Square "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Square Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
416 Ratings
Pros
  • "I’ve never felt more appreciated, and been at a job where my work life balance was valued(in 48 reviews)

  • "Open, transparent, low ego work environment(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    feeding you well and pay for gym membership

    Cons

    poor work life balance in long term

    Square2019-06-04
  2. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -the culture is non-hierarchical, friendly and eager -people believe in the mission -exciting growth trajectory -tons of transparency from the top -increasing flexibility around WFH and distributed workforce

    Cons

    -company is betting that equity will counterbalance mediocre cash salaries -growth can mean uncertain work life balance -turnover is getting higher since the stock price leveled out in 2019...but that’s not unheard of in tech -culture around advancement is weird. Levels are hidden, promotions un-announced, manager-given performance ratings generally a secret. I get that they’re promoting a non-aggressive environment but it makes personal development harder to measure and plan.

    Square2020-03-07
  3. "Great at first."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great work-life balance in some positions. Great benefits and events.

    Cons

    Absolute lack of leadership ownership.

    Square2020-03-04
  4. "AMAZING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve never felt more appreciated, and been at a job where my work life balance was valued

    Cons

    None right now, I’m only a few months in though! 😉

    Square2020-02-12
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Not to be dramatic, but Square has radically improved my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people. Lovely people to work with who are incredibly helpful. You often hear rhetoric at other companies like "we're /disrupting/ and changing the world", but at Square, you'll find that people are more humble about the mission of economic empowerment and people have full lives outside of Square. - Product ownership is huge here. I feel like I get to weigh in on decisions for product, and innovate on our products with new ideas. - Engineering excellence. I worked at startups before this, where engineering was haphazard and unfocused. Here you learn how to build incredibly performant, secure products that integrate with a global payments stack - Career ladder is well defined for software engineers. Clear paths for I.C.s vs management roles and my EM's have all been very receptive to my career goals. - Perks are amazing. Free lunch and breakfast everyday (I wish we still had free dinner) and lots of other freebies that are icing on the cake when picking a job. - It's in the best location in S.F., in mid-market. Incredibly close to Hayes Valley, the Mission, Alamo Square, etc.

    Cons

    - Tension between having an ecosystem of products that are all working towards their own goals, while needing to collaborate with other teams where roadmaps were not aligned between teams - Company feels less transparent as we get bigger - Honestly, I wish we still had the free dinner perk. It made it really easy to not have to cook on a weeknight if I was working late. Buuuut it was overall really great that they cancelled dinner service because I have a better work-life balance leaving work earlier instead of working later to get dinner.

    Continue reading
    Square2020-01-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great work life balance, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consignment Inventory Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office, amazing breakfast and lunch, young/lively coworkers, work life balance

    Cons

    Extremely low pay for silicon valley standards. The sentiment seemed the same across all teams, not just sales. This causes very high attrition among good employees. Good ones leave, bad ones stay

    Continue reading
    Square2020-01-07
  7. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Could be more competitive with pay

    Square2019-11-28
  8. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission driven. Good people. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Not enough focus on building new products and expanding internationally.

    Square2019-11-12
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    best culture good people and salary

    Cons

    low pay rude boss no work life balance

    Square2019-11-19
  10. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and benefits. Support from management and awesome work-life balance.

    Cons

    Monotonous work and they constantly move the ball on expectations.

    Square2019-10-08
Found 67 reviews