
  3. "Great place, amazing people, lots of regulations however"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GSA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts part-time

    Pros

    people are great, positive, all passionate about providing quality service

    Cons

    strict management, lots of restrictions

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-08-12
  4. "Great company for professional development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very thorough trainings, lots of investment in systems and business intelligence, great management, clear policies and procedures

    Cons

    Hospitality jobs in general pay lower than other industries

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-08-01
  5. "Friendly environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor 

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment, Appreciate associates effort.

    Cons

    The incentives for associates is not encouraging

    Advice to Management

    Salary needs to be increased on yearly bases

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-06-17
  6. "Sales team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    *The company was acquired by Marriott International and so there are a lot of opportunities for movement in the company *You are compensated for your sales

    Cons

    *We only got paid out twice per year and the first payout is not very much even if you are hitting your targets. This is not very motivating.

    Advice to Management

    Offer better training and support to the sales team.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-03-12
  7. "Csr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, everyone was helpful.

    Cons

    The shifts weren’t always good

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-02-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Awesome job always something different. Full benefits.

    Cons

    The politics is very bad over there and they really don't care about just the company itself in what it wants

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-10-12
  9. "Not the best but not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Good benefits and if you meet your sales you can get a good bonus

    Cons

    The work itself sucks, the day seems like it’s dragging on forever and you don’t really get any breaks off of the phone

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-07-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Was good at first...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premier Associate in Saint Thomas, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people , sometimes get a decent commission, employee discount

    Cons

    High call volume, can't make sales on most of the calls, consider a general question from the guest as a "sales opportunity " , five supervisors in three years, most employees are not motivated

    Advice to Management

    Place was pretty good at first. Then started to dislike it .Call volume is really high with no down time when you are the " core " or SPG level. Dropped when I moved up but now with new "knowledge tier " system, it is high again. Commission can be hard to hit due to many pointless calls such as cancellations, modifications and account maintenance. Policies are never across the board, supervisors tell you different... ways and different things regarding policy. I see associates on the internet all the time yet I'm getting in trouble for it. When there is downtime we should be able to browse the internet as long as were are not looking at anything offensive or avoiding calls. Got along great with my previous sup but not with my current one. She doesn't motivate at all. Working weekends is becoming more and more difficult

    Show More
    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-05-09
Found 1982 reviews