Square Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Square Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 465 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
353 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "QA hardware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work in

    Cons

    nothing to tell in this subject

    Square2016-10-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience working at square"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits great office experience,

    Cons

    square is good , but your career will grow.more if you re in SF

    Square2019-06-25
  3. "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    feeding you well and pay for gym membership

    Cons

    poor work life balance in long term

    Square2019-06-04
  4. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with some fun perks, and a very good social mission.

    Cons

    Depending on your team, opportunities for advancement are minimal and the work might not be as interesting.

    Square2018-08-27
  5. "Embedded Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square

    Pros

    Nice team and good management. Great place to learn new technology.

    Cons

    Can be faster in decision making.

    Square2017-03-15
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Be forewarned..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great brand equity in tech and also financial services. Some really nice people but nobody stays long. Very high quality work is produced by this company. Design is always paramount and on point. Awesome coffee.

    Cons

    Business practices: Square leverages its name to their advantage and to the disadvantage of everyone else. This is manifested in poor compensation for all people outside of engineering and getting out of paying for recruiting and / or sponsorship privileges for their brand. Contractors are treated as second class citizens and must be willing to work for very little pay. Full time roles are advertised as available... but I know for a fact there was never headcount to begin with. All this makes the company seem disingenuous as they are constantly trying to convince people that they're the "good guys" in merchant services. Business health: Cost cutting is apparent throughout the organization (not that this is a bad management style, but it seems to be a signal something more). Sometimes it feels like some people are shoving the proverbial company "kool-aid" down people's throats; I think anyone with a discerning eye knows what's going on. Working environment: The company is large now so there is a lot of red tape and channel conflict. Be prepared to manoeuvre a highly political environment. Your experience largely depends on your team and manager (like every other corporate) and culture is obviously much less cohesive than at smaller companies. Tricky thing is even if you get onto a great team, I guarantee that team will not stay that way long. Churn is very high at this company (for many reasons) so don't count on anyone sticking around for very long. 4 months in and you're considered a veteran! Most people come in and realize it's only a stepping stone. There are lots of intelligent people here; most are not humble. There are also lots of ambitious people here but they're more likely to push you down than help you up. Expect to work long and hard hours. Don't expect to make friends.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train people managers. I was witness to some serious HR infractions carried out by managers who just didn't know better.

    Square2015-09-12
  7. "Fun, challenging and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    It's great getting to work with a very talented team. I love learning something new and getting challenged each and every day. The company is incredibly transparent internally, which is really refreshing. I love building products that empower local merchants. Compared to big tech companies that I've worked at, I feel like Square is a great place where we can win as a team.

    Cons

    Growing fast and having many offices around the world have come with challenges. The amount of internal communication can be mind boggling if you don't quickly figure out a system for managing it. If you are the kind of person that needs to know exactly what you'll be working on in two month then Square isn't for you.

    Advice to Management

    Stay agile and keep focussing on rapidly delivering innovative solutions.

    Square2014-05-11
  8. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Privacy in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, cool offices, fast pace, interesting work

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share

    Square2019-09-19
  9. "Square Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great as well as the culture

    Cons

    phones and schedule as well as work life balance

    Advice to Management

    n/A

    Square2019-09-12
  10. "Great company culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Square has a great company culture - they really believe in creating a comfortable environment for their employees to thrive in. Great perks!

    Cons

    Pay is extremely low for industry standard

    Advice to Management

    You have to pay for talent!

    Square2019-09-05
Found 465 reviews