Slack Reviews

Updated Jan 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Slack Chief Executive Officer Stewart Butterfield
Stewart Butterfield
460 Ratings
Pros
  • "Slack provides a great work life balance(in 84 reviews)

  • "Great culture - there has not been a single day where I wished I was working elsewhere(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working through the growing pains of a startup(in 37 reviews)

  • "This level of scaling in a distributed work environment might not be for everyone(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A group of brilliant, warm and empathetic humans 🚀"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager – Technical Architect in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture encourages people to naturally be themselves, it stopped being classified as work for me a long time ago and more of a place my brain goes to think about people collaborate. Work life balance is not just talked about but demonstrated here. Work hard and go home was painted on the wall of my office and it's respected and adhered to. I had a life event and my manager simply said, "go and do what you need to do, your family comes first".

    Cons

    It is a big responsibility to handle the collaboration of the size of customers we have, it is not necessary a negative but something to remember from time to time.

    Continue reading

    Slack Response

    October 22, 2020Slack

    Thanks for your review! It’s great to hear that you feel work/life balance is a priority at Slack. The health and well-being of our employees is very important to us and we’re glad to hear that you feel supported. We hear you on the responsibility front and we’re thankful to you for taking it on! -Slack

  2. "Fast moving, great culture."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Inclusive culture - Driven, motivated employees - Fast change of pace - Lots of opportunity to grow and develop.

    Cons

    You need to be motivated and driven to work at Slack. The fast pace of change requires people to be engaged and willing to grow constantly.

    Continue reading

    Slack Response

    January 13, 2021Slack

    Thanks so much for your review. We’re really glad to hear that you appreciate our inclusive culture and passionate employees! We agree that things change quickly as we constantly adapt and grow--thanks for being along for the ride! -Slack


  3. "Good company, little opportunity for growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very experienced management Well thought out platform and customers that love the product Fast paced. The company handles change thoughtfully and effectively Supportive, great wfh benefits Finally offers permanent remote work flexibility

    Cons

    Lots of experienced management and agents make advancement extremely difficult. I realize it’s not an easy problem to tackle it’s just not very motivating sometimes

    Slack Response

    January 25, 2021

    Hello! We really appreciate your thoughtful review and are so happy you've enjoyed working at Slack! We hear your feedback about growth opportunities for CE Agents. We encourage you to speak to your manager about your career trajectory. Your year end review should be happening in the next few weeks and would be an ideal time to discuss this. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave this review and feedback! -Slack

  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - hires great people (smart, humble and collaborative) - company cares about employees

    Cons

    - lots going on at all times (you must stay on top of company changes while keeping focused on what's important)

    Slack Response

    January 11, 2021Slack People Team

    Hi there - thanks for the review! We're glad you feel supported here. We agree that we've got a great team -- glad you appreciate that, too! -Slack

  5. "Exciting company to work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time

    Pros

    A talented group working on a (relatively) new and exciting space, crafting the future of work communication. Great culture. Challenging problems. Inclusive and caring company.

    Cons

    A bit of churn over the years due to fast growth, but to be expected.

  6. "Everyone's on the same page"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional, positive, pleasant, and humble

    Cons

    A lot of information to take in

  7. "The best company I've worked for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Slack full-time

    Pros

    Really positive and supportive culture, genuinely lovely people. Generous benefits and compensation.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "The best company in the world"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The best people, and a really healthy culture - even working remotely, you will feel included and engaged - Work with an amazing product that really impacts people's working lives - Really walk the talk when it comes to social justice and diversity - Tons of opportunity to take initiative, and learn/grow outside of your role - Best perks/benefits around

    Cons

    - This isn't really a negative, but Slack is a fast-paced, rapidly changing environment. To be successful here, you must be able to weather uncertainty. Despite this, you will be well supported.

    Continue reading

    Slack Response

    October 23, 2020Slack

    Thanks for your thoughtful review. We’re so glad to hear that you’re excited about our product’s impact, our culture, and our diversity and social justice efforts. These are all really important to us! It’s great to hear that you feel supported, even as our company grows and changes quickly! -Slack

  9. "Amazing place to work!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Developer Support Engineer in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Slack full-time

    Pros

    Slack cares and always puts their employees first. Perks are great and medical benefits are competitive. Working with some of the smartest, kindest people.

    Cons

    None for me, I love working here.

    Slack Response

    October 22, 2020Slack

    It makes us so happy to hear that you are surrounded by smart and kind people! We do indeed prioritize the health and well-being of our employees and we’re so glad you feel supported. -Slack

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Very fair and wonderful place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Communications 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Welcoming, smart, hard-working, humble, kind.

    Cons

    Transitional, growing pains, coddling, zoom fatigue, too many cooks.

    Slack Response

    October 26, 2020Slack

    It’s great to see that you see so many of our values embodied in the culture around you. We hear you on Zoom fatigue and we encourage you to share any ideas you have around combatting this with your manager and leadership, we’re here to support you! -Slack

Viewing 1 - 10 of 522 English Reviews