Spiceworks Ziff Davis Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Aug 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 183 reviews

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Spiceworks Ziff Davis President Steve Horowitz (no image)
Steve Horowitz
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company culture, encourages success and rewards you well when you hit targets(in 15 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "free food"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent people, great work environment

      Aug 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall great company to work for in Hyderabad. It has recently started its operation in Hyderabad in 2019. Modern tech stack Great resources and tools Global mindset Generous perks and outings Open work culture, less hierarchy Great Benefits and salary Flexible work hours Free food Cool office Care for growth and learning Working from home Understanding leadership, smart team and caring people MacBook for engineering team Start-up like nature yet part of the big multinational group

      Cons

      Little uncertainty in the direction

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Intern

      Sep 20, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food

      Cons

      Unstable job environment, company direction unsure

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

      CEO & Co-founder

      Doesn't sound like you had a great internship. My apologies for that. It's understandable considering in the summer of 2016 we had our first layoff in 10 years (pretty remarkable as many companies have one well before that ... or they go out of business). We've stabilized and we've outlined an exciting direction for the future so I think our interns in the summer of 2017 and beyond will hopefully have a very different experience.

    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      505

      179 Comments

      Tech

      33.1K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Spiceworks Ziff Davis~324872
      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Inflated ego and lack of diversity

      Jul 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Regular start up perks like free food and booze

      Cons

      The main job of everyone there is to love spiceworks. Constantly brag about how great it is. Not all the leadership is well informed, which is why it is so difficult to get things done correctly or at all. When your boss doesn't know what they are looking for and cannot explain what needs to be accomplished how are you going to know what you are doing? This didnt seem to be a problem as long as everyone was just in love with Spicerex. If they spent more time paying attention to the work and not just the brand, they probably wouldn't have had to layoff so many people. The other glaring issue is how few minorities work there and how hard it is to fit in if you are not a over privileged white person. The parking garage has tons of upscale expensive cars and almost every group of new hires is almost exclusively white. While I know this is Austin and just comes with working in tech in most cases, having a bad manager and not having much in common with coworkers makes for a tense experience.

      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Had so much promise, fell way short

      Jul 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you work with are fantastic. They really do a great job of hiring great people. I've never had a problem working with anyone here, regardless of their department or role. There is plenty of free food, a beautiful office and plenty of office activities.

      Cons

      Spiceworks had long been regarded as a top place to work. Now, it's like the company is broken. Senior management and executives never seem to know what we're working towards. There really isn't any concrete product vision that makes you feel like your job will be safe. They recently laid off 12% of the company due to a change in direction. Unfortunately, they are still trying to figure out what that direction is. Since the layoffs, I've yet to be in a meeting where everyone knew what we were working towards, and even what role they played. Most people here have no idea anymore what they are responsible for. Additionally, as others have mentioned, the comp is below average. The health insurance is average at best, and the 401k doesn't have matching.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Going through some changes - but still an awesome company!

      Jul 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You will have the opportunity to work with dedicated, passionate and really smart people, who might become some of your closest friends -Tons of free food, but overall really promotes healthy lifestyle and work / life balance (gym onsite, free fitness classes, discounted gym membership) - Lots of social and team building activities throughout the year Its true the company is going through some growing pains, but it does feel genuine that the changes taking place are to help the company become better aligned across departments and refocus the organization positively.

      Cons

      - Traffic can be annoying - 401K matching would be nice, although you do get stock options

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Things are changing - and not for the better

      Jul 4, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people A reasonable amount of free food (although that's definitely declined in volume). Hugely stocked kitchen with snacks, basics, keurigs, and drinks - it really is great. Free breakfast twice a week. Nice new office. Fully paid benefits for yourself.

      Cons

      Things have changed since Scott stepped away from the CEO position. With new senior management has come many obvious changes to the company and those changes are maybe not for the best. This seems to be manifesting itself in the following ways: - A lot of senior management - like been with the company since the beginning senior - have left over the last year.... - Recent mass layoffs - 12% of the entire workforce was just let go. - Much more rapid and frequent restructuring and direction changes. - Management are becoming MUCH less transparent than they used to be, although to be fair they are still much more transparent than most companies - but there is seemingly a lot more closed door shadiness that is entering what was once a hyper-transparent open door workplace. - Location is not great - 360 traffic is horrendous. - Well below market compensation. If you are looking for a booming startup tech company in Austin, Spiceworks WAS it - about 3 years ago - now I think it's time to look elsewhere for greener pastures and a company that has a business model and management team that are going to get it done.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Everything is changing

      Jul 15, 2016 -  in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Nice office. -Free food. -Great people. -Good health insurance.

      Cons

      -No 401k matching. -Terrible PTO. -Things have been trending the wrong direction since Scott left. -Lost many friends to layoffs. -Average pay. -Constantly asked to take surveys to make company look good. -Long commute to work. -No longer transparent with its employees.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great company, good talent

      Nov 10, 2015 - Anonymous Intern in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's an air of fun in the culture. Good bit of free food & some decent perks.

      Cons

      To be quite frank, the talent isn't quite as great as some of the other places that I've worked at. I believe their hiring standards are rising, but at the time, I didn't feel as compelled to learn from my coworkers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      UX/UI Designer

      Apr 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone here is super supportive and helpful, and of course lots of free food & great culture!

      Cons

      As a designer, there are not too many of us, so you wouldn't be surrounded by creative types.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Red Flags for new Sales recruits

      Nov 5, 2014 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very little work, lots of free drinking, two hour plus lunches, come late leave early encouraged, lots of fun party music playing around the clock, drinking, expense accounts, paid days off for company events. Training takes 3 weeks and requires nothing from either the trainers or trainees, just enjoy the ride. Drinking alcohol while at work. No boundaries between management-team (you can be best friends!). SW reminds me of college--not a compliment. The dress code, rush for free food, consistent party atmosphere and misguided pretension its very much a college mindset. If you just graduated and arent quite ready to work for a living or add value to anything more than just intrusive web advertisements this is a great place to get a year of experience or so.

      Cons

      Founders have stated that revenue from advertisements won't get this company into the black--yet ad sales are all you can as a new sales recruit. There are 90 reps across the world vying for 500 possible accounts. You will not hit quota. Basically ignored during training-on boarding-initial quarter ramp-not held accountable for anything You will leave here with zero viable experience. As an Inside Rep you will not be managing six figure ad buys. You will prospect, demo products and hang out. Sales Managers are often offensive, shockingly crude, sexist and idiotic. Grow up gents, you're adults and there is no reason to act like this in your careers.

      Continue reading
      28 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Work at Spiceworks Ziff Davis? Share Your Experiences

    or