Sports Direct Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,540 of over 1,742 reviews

3.2
46%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Sports Direct Founder & CEO Mike Ashley
Mike Ashley
485 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours and reasonable pay for the job(in 83 reviews)

  • "Good part time job as a student(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It’s a zero hour contract so unless you are on a full time contract you not entitled to any furloughed pay(in 130 reviews)

  • "Long hours and for me it’s a long drive(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      I learned a lot about processes, and how a large organization works

      Oct 7, 2021 - Part Time Sales Asossicate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They had a lot of processes I could learn from that helped me in my next company

      Cons

      The pay periods were a little strange. When you start, you have to wait 6-8 weeks to get your first cheque. I believe they do this so that if you leave, you have one extra cheque coming in after your done working. It was hard for me as I was tight on funds when I got started.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      0-Hour contract at Sports Direct

      Jan 21, 2020 - Assistant Store in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Going home at the end of the day

      Cons

      No trust with employers, dangerous working conditions, rude security guards.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      worst place to work

      Nov 23, 2019 - Sales Assistant in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      one good co worker who became my friend

      Cons

      perverted manager, terrible pay, not enough breaks,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hard long hours, not told everything during interviews.

      Jun 26, 2015 - Floor Supervisor in Surrey, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is no positive side to working here, your just to aloud to enjoy yourself. No pros here for this company

      Cons

      Work weekends, 47hr working weeks, pushed to sell insoles to a lol customers on Footware to meet targets, it's all about targets. Not customer service

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good company to work for and getting better day by day

      Nov 29, 2021 - Supervisor in Inverness, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Salary Bonus scheme Flexible shifts Number of annual leave days

      Cons

      Work/life balance Expected to work longer during busy time Always short staffed

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      good first job, good enviroment

      Nov 26, 2021 - Student in Dundalk
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good environment to get used to working, fun

      Cons

      low pay, harsh hours at times particularly christmas

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great first job

      Nov 17, 2021 - Real Estate Agent in Doncaster, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freindly individuala to work with

      Cons

      Not the best pay rate

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great work place

      Nov 12, 2021 - Sales Associate in Falkirk, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun job with a real team experience

      Cons

      Long hours, 10 hour days for full time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible employer, broke countless employment policies, bad management and pay

      Nov 26, 2021 - Sales Assistant in Slough, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, I would say the 10% discount but staff have the prove the discounted goods are for the use if the staff

      Cons

      Bad shift hours, bad management, employees had to be physically searched if they left the premises, minimum wage with minimum hours, staff were made stay up to 2 hours dor unpaid "team meetings"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Nov 9, 2021 - Sales Associate in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun environment, great managers and coworkers.

      Cons

      No cons, I had a great time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,540 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sports Direct Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sports Direct? Share Your Experiences

    Sports Direct logo
    or