Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1768 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,244 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company culture with great benefits(in 198 reviews)

  • "Flight Benefits & other travel benefits -- it's such an awesome perk to be able to jump on a plane anytime I need without too much hassle(in 152 reviews)

Cons
  • "Strict work guidelines, occasional mandatory overtime(in 80 reviews)

  • "It was a awesome opportunity to represent this industry leading airline(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strained employee-labor relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Southwest Airlines

    Pros

    Great flight and health benefits. Friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Endless hours.

    Advice to Management

    By not keeping your customer-facing employees happy, you are losing your competitive advantage in the industry

    Southwest Airlines2013-03-02

    Southwest Airlines Response

    March 5, 2015Senior Specialist, Communications

    We have always supported our Employees and their right to express their opinions. And, we are committed to continue working to secure agreements that are fair to all Employees—contracts that protect our position as a low-cost leader in the industry and enable the Company to grow. ...

    Show More
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Care Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best job ever! Love swa

    Cons

    Not enough pay need more

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-21
  3. "Really Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    - Benefits are amazing - Culture is driven but relaxed

    Cons

    - Some technology is a little outdated but they are addressing that

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-14
  4. "Best job I've ever had, especially after coming back to work after 20 years of raising my kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flexibility, great benefits, fabulous co-hearts who work together to make our jobs fun and our customers happy!

    Cons

    You do start at the bottom and gain more benefits like better flexibility in schedules etc with seniority, but that's to be expected.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for encouraging and allowing new hires to come from different ethnicities, older people coming back to work or after retiring from other jobs to continue their careers.

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-13
  5. "Great company to get started with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is lots of room to grow and the company hires from within. Lots of room to move into supervisor positions. However, if you are at a smaller station, there's less opportunity.

    Cons

    If you're starting new, you'll be at the bottom of the seniority list. This seniority list determines nearly everything about your work schedule. If you're new, don't expect to get weekends off or preferable start times with your work. Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime. It can be difficult to schedule things sometimes. The pay starts off very low with union rules. Depending on what city you... live, it may be difficult to live on as a full time job. Lots of people pick up shifts and overtime in order to make a little extra. Pay will grow with time.

    Show More
    Southwest Airlines2019-09-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Planner 

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good PTO policy and allowed office workers to work remote 1 day per week. Good people, good leaders.

    Cons

    Kind of cult-like at times with the whole "culture" thing. Some people loved it but it was a bit much for me. They had a lot of fun and extra events they would hold but it felt like they tried to use that to keep employees happy instead of addressing the actual issue. Underpaid, overworked.

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-19
  7. "Captain your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People often ask me what I love most about working for Southwest. The obvious answers are the People, the Culture, and the Community that is cultivated as the two intersect; that's what I love about being an Employee here. What I love about working here is the opportunities for growth and development. My leaders champion my professional growth and challenge me to be the captain of my own career. Southwest allows me... to "sit in the left seat" and take my career to new heights.

    Show More

    Cons

    not applicable . . .

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-06
  8. "Great company! Horrible management and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Services Agent in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company has great benefits. The work environment is amazing. The job itself and what it calls for you to do is great. I loved coming to work. Excellent work atmosphere at LAX.

    Cons

    The pay is horrible! They lie to you in your interview by saying you will l get a dollar raise once a year but it’s not a dollar it’s a couple cents. They micromanage you and treat you like children. When you have a concern they always cross reference your attendance and management rarely takes your side or does anything about it. Management shows favoritism to the employees that they like.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to make your employees feel appreciated. And not by giving those cheap plastic things as recognition gifts.

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-05
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel and salary and also the cohearts.

    Cons

    Scheduling with low seniority

    Advice to Management

    Fix the union.

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-04
  10. "Free flights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Traveling is the best. And easiest.

    Cons

    Negative managers with bad attitudes

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-04
Found 1768 reviews