Solstice Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Solstice Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Solstice CEO Kelly Manthey
Kelly Manthey
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "You have a training budget and training days that you can use pretty liberally if you want to do anything related to professional development(in 37 reviews)

  • "Best culture and work life balance is great(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work with an amazing culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solstice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Culture, the culture is really positive and geared towards working as a team to continually make our clients better in creating some pretty amazing products 2. Innovation, this company is constantly working to push the envelope and find the cool new stuff. 3. Military friendly, this company is currently working on building their veterans group. They see the value in the skills and characteristics that veterans... can bring over from their military career. 4. Flat, the organization is flat which empowers all people in the organization. I've talked to the CEO on multiple occasions. 5. Transparency, there is a huge effort to make sure everyone is comfortable with every change that's coming down the pipeline. The overall communication is really good in my option.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. FLUX, this company is constantly in motion and working to become better. If you want an organization where things will be predictable for years to come, than this is not the place for you

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Solstice2019-11-20
  2. "Smart, motivated coworkers and a supportive environment to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solstice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solstice attracts a high caliber workforce - coworkers are smart and motivated while also remaining humble, supportive, & focused on servant leadership. In my professional experience, it is rare to find such a fun and passionate culture balanced with a hardworking, ambitious, and continuous improvement-focused work ethic. Like any rapidly growing company, Solstice has experienced growing pains, but most... importantly, the firm remains committed to identifying weaknesses in order to combat them head on. Leadership encourages dialogue to understand what isn't working and empowers individuals to contribute to defining solutions.

    Show More

    Cons

    Internal training and onboarding need to continue to develop and become more robust in order to best set up newer employees (or existing employees transitioning into different project roles) for success. Employee experience and role opportunities/satisfaction can be dictated by project assignments, which is often the norm for a consulting firm but something to be aware of for employees who may not have previous... consulting experience.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to seek employee feedback to understand what's going well and what needs improvement. Continue to invest in current employees, their satisfaction, learning & development, and overall career progression. In general, it also seems employees need to proactively approach casting leads to understand future project opportunities - there may be benefits in creating more visibility into upcoming client needs... to ensure employees skill sets, strengths, and interests are best aligned with project assignments.

    Show More
    Solstice2019-10-30
  3. "Amazing culture and opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solstice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you’re looking for a needle in a haystack- you’ve found it. This is a company filled with enthusiastic individuals where you truly are never the smartest person in the room, therefore you always have people to learn and grow from. The company invests in its employees- even their contractors and makes a genuine difference in their lives. If you want to work for a company where innovation is around every corner-... you’ve found it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly I can’t think of any. My experience has far surpassed my expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing. Having the ability to communicate so freely with management and the c-suite is part of what makes this company so great.

    Solstice2019-10-31
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Used to be great, but now just a misleading company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solstice full-time

    Pros

    There are a small handful of amazing people that really know their stuff working here.

    Cons

    Hired as an iOS Developer, then after showing up was told the codebase is actually changing from Swift to React Native. They told me I’d need to follow their training guide on learning React Native outside my normal 40 billable hours but I’d be paid for the extra work. After completing the training, the extra pay never came and was called a “miscommunication”. Then my team dissolved and was switched once again, this... time to web development. During this whole process I had numerous meetings with my mentor, teammates, my product manager, the recruiter, etc discussing how I wasn’t really in the role I signed up for and wasn’t super happy, yet when I left the company they said it was my fault for not bringing up my concerns more. Finance team also sent me an executive’s W2 when requesting mine at tax time. Hopefully they don’t send mine out to just anyone...

    Show More
    Solstice2019-10-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Experience entirely depends on project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solstice full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good culture. Plenty of opportunity to learn new skills.

    Cons

    While the culture was listed as a pro, depending on the project you're on you may never see it. While clients tend to be Chicagoland based some have a really long commute from downtown. Pair programming isn't for everyone and its possible to end up on the same project for a long time. Salary is also below average.

    Solstice2019-09-19
  6. "Full Stack Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Buenos Aires
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solstice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ok salary, good mentorship program, paid meals, excellent people working here, most of the projects are really fun and interesting to work on. Nice offices with several great perks. Great career program.

    Cons

    Salary could be better I guess. Some projects are not as interesting. Pair programming is promoted here, not for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing, improving stuff!

    Solstice2019-09-09
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Solstice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, everyone loves to learn

    Cons

    Offsite clients can take away from the good atmosphere

    Solstice2019-08-30
  8. Helpful (8)

    "company stuck in neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Solstice full-time

    Pros

    good place to start career as a first job

    Cons

    - cannot settle on a sustainable strategy or mindset, regardless of the discipline or domain - may be connected to above comment, but cannot actually fund any of its initiatives. has a direct impact on actual career growth - almost no career opportunities and consideration if you're not friends with the right people

    Solstice2019-09-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good perks, extremely low quality work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Solstice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good private insurance, events in general

    Cons

    poor quality of work, bad leaders (low skilled).

    Solstice2019-08-09
  10. "Amazing place to work, grow and have a great time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Solstice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can see and experience the Solstice culture. It's in every detail and encourages you to be better and make better the ones you work with.

    Cons

    You may feel overwhelmed at times with all the social side of the company culture.

    Solstice2019-06-14
Found 176 reviews