Softchoice "senior leadership" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Softchoice Employee Reviews about "senior leadership"

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits(in 61 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, the leadership trusts hardworking people and have one to one recognition(in 43 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior leadership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Inside Sales Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I first started at Softchoice, I was fresh out of university and I could not have chosen a better company to start my career with! The atmosphere is fun and exciting and I have established friendships that I truly value. The corporate culture is incredible and unlike anything I have heard of and experienced. The supportive environment that surrounds you can get you through any stressful day or task. Softchoice fully embodies the "work hard, play hard" slogan. For me though, what sets Softchoice apart from others, is how engaged their management is and how committed they are to supporting their employees. In my experience, I have found that if you put in the appropriate time and effort, there is an extremely high likelihood that you will be rewarded and promoted within. Another unique aspect of Softchoice is their strong sense of responsibility towards local communities and communities around the world (Shout out to Softchoice Cares!) and as a result, I feel proud to work Softchoice.

    Cons

    I would agree that as a result of the company growing and expanding it's focus, there are some growing pains in some areas at times, but the senior leadership and management as a whole, are always very committed to ensuring that efficiencies are developed and changes implemented to limited any negative impact that could result from these changes. Ultimately, I believe there is a strong agreement from within that while there will be changes in specific areas, that in the end, it will result in an even more successful and impactful company.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2016-01-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, usual leadership pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vendor Sales Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with knowledgeable staff. Direct leadership is often a pleasure to work with and they seem to care about the people on their teams. Salary is close to market if not market. Decent work life balance (role dependent though)

    Cons

    Senior Leadership appear disorganized and lack clear strategy. It feels like each year they throw out a new buzzword/strategy to see if it sticks and helps the company grow. As you go up the line of leadership they become more disconnected from the people below them - you become more of a number or data point within the system. Overall I believe the company is good to work for and that their challenges within leadership are common across many organisations.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2018-04-02
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great people & culture... tired senior leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time

    Pros

    Some of the best people I have ever met work at Softchoice. It's filled with people who have big hearts and work hard.

    Cons

    In short, the Senior Leadership Team is the problem. Time for some fresh new thinking at the top. The problem is, instead of looking in the mirror and asking how he can improve his own leadership, the CEO will likely ask the leader of People to investigate who posted this review.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2016-12-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Use them like they're using you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vendor Sales Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great marketing department (probably orchestrated all the positive reviews on 10/8). Softchoice can talk a good game. Great for young person with no industry experience.

    Cons

    No long term vision. Can't execute. Senior Leadership Team is filled yes men. The sales organization is a plug and play model. Once a sales rep gains experience and realizes they can go elsewhere for better pay, Softchoice fills the spot with the next person. So on and so on. No customer retention.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2014-10-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great organization to start your career not grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment is what people come to enjoy, cool location, vibrant environment and the dogs. Softchoice does go above and beyond for their employees with their social events and Softchoice Cares

    Cons

    Unless you are in sales there is no distinct career path and the organization as a whole is weak on compensation or growth. You have to wonder about the vision of the organization when a revolving door at senior leadership positions.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2014-08-12
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Very Incompetent Senior Leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    having a pay cheque, paying the bills

    Cons

    poor ethics amongst senior leadership team

    Softchoice2013-01-25
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They let you bring your dog into work. While I do not have a dog, it creates a cool work environment.

    Cons

    I came from the Unis Lumin acquistion, so I have been on board for a little over a year. I have worked for a number of technology companies and have never seen so much incompetent management, starting with the senior leadership team. In the short time I have been here, we are now on our third leader of professional services. The first 2 left saying that they could not be successful building a services practice at Softchoice (alluding to the incompetence of the leadership team to which they reported), even though they were extremely successful doing at previous companies. The person in that role now is also our CIO, so he is not able to focus completely on the PS practice. As far as I know, he has no experience running a PS practice. Our entire focus last year was around growing professional services, but our year end numbers were WAY below 50% of plan. This leads a lot of us to believe that there could be significant changes at the highest levels in the organization. Only time will tell.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2013-01-19
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Frat boy club where mediocrity is rewarded."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice

    Pros

    Great location (renovated old factory building). Young, energetic workforce. Sense of fun, and the dogs on premises and monthly beer are kind of fun.

    Cons

    Chaotic environment. Operations employees severely undervalued and underpaid. Senior leadership not interested in new ideas or critical thinking and has knee-jerk negative reaction to anything perceived as disloyalty. Extremely high turnover makes things worse, and no processes in place mean things change constantly for no reason. Horrible place for women to work - frat boy party mentality and almost no senior women (the few the had have all left in last year). Lots of mistrust from employees since they suffered salary cuts and rollbacks during recession and talk of "we're all in this together" and then SLT rewards themselves with 100K + bonuses.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2010-03-18
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Softchoice is like Mcdonald's seems like a good idea when you are drunk, but does nothing for you in the long run."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice

    Pros

    It is easy to get a job there.

    Cons

    Pay, this company pays the least I have EVER seen a company pay. There are people working there making $40K and they leave and go to a competitor and DOUBLE their salary. It's unreal. They try to gloss over the pay problem by using words like competitive salaries but they fail to mention that the competitive salary is only for the Senior Leadership. Their training sessions are a joke, the same woman getting employees to watch movies and comment on them...useless. And to add insult to injury the reference you get from Softchoice isn't worth the paper it's written on because every other company knows that Softchoice is a Mickey Mouse operation.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2009-03-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Once great company that lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Still some good people there that believe in what they do Good place to get entry level experience Fun vendor events

    Cons

    Employees are disposable and interchangeable Culture has taken a nose dive over past 3 years Many of the long time employees and leaders have already left. Expectations are not in line with reality Income is low compared to similar companies Senior leadership isn’t trustworthy

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-07-20
Found 19 reviews