Sony Electronics Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sony Electronics Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Sony Electronics CEO Michael Fasulo
Michael Fasulo
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "Global work environment, your ideas are respected, definitely the best place for fresh grads(in 57 reviews)

  • "Great brand, great people, great office gym(in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance very dependent on role(in 34 reviews)

  • "The middle and senior management dont have a vision and all senior are the oldest in the system who have no clue about the changing dynamics(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company, Lots of perks, great pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Pros

    Lots of room for advancement if you are willing to work for it. The salary and benefits are above average compared to other companies. Perks are amazing. Pretty much have access to all current and legacy electronics. Everything in my house is Sony.

    Cons

    No stock purchase options

    Advice to Management

    Better background checks on staff

    Sony Electronics2015-07-02
  2. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time

    Pros

    The team was great to work with

    Cons

    The commute was difficult and long

    Sony Electronics2019-04-14
  3. "Personal view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the people I work with and treats their employees well

    Cons

    I am hired through a third party. I would love to be hired directly through Sony

    Advice to Management

    Hire employees directly through Sony

    Sony Electronics2018-09-24
  4. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, although this was very dependant on the staff who you worked with. It varied very much from store to store.

    Cons

    The salaries were changed many times during the few years of employment and not much was given to the employees in terms of holiday suppers or end of year bonuses

    Sony Electronics2017-04-19
  5. "SRE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Midtown Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with the latest technologies and greatest products

    Cons

    Shrinking ops in Canada, taken over by the US ops...limited room for grow,

    Advice to Management

    Listen to younger generations on products, advertise more on different channels,

    Sony Electronics2016-03-18
  6. "Changing Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Pros

    Exposure and direct management of many facets of the product/customer lifecycle and marketing planning process including product/category management, brand management, operations, business management, global supply chain etc

    Cons

    The business is moving more towards a digital services company, leveraging its music, movies, & gaming content properties. The traditional electronics hardware business is a "race to zero", with many competitors and Sony's value proposition has been diminished making it harder to sell premium products in a crowded market.

    Sony Electronics2015-10-30
  7. "service technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Pros

    I have worked for Sony for more than two years. very friendly people, management is very friendly. I learnt different skills. technicians work in different products.

    Cons

    No long term opportunity for junior employees. work in unstable.

    Sony Electronics2015-09-30
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing to work with.

    Cons

    Compete lack of senior leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time leading.

    Sony Electronics2015-06-04
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn, start career

    Cons

    it takes long time to be promoted

    Sony Electronics2013-06-26
  10. "Good company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are top notch. Flexible vacation, low out of pocket cost for employees. Good culture, nice group of people to work with. Work life balance! Some work from home opportunities.

    Cons

    You likely won't be promoted, ever. People stay with the company forever. If you are promoted, you won't be paid to market. Salaries are low. All stock must be purchased regardless of level or tenure.

    Sony Electronics2019-10-16
Found 799 reviews