SolidWorks Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SolidWorks Reviews

Updated 23 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
SolidWorks CEO Gian Paolo Bassi
Gian Paolo Bassi
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment and good people(in 10 reviews)

  • "Near perfect work-life balance with zero expectation in most units of you taking any work home(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Parent company is causing paralysis at all levels with a muddy strategy and awful management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Fortunately, bottoms up decision making keeps this product thriving(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "very average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolidWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, long term employment, passionate customers, employees love the product

    Cons

    not a lot of drive to pursue excellence, "not my job" mentality

    SolidWorks2019-09-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Unexciting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolidWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Good pay. Friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    Over regulated. Very little room for creativity. You are not given adequate tools to do your work effectively. Instead you have to rely on finding work-arounds for almost any development task. Extremely inefficient and slow software development environment. The managers are confused and lack leadership. Assignments are very vague, and it is almost impossible to get clear information on anything. Instead you have to rely on asking multiple people for guidance anytime you start a new project. Heavily dependent on third party libraries with almost no documentation. Very frustrating work-environment.

    Continue reading
    SolidWorks2019-03-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolidWorks full-time

    Pros

    Access to a state of the art fab lab with all material costs covered Some of the smartest minds in the industry Near perfect work-life balance with zero expectation in most units of you taking any work home A fantastic Intern program that really fosters interns to succeed outside of the company Real positive culture, no one will ever say no if you need help. It doesn't matter if they are on another continent and decades your senior Real opportunity to grow and succeed Amazing pay Okay benefits Fantastic campus with awesome support staff and cafeteria

    Cons

    Very hard to find a full-time position because no one ever quits

    Continue reading
    SolidWorks2018-12-17
  4. "Automation Developer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SolidWorks full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and learn new things with great co-workers

    Cons

    No cons as such

    SolidWorks2018-08-31
  5. "Inside Slaes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anti-piracy/Inside Sales in Waltham, MA

    I have been working at SolidWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very relaxed environment and great benefits.

    Cons

    The office can be to quiet at times. Decisions and changes take a long time due to corporate offices being in France. Policies can be forgotten at times due to the atmosphere being so laxed.

    SolidWorks2018-03-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Technical Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolidWorks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company. I probably left too soon. The culture was changing and I wasn't sure where it was going. It has since come back around

    Cons

    The culture was changing which is why I left. The software has become a commodity

    SolidWorks2017-12-06
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical API Customer Support in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolidWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and excellent benefits, higher management know what they are doing, employee friendly, productive work atmosphere, excellent and high value projects and customers

    Cons

    None.... Enjoyed my stay at the company.

    Continue reading
    SolidWorks2017-08-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "For retirment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolidWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No layoff, life is easy their, no competitors, business is stable

    Cons

    No promotion; compensation is not competitive; not good for young people;

    Continue reading
    SolidWorks2017-04-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolidWorks full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture, good work-life balance, great colleagues and exciting products to work on.

    Cons

    Dassault Systemes did not see the opportunities to invest in the SolidWorks brand.

    Continue reading
    SolidWorks2016-05-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Still a good company despite changes over the years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolidWorks for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working in the field provides lots of insulation from the life in an office and the politics that go with it.

    Cons

    The influence and restrictions that come from Dassault can be really annoying.

    Continue reading
    SolidWorks2016-04-15
Found 76 reviews