Slack Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Slack Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Slack CEO Stewart Butterfield
Stewart Butterfield
229 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Rapid growth comes with growing pains(in 22 reviews)

  • "Scaling rapidly so lots of things break in the process(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company I've ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time

    Pros

    - Amazing people who are smart, collaborative and humble. - Fast growing and ever changing culture with a chance to do lots of different things

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind and I've been here almost 1.5 years.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Slack2019-10-15
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate 

    I worked at Slack full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment for a new company

    Cons

    not anything yet but huge potential

    Slack2019-10-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best job I've ever had. Hoping to grow here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management really cares about you. You'll work with the smartest people you have in your career and you will work in a fast-paced space with an incredible opportunity.

    Cons

    The only real knock I have on Slack is being an employee in a non-SF office. The world seems to revolve around SF and it can feel like if you're not in that bubble you are lost in terms of recognition and more importantly career opportunity. I think this is something being addressed and feedback that is heard but as of right now this is still a sore spot for me.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on helping remote offices grow in opportunity, this is the only real question mark for me in an otherwise incredible 2 years.

    Slack2019-09-10
  4. "Great place to work, awesome people, growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing company, exciting time to be part of the next phase. Great culture & people. Awesome perks. High expectations met with lots of resources to help you succeed.

    Cons

    In a high growth environment, you need to be able to adapt to change.

    Slack2019-09-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, great people, solid mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team dynamic and strong company culture Leadership has extensive experience and everyone seems to be aligned to the company mission

    Cons

    Less visibility with leadership No line of sight for plans with regional offices

    Advice to Management

    Provide more transparency on a career path and opportunity within the company.

    Slack2019-09-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic product, even better organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong alignment across leadership, transparency, open communication and supportive culture. Slack creates a culture that enables collaboration, feedback and supports employees in any way that it can. I feel so lucky to work here alongside amazing coworkers and leaders.

    Cons

    None I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Slack2019-07-30
  7. "Great company, some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDR in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tremendous company to work for. Leadership truly cares about the employee base. Hard work is recognized and rewarded.

    Cons

    Growing pains. The company has 3-4X in size over the last 2 years. Systems break when any group scales this quickly - but entrepreneurial spirit is encouraged

    Slack2019-08-01
  8. "Amazing place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture never worked at a place that values it's employees more. There are great people who genuinely care for one another, and makes everyone feel like family. Having worked at large organizations before, I feel much closer to people in other offices at Slack then I have at any other company.

    Cons

    Typical growth pains for a hyper-growth organization

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work, let's maintain the incredible culture that has been built here

    Slack2019-07-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Customer Experience 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, engaging and fast paced! Benefits are superb and the office is lovely. I feel pretty lucky to work with some of the smartest people I know.

    Cons

    You need to rethink the way you look at career direction and find new ways to thrive in a stagnant role.

    Advice to Management

    Keep culture front of mind as we continue to scale into different regions/time zones.

    Slack2019-07-15
  10. "Culture matches the reputation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great, smart, motivated people that celebrate every day. Corporate values that align with my own.

    Cons

    Can't find any just yet!

    Slack2019-04-25
Found 261 reviews