Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines Chairman, President & CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,272 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strained employee-labor relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Southwest Airlines

    Pros

    Great flight and health benefits. Friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Endless hours.

    Advice to Management

    By not keeping your customer-facing employees happy, you are losing your competitive advantage in the industry

    Southwest Airlines2013-03-02
  2. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Programs Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very family friendly, travel benefits that can actually be used, there is a strong sense of belonging and a welcoming environment. Prior to working here, I had the opportunity to work as a consultant and visited most all of the major airlines. Southwest had the best culture and family feel out of all of them. It is hands down the best place I've ever worked.

    Cons

    Not as much vacation time and the pay is not as much as other airlines

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-13
  3. "Career Man"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Salary is the best in the business

    Cons

    None, you will love it all with no complaints

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-13
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Agent in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun exciting and meeting new people

    Cons

    Always busy Not much time off

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-10
  5. "customer relations review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture and the people.

    Cons

    The salary but the culture and work / life balance makes up for it

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-09
  6. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, and one of the best airlines to work for

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime can be inconvenient! The upside is the double time in pay

    Advice to Management

    Great management

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-07
  7. "Great compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent Superviros 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, room for growth, and people to work with!

    Cons

    Long hours at times but lots of time off to offset this

    Advice to Management

    Keep inspiring and investing in your people you're doing great!

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-05
  8. "Overall an excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Let me be upfront that your experience will vary dramatically by your department. I worked in Ground Operations. The role isn't perfect, but I'm giving it four stars because it's the best 'blue-collar' work out there, despite some problems. - Reasonable pay. Grows over time - Incredible benefits - Flexible shift-switching - Great onboarding - Strong culture of service and support - If your supervisors are... good, you'll always get the help and support you need

    Show More

    Cons

    - Seniority is all-important, culturally. Expect senior employees to walk all over you, and get priorities they shouldn't. - Chaotic work environment. Aviation is complex and you need to understand, some days just won't be fair.

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-12
  9. "Long hours, fear management culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When you get the chance to use standby flights, it's decent, good health/401k benefits, ok pay. Most engineers are fairly competent.

    Cons

    Echoing what a previous review said about fear management culture. Work-life balance is not good and projects don't appear to be managed effectively. If you get placed on the wrong team, expect to work more than 40 hours, as there may not be enough "hands on deck"

    Advice to Management

    The flight benefits aren't worth the amount of extra time one is expected to put in. Don't operate at minimum resource capacity. If people and time with their families are truly important, hire more people. Its clear technology is viewed as a cost center for this organization, and not as a means of driving revenue growth, and that's not a good look.

    Southwest Airlines2019-12-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best company you could ever imagine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love everything about SWA. I have only been here 5 years but will never leave. Great health insurance and huge 401K match. Travel benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    NOTHING. I could not be happier here.

    Southwest Airlines2019-11-21
Found 1820 reviews