Smith & Nephew Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Smith & Nephew CEO Roland Diggelmann (no image)
Roland Diggelmann
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Politics play a large role in upper management, but all things considered it is a great place to work(in 24 reviews)

  • "Senior management seems to turn over fairly frequently which to me gives a sense of confusion on the direction of the company(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "X X X X X"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Nephew full-time

    Pros

    Fast -paced truly global organization. There are some outstanding leaders with highest of commitment. There are many mission-focused employees working hard for the organization.

    Cons

    I have not observed any significant negative aspect.

    Smith & Nephew2018-05-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "In flux"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Smith & Nephew full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great products and longevity in the marketplace makes it easy to talk to customers. Has had a long history of caring and knowledgable employees and sales representatives who are passionate about the company and their products.

    Cons

    Has recently undergone significant changes (locally and globally) and strong cultural presence and marketplace trust has drastically been diminished. Poor communication practice to both employees and customers.

    Continue reading
    Smith & Nephew2019-04-16
  3. "Smith & Nephew Ortho"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Nephew full-time

    Pros

    fascinating industry and high tech HQ facility

    Cons

    regrettable career advancement from selective managers playing favorites

    Smith & Nephew2018-07-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Not a strong sales orgaization"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Device Wound Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Nephew full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and managers (too much so). Not a lot of pressure to perform above last evaluation/sales period.

    Cons

    Nice people...this is also a con. This is a very soft company. Hugging it out and talking about your feelings are encouraged. It is a bit riduculous. This company does not understand sales. It is a nurse focused education company. This is the reason they get their butts kicked by its competitors all the time. Need to grow a pair and badly needs strong leadership. Very weak clinical data for AWC product line. Loss of NPWT business due to internal office screw-ups with the FDA is also inexusable. Incompetence.

    Continue reading
    Smith & Nephew2014-10-13
  5. "I had a wonderful experience here. I learned a lot from my manager and the team."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Nephew full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Not very ambitious with the product that I was working on.

    Smith & Nephew2020-05-20
  6. "The best place I have work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EU Compliance Report in Alajuela
    Recommends

    I have been working at Smith & Nephew full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to work excellent schedule, location and benefits.

    Cons

    Some big leaders are a little messy the way the work other than that it is perfect enviroment

    Smith & Nephew2020-05-18
  7. "Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Nephew full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dedicated people with a lot of expertise.

    Cons

    Old ways are hard to change to some of the S+N personnel.

    Continue reading
    Smith & Nephew2020-05-12
  8. "Great workforce, uncertain direction"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Desktop Support Engineer in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Nephew full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I really liked working for Smith+Nephew as the people I connected with were all very professional and I made some great relationships. The mission to make quality medical devices for those who need it brings a lot of job satisfaction, and my relationship with my supervisor allowed me to take the time for volunteering and other appointments with good flexibility.

    Cons

    There is a current policy of moving more IT positions to off-shore service centers, and while the jury is still out on their effectiveness, it appears the company is only looking at the bottom line and not seeing the benefit of retaining expertise for legacy applications and technology. Senior management seems to turn over fairly frequently which to me gives a sense of confusion on the direction of the company. They are intent on acquiring more small companies yet seem to not want to invest in a coherent computer refresh.

    Continue reading
    Smith & Nephew2020-04-27
  9. "Horrible!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Singapore
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smith & Nephew full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Handle covid 19 very well

    Cons

    - direct report micro manage - job description and facts is way diff - late salary given - complicated -m

    Smith & Nephew2020-06-01
  10. "DOS"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director of Sales in Over-The-Rhine, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Nephew for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great front line people that give their best everyday

    Cons

    Skip is a fake and everyone knows it, just talk to the people at Nuvasive

    Continue reading
    Smith & Nephew2020-05-09
Found 734 reviews