Silverchair Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Silverchair CEO Thane Kerner (no image)
Thane Kerner
23 Ratings
  1. "Loved my time at the company!"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair part-time

    Pros

    Great management team, loved the people I worked with

    Cons

    I wish the pay was a bit higher but overall no real cons

    Silverchair Response

    May 6, 2019Chief People Officer

    We're glad you enjoy working here. Thanks for being part of the team!

  2. "Plenty of Opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn and grow if you can work fast paced and stay organized. Colleagues are friendly and supportive.

    Cons

    Training and mentorship could be more formalized, the work is often very dependent on in-house knowledge of existing structure.

    Silverchair Response

    March 16, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the feedback. We definitely move fast and there is a lot to learn. While we offer a lot of training there is an opportunity for us to do better in terms of formalizing, videoing and cataloging. Thanks for helping us continue to grow!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Glad I Tried It"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Client Services Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly people with good senses of humor -Intellectually stimulating environment with a culture of learning and problem-solving -Snacks and treats

    Cons

    -Parking is not free -Re: closed-door meeting spaces for work, demand sometimes exceeds supply -Few couches and tables for breaks

    Silverchair Response

    March 9, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the feedback. We do have great people and there are lots of jokes around here. With picking up the Urban Outfitters space we should have more space for meetings and couches so hopefully soon those problems will be solved.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Alright"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silverchair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are all very friendly and its a relaxed place to work. There are also many fun events planned through the year for all employees.

    Cons

    The work can be boring and developers are clearly worked harder than other roles. Also there is a claim to have unlimited time off however they will limit you once you reach a certain amount.

    Silverchair Response

    March 9, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the feedback. We do have a good time here and events are part of the fun. Of course, not every part of the work is glamorous, and we try to remember that even the boring tasks are helping our clients improve the use of scholarly research throughout the world. Our PTO policy, though generous, is not unlimited – it is a Responsible PTO system. This means that the amount of time employees take off has to work for both parties - both the employee and the company. Thank you for the feedback and for helping us grow!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Company values mean nothing if they don't occasionally cause pain"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SQA Engineer in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is one of the few places I've worked where the company values are more than just PR, or something we tell new hires about and conveniently forget when it impacts revenue. I've worked at those places. Places where calling out an issue leads to someone telling you to mind your business or stay in your lane. Silverchair actively encourages you to raise issues. They're by no means perfect about solving them, but they do strive to improve over time and that means a lot. Silverchair has an amazing work culture and ethic. People are open and honest about feedback and criticism with the goal of constructive growth. Also has some of the smartest people I've had the privilege of working with. I've learned and grown a ton working there, and continue to learn every day. Great work life balance, great PTO system, decent benefits.

    Cons

    The business side can sometimes have a bigger voice in outcomes than other orgs, this is generally true of most agile shops however, and there are genuine attempts to improve that balance.

    Continue reading

    Silverchair Response

    January 6, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the feedback. Our values truly do matter here. For us, high performance is 51% how you work with your colleagues and 49% about the results you produce. Thanks for being part of our team and for helping us improve each day.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed bag"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlottesville, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silverchair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will get baptized by fire here. Depending on how you respond to that will determine if that is a good or bad thing. If you love Agile, which you should, this is the place to learn. Everyone is extremely smart. You will learn so much if you work here.

    Cons

    Onboarding is decent but the mentoring program seems to be an after thought. Which is unfortunate since you're expected to be 100% ramped up after about month. The tech debt is massive and the platform is extremely complex. Shipping features as fast as possible is valued over clean code and proper unit testing. It's a very cliquey culture and devoid of humor unless you think cat pictures are comedy gold. It's also next to impossible to affect change. Lot's of good idea's die quick death's at the hands of C-Level executives. Turn over is extremely high.

    Continue reading
  7. "Product Owner Interview Process"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner 

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time

    Pros

    From start to finish the process and communication was clear, timely, honest, and overall very pleasant and positive. The team members I communicated with at each step were all warm and engaged, and created an environment which allowed for a relaxed and friendly exchange of information and ideas.

    Cons

    None, it was a very positive experience.

  8. "I have been working as a Business Analyst for less than a year."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company, very flexible, opportunity to learn and grow in your area of work. The more initiative we take the more there is to learn and grow in the company. The interview process was pretty smooth and finished in 3 weeks time with a telephone round and an onsite interview for 3 hours.

    Cons

    Benefits are medium.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great training, teamwork and mission-driven rewarding work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great onboarding program, paired with onboarding buddy who really helps you learn the codebase and how to navigate the company resources. A lot of investment in people; having a good attitude and being adaptable to changing needs can really take you far. Going to repeat what other reviewers have said, when it pertains. "Everyone on my team is really helpful and encouraging. Silverchair also really appreciates their employees. They are very understanding about sickness and emergencies. (Plus, they keep the kitchens stocked with nice snacks!)". "One of the best places I've worked from a company culture standpoint." "Fast paced. Rapidly growing. Our success has led to a quickly evolving workplace where top performers rise rapidly."

    Cons

    Benefits are comparable in terms of the Charlottesville tech scene, which is generally on par with a city of this size, parental leave policy is low.

    Continue reading

    Silverchair Response

    July 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you so much for the feedback. We are so happy to hear that you've experienced our focus on growth and learning. As for our culture - it is awesome! And that is because you are part of it. Thank you!

  10. "Lots of energy, growth, and great training"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most training I've ever had at a new job; people like working here; company on the growth curve; excellent resources for new hires; great facility; flexible PTO

    Cons

    Parking can be a bit of an issue (they provide discounted options); benefits are average

    Continue reading

    Silverchair Response

    June 20, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the feedback. So happy to hear that you enjoyed the onboarding. We really want our new hires to feel not only welcomed, but supported. While there is a lot that is covered in the onboarding program, our goal is for you to get the context of what we do, how we do it, and who does what. Thank you for the advice on keeping the pedal to the metal, we definitely are, and are happy you are along for the ride. (speaking of rides - parking can be tricky. We'll keep working on options.) Thank you.

Found 42 reviews