Sport Chek Footwear Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sport Chek Footwear Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
38%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sport Chek COO Chad McKinnon (no image)
Chad McKinnon
3 Ratings
  1. "Amazing part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Footwear Sales Associate in Charlottetown, PE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Chek part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers Understanding Management Easy position School/work/life balance Family like environment

    Cons

    Hours can be low at times

    Sport Chek2018-12-09
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Footwear Sales Associate in North Bay, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Chek part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good team dynamic -Fun environment -A lot of training

    Cons

    -Management could be a little more helpful

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Sport Chek2020-01-16
  3. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Footwear Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Chek part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It can be fun as like a first job.

    Cons

    Very understaffed, minimum wage, retail environment can suck

    Sport Chek2019-11-21
  4. "Fun atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Footwear Sales Associate in Regina, SK
    Recommends

    I worked at Sport Chek part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible shifts Pay more than minimum wage

    Cons

    Long periods of standing Poor management style

    Sport Chek2019-06-26
  5. "I don’t know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Footwear Sales Associate in Royal Park, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Chek for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money and friendly community

    Cons

    Far from location, a bit of trouble getting there

    Sport Chek2019-05-31
  6. "Terrible place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Footwear Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Chek part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount was good Coworkers are fun to be around

    Cons

    For starters, I asked for part time hours, and I was regularly given 40 hours a week even when I was 17 years old. Because I was working one of the most hours a week, I kept getting complaints on a daily basis from the store general manager for ridiculous reasons. For example, after I finished cutting up skids and sorting all the clothes in the back, I was told to hang clothes, which I was doing for the first time even without any instructions. I decided to sit down and put my feet on a box because my back was hurting from moving the heavy boxes from the skids for nearly two months, every shift. I told my manager that I was only trying to find a comfortable position to hang clothes, but she saw it as "laziness". She took me into her office and threatened to fire me because she said I did not put enough effort into hanging. Extremely boring job, do not work at this Sportchek.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I really appreciate it when my managers tell me that I'm doing a good job, but none of the managers did that. All they did was tell me what I did wrong and could've been done better, which isn't bad, criticism is necessary for workers to thrive and improve. But telling me I'm the reason the sales rates have gone low as a way to "make me work harder" is not encouraging or even professional at all. It would've been nice to hear at least a few good compliments to encourage us workers, which is the RIGHT way to treat employees. I guarantee most of the employees at Sportchek dislike the store general manager for her rude remarks.

    Show More
    Sport Chek2018-12-07
  7. "Welcoming Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Footwear Sales Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Chek part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers Great work culture Very welcoming environment

    Cons

    Tedious work Boring down times Retail work

    Sport Chek2018-09-10
  8. "Retail sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Footwear Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Chek part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The discount is probably the best for sporting goods

    Cons

    The management doesn’t develop their workers for growth in the company

    Sport Chek2018-08-21
  9. "My short experience @ Sport Chek"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Footwear Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Chek part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My boss (also the guy that interviewed me) was a very nice guy, along with 99% of the people I got to work with at Sport Chek! The discount was great. The guy I worked with most of the time had been at Sport Chek for a while prior to my arrival and he was extremely helpful with getting me started. If you are friendly with customers, usually they are friendly with you as well.

    Cons

    There was one person at my location that did not really like me and actually ignored me when I asked for help on my first couple of shifts. But people like this are rare at Sport Chek because everyone there wants to help you succeed.

    Sport Chek2018-03-18
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Footwear Sales Associate in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Chek part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Employee discount,Great managers for the least part

    Cons

    It gets boring sometimes,Need more tasks

    Sport Chek2018-02-25
Found 12 reviews