Square Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Square Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 448 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
343 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "QA hardware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work in

    Cons

    nothing to tell in this subject

    Square2016-10-27
  2. "Great experience working at square"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits great office experience,

    Cons

    square is good , but your career will grow.more if you re in SF

    Square2019-06-25
  3. "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    feeding you well and pay for gym membership

    Cons

    poor work life balance in long term

    Square2019-06-04
  4. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Software Developer in Kitchener, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company with some fun perks, and a very good social mission.

      Cons

      Depending on your team, opportunities for advancement are minimal and the work might not be as interesting.

      Square2018-08-27
    • "Embedded Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Square

      Pros

      Nice team and good management. Great place to learn new technology.

      Cons

      Can be faster in decision making.

      Square2017-03-15
    • Helpful (9)

      "Be forewarned..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Square full-time

      Pros

      Great brand equity in tech and also financial services. Some really nice people but nobody stays long. Very high quality work is produced by this company. Design is always paramount and on point. Awesome coffee.

      Cons

      Business practices: Square leverages its name to their advantage and to the disadvantage of everyone else. This is manifested in poor compensation for all people outside of engineering and getting out of paying for recruiting and / or sponsorship privileges for their brand. Contractors are treated as second class citizens and must be willing to work for very little pay. Full time roles are advertised as available but...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Train people managers. I was witness to some serious HR infractions carried out by managers who just didn't know better.

      Square2015-09-12
    • "Fun, challenging and rewarding"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Square full-time

      Pros

      It's great getting to work with a very talented team. I love learning something new and getting challenged each and every day. The company is incredibly transparent internally, which is really refreshing. I love building products that empower local merchants. Compared to big tech companies that I've worked at, I feel like Square is a great place where we can win as a team.

      Cons

      Growing fast and having many offices around the world have come with challenges. The amount of internal communication can be mind boggling if you don't quickly figure out a system for managing it. If you are the kind of person that needs to know exactly what you'll be working on in two month then Square isn't for you.

      Advice to Management

      Stay agile and keep focussing on rapidly delivering innovative solutions.

      Square2014-05-11
    • "Great Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fast paced work place with room to grow.

      Cons

      The industry is changes a lot so some department see a lot of work force changes.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing a great job!

      Square2019-07-10
    • "great mid-size company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great mission! Fintech space is very exciting! A lot of innovation is happening. Engineering talent is strong

      Cons

      Cloud migration is taking forever

      Square2019-07-03
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in Ho Chi Minh City
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Square full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good bonus and friends together

      Cons

      not focus on HR & high turnover

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      Square2019-06-27
    Found 448 reviews