Shoppers Drug Mart Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shoppers Drug Mart Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Shoppers Drug Mart CEO Mike Motz (no image)
Mike Motz
399 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Theft not being addressed by head office to resolve(in 67 reviews)

  • "Lower pay especially with the minimum wage(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work closely with many talented individuals . Similar systems store to store.

    Cons

    Some stores are open till very late which means some possible late shifts , but only a con if that doesn't suit you.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-15
  2. "No complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Cambridge, ON

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constant work, always busy. Learn new products and get to interact with customers.

    Cons

    Late schedules and weekend shifts

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-18
  3. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time

    Pros

    Clean, relatively easy, flexible hours

    Cons

    Customer service, hours, uniform, system

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-16
  4. "Excellent Retail Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetician/Beauty Expert in Brantford, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Team-driven, supportive community • Education opportunities • Hourly wage + commission + gratis • Accommodating work-life balance

    Cons

    • Not much room for upwards movement • Quality of work culture depends entirely on management team • High turnover rate • Few full-time opportunities

    Advice to Management

    I would encourage those in management positions to foster teamwork in their employees and encourage team members to support each other, rather than compete. Continue valuing education and training opportunities. Invest further in employee wages and opportunities for higher hourly pay, based on experience, training received, and time working for the company.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-16
  5. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetician 

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good commission rate, great management.

    Cons

    No part time benefits

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-14
  6. "Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Boutique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Beauty BOutique Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stores are all separately owned and operated so you get to know your employer quite well, awesome discount program and the ability to make extra money via commission

    Cons

    Lower pay long hours and most stores are open until midnight

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-11
  7. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a really good job to have when you're in school. Hours are flexible. Coworkers are nice. You also get an employee discount.

    Cons

    In my experience you have to work at least 1 weekend day (depends on management I guess). Customers can be mean sometimes but that's with any daytime retail job. You also don't get raises often.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-09
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time

    Pros

    Good system, and learning environment

    Cons

    Can get really busy, a lot of stress

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-07
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff, great organization and good benefits.

    Cons

    some senior level managers have no idea on how to run a department.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-05
  10. "Cosmetic manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Manager in Kelowna, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to start if you want to move up the ladder with a big company.

    Cons

    Some stores don't have the best culture

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-06
Found 2013 reviews