SolarWinds Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SolarWinds Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
33%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
SolarWinds President, CEO, and Director Kevin B. Thompson
Kevin B. Thompson
317 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch twice a week, great people to work with(in 74 reviews)

  • "I won't even try to say free lunch twice a week is a perk(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance have to work late expected to work holidays very strict around vacation time taken (even though you have it to take)(in 39 reviews)

  • "Upper management changes the sales structure far too often(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Full Stack Software Developer Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Kanata, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of teams and product to interact with and learn from.

    Cons

    Can not really think of one at the moment

    SolarWinds2019-06-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sweat Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch twice a week. Also free coffee.

    Cons

    Working hard and putting in overtime is never enough. Constant pressure to perform harder and do more with no appreciation.

    SolarWinds2019-10-02
  3. "Hard work is Rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time

    Pros

    Financial rewards for accomplishing quota Fun environment - not for the overly sensitive Amazing opportunity to soak in technology knowledge and sales acumen

    Cons

    Work/Life balance is tough If you don't have thick skin this is not the place for you

    SolarWinds2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company - No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is growing lots of opportunity pay is good

    Cons

    No work life balance have to work late expected to work holidays very strict around vacation time taken (even though you have it to take)

    SolarWinds2019-06-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "decent money, no work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good perks, catered lunch twice a week, free coffee and snacks, and good colleagues.

    Cons

    no work life balance, management was sometimes questionable.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "6+ Years in Sales - Solarwinds MSP - Ottawa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, have made life long friends working here over 6 years. Have been promoted 5 times over the past 6 years and have seen numerous colleagues do the same in that time span. Have referred multiple close friends, and would do so again and again! it is a fast paced environment that breeds the best in sales culture and work ethic! If you are looking to start your career in software sales, advanced your career after being stagnant in current role, or even make a switch to a fast sales cycle vs a long enterprise cycle THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU! Free lunches are a bonus, excellent work benefits, UNCAPPED commission potential.

    Cons

    Long work hours, high demands on a monthly sales cycle (not for everyone).

    SolarWinds2019-03-13
  7. "No Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch twice a week.

    Cons

    Training on products but not for personnel growth.

    SolarWinds2019-03-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Pros & Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time

    Pros

    It's a solid company that has a bright future. Always growing and the CEO has so much energy that you get pumped after attending a meeting with him.

    Cons

    Salaries are terrible and management is terrible. Too many "managers" for the amount of "workers". No work/life balance. No appreciation of hard-work from management as it's all about the "numbers".

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2019-01-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Compensation is Falling Behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great technology, twice weekly catered lunches.

    Cons

    Only 80% coverage on Prescriptions. Salaries are falling behind the market. Bonuses have been limited even though we are making a profit, no replacement for RSU when we were public. C level management needs a refresh, with new ideas. Sales needs to work on their customer reputation (the only reason they make the sales they do is the products, most techs know to avoid the free tools due to the overbearing sales pitch). We are losing a lot of senior staff to better paying companies.

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2018-08-27
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Hiring Process for a software role at the Ottawa location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWinds

    Pros

    I did not work for this company. This is a review for the hiring process

    Cons

    I was contacted for a role with absolute unprofessionalism and very inconsistent with the things communicated to me. Phone calls were never scheduled. Called without notice, for both the times I was contacted. Decided to not further continue with the hiring process

    Continue reading
    SolarWinds2018-06-14
Found 524 reviews