Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1714 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1203 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company culture with great benefits(in 198 reviews)

  • "Flight Benefits & other travel benefits -- it's such an awesome perk to be able to jump on a plane anytime I need without too much hassle(in 152 reviews)

Cons
  • "Strict work guidelines, occasional mandatory overtime(in 80 reviews)

  • "It was a awesome opportunity to represent this industry leading airline(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strained employee-labor relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Southwest Airlines

      Pros

      Great flight and health benefits. Friendly co-workers.

      Cons

      No work-life balance. Endless hours.

      Advice to Management

      By not keeping your customer-facing employees happy, you are losing your competitive advantage in the industry

      Southwest Airlines2013-03-02

      Southwest Airlines Response

      March 5, 2015Senior Specialist, Communications

      We have always supported our Employees and their right to express their opinions. And, we are committed to continue working to secure agreements that are fair to all Employees—contracts that protect our position as a low-cost leader in the industry and enable the Company to grow. ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (120)

      "Flight Attandant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Culture promotes individualism and doing your thing to make the customers come back for more.

      Cons

      First couple years are tough as you are on-call and working weekends and holiday's. But it's not a secret and you need to be prepared to put the time in.

      Southwest Airlines2018-06-21
    • "Great employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Business Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

      Pros

      Profit sharing and yearly bonus

      Cons

      No real cons to this business

      Southwest Airlines2019-07-18
    • "Luv Southwest"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Southwest is family from the first day you are welcomed, I couldn't have chosen a better 2nd career, the benefits, the job security, and our culture makes my career at Southwest the best it can be!

      Cons

      Non I have no complaints for 18 years

      Advice to Management

      Always recognize POS

      Southwest Airlines2019-07-19
    • "LUV the work, atmosphere, and team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Great employees -Opportunities to learn -Great Benefits

      Cons

      -Lower pay, but make up for it with flight benefits

      Southwest Airlines2019-07-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "The best Domestic Airline"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Ramp Agent 

        I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Free flight benefits, great people

        Cons

        I can't think of any.

        Southwest Airlines2019-07-12
      • "Family"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Ramp Supervisor in San Antonio, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Work Environment, Pay, Benefits, and Family Life.

        Cons

        There are no cons at southwest.

        Southwest Airlines2019-07-15
      • "Great company culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Marketing in Dallas, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I really liked working a Southwest. The company culture was very warm and engaging.

        Cons

        It's a little too soft. Not very edgy... if that's something you're looking for, then maybe try more agency work.

        Southwest Airlines2019-07-15
      • Helpful (1)

        "Awesome company Hard Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Ramp Agent 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

        Pros

        Flight benefits and vacation time

        Cons

        Super hard work Can get tough during the summer

        Southwest Airlines2019-07-11
      • "Customers service representative"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Phoenix, AZ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        People there are great and are willing to help out

        Cons

        Management doesn't care it's all about them not willing to help

        Advice to Management

        Get out and connect with you team. Everyone on the same page

        Southwest Airlines2019-07-08
      Found 1714 reviews