Slack Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Slack Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Slack CEO Stewart Butterfield
Stewart Butterfield
138 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains: cramped space, confused managers(in 10 reviews)

  • "I can say there is no cons for now(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Culture matches the reputation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great, smart, motivated people that celebrate every day. Corporate values that align with my own.

    Cons

    Can't find any just yet!

    Slack2019-04-25
  2. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Customer Experience 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, engaging and fast paced! Benefits are superb and the office is lovely. I feel pretty lucky to work with some of the smartest people I know.

    Cons

    You need to rethink the way you look at career direction and find new ways to thrive in a stagnant role.

    Advice to Management

    Keep culture front of mind as we continue to scale into different regions/time zones.

    Slack2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Sales Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best company I've ever worked for. So proud to say I work at Slack

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Slack2018-12-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Progressive and exciting company to work for...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding culture, peers are uniformly great people. Salary, benefits and management all excellent.

    Cons

    Competitive space, typical challenges associated with a fast growing company

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Slack2018-12-06
  5. "Best company I've worked for so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is super supportive and everyone is so nice! Most people genuinely care about the product and what they are working on. Many projects are bottom up instead of top down, it's a great place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Being too nice could cause indirect communication and lacking of constructive feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more department level guidance and direction of focus.

    Slack2018-11-09
  6. "Awesome place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time

    Pros

    Company values and what they stand for truly resonate, they are an inspiring team to work for. Employees are all so kind and friendly, people genuinely want to help you and reach out to do so: Great culture Atmosphere Support Management OnBoarding

    Cons

    Nothing that I've seen so far

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, you are an inspiring team and the kindness is appreciated

    Slack2018-10-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Always Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Designer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Most work/life balanced company I've ever seen • Great pay and benefits • Genuinely listens to input from entire staff base • Great colleagues • Strong sense of teams getting to own their decisions (this was more difficult in the past) • Decisions are made transparently, and execs can be publicly asked questions with and will publically answer thoughtfully and thoroughly. • Building a product customers actually...

    Show More

    Cons

    • Currently not a lot of room for growth in the Design org (though this is actively changing) • Working outside of HQ (SF) can be challenging for the remote employees

    Slack2018-07-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Slack for more than a year

    Pros

    Slack is a place where you have can really do your best work. There's lots of room for growth both within and across departments, the people are amazing, the space itself is immaculate, the culture is vibrant and inclusive, and there's no shortage of challenge.

    Cons

    Things move quickly! If change is tough for you to handle, this probably isn't a great fit.

    Advice to Management

    You're wonderful, amazing humans. Keep doing what you're doing. :-)

    Slack2017-08-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time

    Pros

    - benefits, flexibility, support, onboarding program,

    Cons

    No cons really. It's a lot to learn if you're not from a tech field/industry/education

    Slack2017-07-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Very supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is supportive and invested in your professional and personal growth. Company's values are on point and genuinely followed by many if not all who work here. lots of awesome perks including some free meals during the week and some funds for professional and personal development courses. coworkers are awesome; helpful, supportive and encouraging.

    Cons

    still quite a young company so hard to say how they'll maintain their current values and culture

    Slack2017-04-03
Found 162 reviews