Square Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Square Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
371 Ratings
Pros
  • "High emphasis on work life balance and a culture within the talent org of trying new things like supporting remote recruiters/managers(in 45 reviews)

  • "Open, transparent, low ego work environment(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, amazing, incredible company to work for. It's easy to sell, everyone knows and loves Square. If you work hard and put in the time, easy to grow vertically!

    Cons

    Horizontal growth in the CA office is limited. Great if you want to progress within your function, but hard to move to other functions and learn things beyond just your role at a more senior level.

    Square2019-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience working at square"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits great office experience,

    Cons

    square is good , but your career will grow.more if you re in SF

    Square2019-06-25
  3. "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    feeding you well and pay for gym membership

    Cons

    poor work life balance in long term

    Square2019-06-04
  4. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with some fun perks, and a very good social mission.

    Cons

    Depending on your team, opportunities for advancement are minimal and the work might not be as interesting.

    Square2018-08-27
  5. "Embedded Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square

    Pros

    Nice team and good management. Great place to learn new technology.

    Cons

    Can be faster in decision making.

    Square2017-03-15
  6. "QA hardware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work in

    Cons

    nothing to tell in this subject

    Square2016-10-27
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Be forewarned..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great brand equity in tech and also financial services. Some really nice people but nobody stays long. Very high quality work is produced by this company. Design is always paramount and on point. Awesome coffee.

    Cons

    Business practices: Square leverages its name to their advantage and to the disadvantage of everyone else. This is manifested in poor compensation for all people outside of engineering and getting out of paying for recruiting and / or sponsorship privileges for their brand. Contractors are treated as second class citizens and must be willing to work for very little pay. Full time roles are advertised as available but I know for a fact there was never headcount to begin with. All this makes the company seem disingenuous as they are constantly trying to convince people that they're the "good guys" in merchant services. Business health: Cost cutting is apparent throughout the organization (not that this is a bad management style, but it seems to be a signal something more). Sometimes it feels like some people are shoving the proverbial company "kool-aid" down people's throats; I think anyone with a discerning eye knows what's going on. Working environment: The company is large now so there is a lot of red tape and channel conflict. Be prepared to manoeuvre a highly political environment. Your experience largely depends on your team and manager (like every other corporate) and culture is obviously much less cohesive than at smaller companies. Tricky thing is even if you get onto a great team, I guarantee that team will not stay that way long. Churn is very high at this company (for many reasons) so don't count on anyone sticking around for very long. 4 months in and you're considered a veteran! Most people come in and realize it's only a stepping stone. There are lots of intelligent people here; most are not humble. There are also lots of ambitious people here but they're more likely to push you down than help you up. Expect to work long and hard hours. Don't expect to make friends.

    Continue reading
    Square2015-09-12
  8. "Fun, challenging and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    It's great getting to work with a very talented team. I love learning something new and getting challenged each and every day. The company is incredibly transparent internally, which is really refreshing. I love building products that empower local merchants. Compared to big tech companies that I've worked at, I feel like Square is a great place where we can win as a team.

    Cons

    Growing fast and having many offices around the world have come with challenges. The amount of internal communication can be mind boggling if you don't quickly figure out a system for managing it. If you are the kind of person that needs to know exactly what you'll be working on in two month then Square isn't for you.

    Continue reading
    Square2014-05-11
  9. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Could be more competitive with pay

    Square2019-11-28
  10. "Good mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great mission and leadership

    Cons

    Bad middle management who try to hide what are actually happening in the fields

    Square2019-11-28
Found 495 reviews