Skechers U.S.A. Employee Reviews about "discount on shoes"

Updated Apr 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Skechers U.S.A. Chairman and CEO Robert Greenberg
Robert Greenberg
319 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management puts a lot of pressure on employees(in 60 reviews)

  • "Super low pay makes it hard to stay here due to LA getting more expensive every year(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "discount on shoes"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "skechers is an experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    co-workers were excellent and there was no drama at the workplace. Assistant managers were patient and understanding, they had great skills with teaching. when a customer was trying to negotiate the price of a shoe, my assistant managers would step in and explain that Skechers is a huge business and we cannot determine the price of shoes. The first pair of shoes are free and then you get a 50% discount on shoes.

    Cons

    Work a lot for minimum wage, store managers have a lot of expectations, such as selling shoe care and socks. I used the shoe care (rain and stain repellent) and I personally felt it didn't work. Also, I do not know why but customers tend to negotiate the price for shoes. Back room can be a huge mess and will take a long time to put away shoes, which can be stressful about meeting sale goals.

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2017-10-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad but could be better"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission, discount on shoes, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Short breaks, no health or dental insurances, cut hours often

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-10-02
  3. "An average retail working environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Decent discounts on shoes, the odd staff incentive

    Cons

    Basic retail problems. Cranky customers etc.

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2018-03-29
  4. "Amazing work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Moreno Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on shoes, clean working environment, amazing staff, great scheduling

    Cons

    No cons in my opinion and experience

    Skechers U.S.A.2020-04-16
  5. "Ok company to start off"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commision + base wage 30% discount on shoes and 10% on apparel

    Cons

    Few working hours after holidays

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-07-12
  6. "Great Part-time job for high school and college students"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist 

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discounts on shoes and clothes.

    Cons

    Its retail, so the hours aren't consistent.

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-02-07
  7. "Good, but definitely room for improvement"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great discounts on shoes and other brands apart of the Accent Group (Platypus, Vans, etc) - Great people to work with - Incentives for selling products, store performance

    Cons

    - Poor upper management - not a lot of communication, can be rude to managers as well as team members - Unstable store management - I believe I went through six store managers in two years - Little room for progression - Can be a little too competitive, as rosters are done based on performance regardless of external factors - Pay is standard, and sometimes was incorrect

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2018-11-18
  8. "Sales Associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love getting the discount on shoes!!

    Cons

    No cons from me because I lived by the store

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2018-11-02
  9. "Skechers Philippines is a big brand with no organization whatsoever."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Mandaluyong City
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -big brand -employee discount on shoes

    Cons

    -no budget -micromanaging -treats employees as expenses instead of investment

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-09-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "You can find something much better"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free shoes every year Half off discounts on shoes per month Due to the fact everyone quits within a year, there's always an opening for more hours

    Cons

    Corporate has no regards or respect for anyone under the position of District Manager Pay raises taken away from people who aren't keyholders Workers are underpaid for the sometimes unrealistic expectations of corporate Being forced to use outdated technology or programs that barely work Constant hiring of store managers who are already noted through training to be a negative influence to their store Constantly casting a blind eye to the needs of their retail stores Dumb hiring requirements set in college towns where most potential employees in that area lack those requirements Workers constantly quit and leave the company for much better and sane options while some only stay once corporate offers them a significant pay raise because they cant afford to lose EVERYONE

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-08-09
Found 31 reviews