SolarWinds "lunch twice" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SolarWinds Employee Reviews about "lunch twice"

Updated Mar 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
SolarWinds President, CEO, and Director Kevin B. Thompson
Kevin B. Thompson
325 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch twice a week, great people to work with(in 74 reviews)

  • "I won't even try to say free lunch twice a week is a perk(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance have to work late expected to work holidays very strict around vacation time taken (even though you have it to take)(in 39 reviews)

  • "Upper management changes the sales structure far too often(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "lunch twice"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "No Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch twice a week.

    Cons

    Training on products but not for personnel growth.

    SolarWinds2019-03-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sweat Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch twice a week. Also free coffee.

    Cons

    Working hard and putting in overtime is never enough. Constant pressure to perform harder and do more with no appreciation.

    SolarWinds2019-10-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "decent money, no work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good perks, catered lunch twice a week, free coffee and snacks, and good colleagues.

    Cons

    no work life balance, management was sometimes questionable.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2019-05-31
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic envrionment all around, no room for advancement, everyone wants a few available positoins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks and lunch twice a week They actually do have a good training/onboarding program

    Cons

    For Support, there is not path here. Your coworkers are drama and talk about each other and you behind your backs. The longer someone has worked at Solarwinds, the less skilled they are. I decided to work at Solarwinds thinking it would require a high level of technical aptitude, but it is barely above a help desk. Anyone with actual System Administration should stay far far away. Senior Technical support are high on them selves, at the team lead "Application Engineers" are in a dead end job so they have to bash on customers. I've never worked around such negative & toxic people. If you've ever worked at Teleperformance or Convergys call centers, that is exactly what it is like. People are leaving through the revolving door and the Tech Support job postings are constantly open. Working at Solarwinds makes me never want to work in an office environment again.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2020-03-02
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great potential to progress in your career, treats employees well (free lunches twice a week!)

    Cons

    Lots of products to support, things take a long time to happen

    SolarWinds2019-11-29
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic management, high pressure environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds

    Pros

    - Free lunches twice a week - Well known brand in the market

    Cons

    - Toxic management especially in the Sydney office, i.e. management tends to talk down on employees and encourages workplace bullying - No room to grow and move - Micromanagement - Too many product acquisition and poor integration of teams - Some products/features are not competitive - Lowest salary range compared with similar positions at other companies

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2019-11-04
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Don’t Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch twice a week

    Cons

    Leadership does not care employees. Stressful and toxic work environment. Managers use scare tactics to try and “motivate” the sales team. Everybody is unhappy and planning an escape if they are still working at SolarWinds. Worst software sales job experience I’ve ever had.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2019-10-21
  8. "Solid company with great benefits and huge opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Large, stable company with high growth * Excellent and inexpensive health insurance, strong 401k matching, etc * Free lunches twice a week * Cool and modern office space with lots of natural light * Smart and fun group of coworkers * Strong products and loyal customers across global footprint * Performance focus creates strong growth opportunities for those willing to work hard (see other negative reviews for those who aren't) * Transparent and honest management that don't try to sugarcoat things

    Cons

    * Fast pace doesn't fit some - this isn't a bank moving like a glacier - SolarWinds moves quickly * Definitely a few growing pains along the way as the company reaches significant market size * Communication between departments can be hit or miss at times depending upon how much is going on (see fast pace above)

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2019-02-04
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Want to be micro-managed then this is the place for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategic Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks, snacks and lunch twice a week.

    Cons

    Where do I start..... Even if you’re a top producer you’re still micro managed. Management will take away your deals over 50k poorly manage them and then ask why didn’t this deal close. Some direct managers are okay but they have to follow direction from upper management that in most cases have no clue and are stuck in the past with archaic sales strategies. Most of our customers hate us but don’t take my word google SW Sales tactics. It’s all about discount and pushing the PO, get it in today! In most cases you feel like the used car salesman of the software world. If you can keep low visibility into your pipeline like I do you have a shot of hitting your numbers. On the IB side it’s all about what account set you’re given not your ability. If given an account set that has a huge SW foot print they have to buy and are used to the BS so they buy. If not good luck, luckily I’ve been here long enough and have built relationships with my customers. They know the song and dance and often we laugh about it together. If you have 0 sales experience and are looking for a foot in the door into IT sales this place could work for you. Ride out your few years getting told you’re horrible even though you hit the crazy quotas they provide. Then go somewhere else or don’t start if you’re smart. Year over year growth isn’t how they get your quota for the next quarter. Many times I was given a 30-50% increase and when asked why even my Manager couldn’t explain it.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2018-11-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No shared vision."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time

    Pros

    Free lunches twice a week. Free coffees. Central location.

    Cons

    No shared vision and goals. Teams working in different locations/on different products do not communicate with each other and are not interested in ever doing so. Chaotic environment. Priorities change regularly, which means nothing gets done and if something gets done it doesn't get done in time. No training/possibilities to go to conferences. Startup mentality. People always think and talk about work, even in social occasions (pints after work, or even during lunch break). Come on, there's more to life than software development.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2018-09-17
Found 49 reviews