Square Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Square Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 435 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
333 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "QA hardware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work in

    Cons

    nothing to tell in this subject

    Square2016-10-27
  2. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Software Developer in Kitchener, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Square full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great company with some fun perks, and a very good social mission.

      Cons

      Depending on your team, opportunities for advancement are minimal and the work might not be as interesting.

      Square2018-08-27
    • "Embedded Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Square

      Pros

      Nice team and good management. Great place to learn new technology.

      Cons

      Can be faster in decision making.

      Square2017-03-15
    • Helpful (9)

      "Be forewarned..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Square full-time

      Pros

      Great brand equity in tech and also financial services. Some really nice people but nobody stays long. Very high quality work is produced by this company. Design is always paramount and on point. Awesome coffee.

      Cons

      Business practices: Square leverages its name to their advantage and to the disadvantage of everyone else. This is manifested in poor compensation for all people outside of engineering and getting out of paying for recruiting and / or sponsorship privileges for their brand. Contractors are treated as second class citizens and must be willing to work for very little pay. Full time roles are advertised as available but...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Train people managers. I was witness to some serious HR infractions carried out by managers who just didn't know better.

      Square2015-09-12
    • "Fun, challenging and rewarding"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Square full-time

      Pros

      It's great getting to work with a very talented team. I love learning something new and getting challenged each and every day. The company is incredibly transparent internally, which is really refreshing. I love building products that empower local merchants. Compared to big tech companies that I've worked at, I feel like Square is a great place where we can win as a team.

      Cons

      Growing fast and having many offices around the world have come with challenges. The amount of internal communication can be mind boggling if you don't quickly figure out a system for managing it. If you are the kind of person that needs to know exactly what you'll be working on in two month then Square isn't for you.

      Advice to Management

      Stay agile and keep focussing on rapidly delivering innovative solutions.

      Square2014-05-11
    • "Great company, meaningful mission"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Square full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Fantastic leadership team - Company purpose of "Economic Empowerment" is deeply baked into decision-making - Extremely talented and kind coworkers - Constant influx of effusively positive feedback from merchants is great for morale on tough days

      Cons

      - Engineering productivity sometimes hampered by dependencies on other teams' roadmaps - Mobile CI very short on build machines and is a major productivity bottleneck.

      Square2019-05-15
    • "Still great for a mid-size tech company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Square full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      company is still growing. Great engineering challenges and lots of interesting problems to tackle in the fintech space.

      Cons

      As Square grew into a portfolio of products, overall direction is harder to see. That said, this decentralization can be also seen as a strength

      Square2019-05-15
    • "Comfortable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Square full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Events, management, CEO, team, food, benefits

      Cons

      Internal mobility, location, compensation, some management

      Square2019-05-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Academic and rigorous, abrupt org changes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Square full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Talented and robust mid-senior/ director level managers, mission-driven, effective strategic alignment

      Cons

      Unempathetic to individual employees, abrupt and ruthless org changes, sometimes allow bullying by managers

      Advice to Management

      Good management is not only about customers and product improvement; pay attention to the consequence of strategic alignment on employee's morale

      Square2019-05-16
    • "Overall good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Content Specialist 

        I have been working at Square full-time

        Pros

        Good working environment, good cross team collaboration, great queer community.

        Cons

        Fair amount of re-orgs

        Square2019-05-15
      Found 435 reviews