Sony Electronics Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
55%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Sony Electronics President and COO Michael Fasulo
Michael Fasulo
8 Ratings
  1. "Changing Times"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Pros

    Exposure and direct management of many facets of the product/customer lifecycle and marketing planning process including product/category management, brand management, operations, business management, global supply chain etc

    Cons

    The business is moving more towards a digital services company, leveraging its music, movies, & gaming content properties. The traditional electronics hardware business is a "race to zero", with many competitors and Sony's value proposition has been diminished making it harder to sell premium products in a crowded market.

    Sony Electronics2015-10-30
  2. "Focus on Details, However missing Work Life Balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with best processes and best practices. Everything is based on logic, huge opportunity to grow and learn.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance and constant struggle to keep up. It is very fast paced. The management expects results.

    Sony Electronics2020-02-19
  3. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are what made the company.

    Cons

    Too many "cooks in the kitchen" so to speak. Hard to navigate and get work done with so many people adding their input.

    Sony Electronics2019-10-02
  4. "My Experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good products and Good people

    Cons

    Corporate climate environment HR not active with people

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "n/a"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Paramus, NJ

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great products to work with

    Cons

    not a good environment to work at

    Sony Electronics2019-05-22
  6. "Good Company to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sony has a good work environment for employees, Employee friendly organization

    Cons

    The work process is a bit slow, else everything is perfect.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2019-05-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great if you're a Japanese expatriate, average if you're a local"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    401k matching, Health, optional basic Vision & Dental, good perks especially at end of year, great camaraderie with locals, discounted Sony products, fairly stable.

    Cons

    There are basically two worker strata: Japanese expatriates with 10x the benefits, their own HR department and zero motivation to go back to Japan, so it's usual to see senior figures hanging around in different assignments for up to 10 years, if they have friends in high places. The other stratum is comprised of locals, subject to a different set of rules and USA HR practices. Certain professional opportunities are limited to Japanese expatriates too, so you may find that you've reached your department/division ceiling, and the only option might be to move laterally. You might get lucky and score a good Japanese boss who'll empower and encourage you, but if you're not in one of the key and profitable consumer electronic or video game categories, you're likely out of luck, working harder, with much lower resources and struggling to keep up with demands and pressure from Tokyo HQ.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2018-05-30

    Sony Electronics Response

    July 18, 2018Branding & Talent Specialist

    Great to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with Team Sony – sorry to hear that not all of your expectations were met. Our team here at Sony Electronics, is proud of our inclusive and diverse culture. We treat all of our employees fairly, regardless of their ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation or employment status. One of the many benefits of being an international company is that we can more easily commit to our employees' professional development. International experience can help train employees for leadership, managerial and executive roles in the future. In today’s fast-paced world, business operations can no longer be siloed. We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Turn around and RUN. Fast."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Diego, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    According to them it's that you are lucky to work for such an incredible brand like Sony. Unfortunately, I saw very few benefits in my career there.

    Cons

    Lack of work/life balance. Lack of respect for non-Japanese employees. Inability to understand the market nor willingness to learn. Good ol' boys club at the management level.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2017-09-17

    Sony Electronics Response

    December 20, 2017Branding & Talent Specialist

    Dear Former Employee, Here at Sony Electronics, we welcome and encourage open, honest, and direct feedback and are grateful for people who voice their opinions. So, first of all, we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and to share your experience with us. Our management team here at Sony Electronics embraces diversity and respects the uniqueness of every individual. Employees are the heart of Sony and to us everyone’s experience matters. By continuing fluidity of collaboration with our network groups like WAVE (Women of Action, Vision and Empowerment) and Equality ALLiance, Sony is making sure employees have a platform for their voices to be represented and focused on. Thank you again for your feedback and best of luck in your future endeavors.

  9. "Steady work, but not the most innovative group"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady, traditional, smart people, company's not going anywhere.

    Cons

    This group within Sony is the most traditional and not super cutting-edge, so don't expect your hair to be on fire with innovation.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2017-05-31
  10. "Sr Marketing Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good place to work they allow you to lear and develop yourself

    Cons

    all depend on your motivation and there is not a carrear plan

    Sony Electronics2017-04-04
Found 38 reviews