Shopify Employee Reviews about "gurus"

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
646 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work hours and good work from home support(in 67 reviews)

  • "Get to work from home, great benefits(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines(in 28 reviews)

  • "Higher ups preach "work/life harmony" (work/life balance) but you'll get side eye if you try to leave the office before 5 on a Friday(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "gurus"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic company to work for

      Jan 29, 2020 - Data Scientist in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great growth opportunities, and opportunities to mentor and be mentored - Lots of freedom, people treat each other like adults - Fantastic culture, open and transparent, anyone can question decisions - I get to work with smart, nice people every day on interesting problems - The company really cares about getting better

      Cons

      - The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines. - Things change quickly, you have to get used to that

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Recent Guru

      Nov 12, 2019 - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being able to work from home

      Cons

      Unbelievable expectations from gurus. It is always expanding and covers all aspects of the front facing business. Includes trouble shooting, coaching and SALES WHICH THEY TRY TO DISGUISE. The pay is in no way aligned with the work required. You are contantly micromanaged by less than competent managers and get hammered for stepping away from your computer for a minute. 30-minute lunch break! What??? Unless I'm ordering takeout every day, it doesn't work. They expect you to have fast internet, but don't pay for it?? Expect you to be reachable by the slack app on your cell phone but don't cover your plan or phone???? Supremely unprofessional and use all the colorful language you can think of, which is endorsed by corporate because I guess they're hip? Everybody you meet talks about how they moved up from being a guru into whatever role they are in now. YA OK, when there were 100 employees that's bound to happen, not when there's 10000. This also results in incompetence all across.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Guruland is drowning. This will harm your mental health.

      Jun 28, 2019 - Customer Support Guru in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits package is very good, however it doesn't include vision for some reason.

      Cons

      The position of guru is touted as being the perfect stepping stone into the company. I can tell you, flat out, that is a lie. If you don't know someone (have an 'in' with someone from that department) you will not be hired into a new role. Guruing is hard work. The platform changes everyday and you are expected to change with it. New features are expected to be learned (without adequate time to train and practice). Some features are removed with little notice and we are expected to explain why to upset merchants (with ~positive positioning~ and offering them a chance to pay more money for a different plan than what they currently have). Shopify seems to pride itself on being a cool, hip place to work. However, guruland is drowning. There's not enough being done to show care for gurus mental health. We're told that 'breaking' is completely normal and expected. Isn't it sad that a company is telling their employees, the front line faces of their company, that yes, you will have mental breakdowns while working here? Gurus aren't afforded the same leave benefits as the rest of the company. Most of the weekends up to the end of the year are already booked. Vacation is very, very structured and if you don't book it right away you will not get it. I know I'm complaining, but it's all I can do to help future gurus who apply for this position. Please know what you're getting into when you apply. It's a stressful, relentless, mentally exhausting job. You will experience burnout and it will harm your mental health.

      Continue reading
      39 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fair Company, great perks and awesome team members

      Nov 20, 2019 - Customer Success Guru - Remote 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great benefits, from dental/ medical - Offer personal development time and encourage you to learn more and improve your professional and personal skills - Awesome interactions with various team members from all over the world - Great opportunities to network within the company - Can create your own websites and play around. You'll know the inside tips and tricks and can have a higher chance of making things work online than a first time website creator - You'll get Shopify shares when joining which will be fully transferred to you over a period of 3+ years. This is great as Shopify is doing very well on stock markets - You will be given $5k/ year to either use for lifestyle expenses, RRSP, charity & 1 more. - You get paid OT if you sign up for it - You get a certain amount of days off a year, in addition to personal days

      Cons

      - You will be dealing with customers who are reaching out only when something is wrong. Nobody really contacts customer care to show their appreciation. Dealing with negativity on a near daily basis can be very depressing - Dealing with angry customers on phone calls, especially for new gurus. Some people just want something for free - and this can be very wearing mentally - Many days you will work past your work hours catching up with mails, you don't get paid OT for this - Your schedule always changes, in terms of days of the week. There are rotations, your hours are fixed, but you could be working Saturday/ Sundays for a while, then perhaps Tuesdays/ Thursdays would be off etc. - If you're stuck with a team lead who you don't gel with, or team members that may rub you up the wrong way, you're in for it

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great mission- guruland needs work

      Jul 23, 2019 - Guru 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Easy mission to get behind: make commerce better for everyone - Visionary CEO - Working from home can be awesome - Great peeks + benefits - The guru role will give you a strong knowledge base not only of the Shopify platform, but also allows you to learn how to be an expert in commerce in general. If you are into business/entrepreneurship, this is a great way to learn and get paid at the same time. - People you work with are really genuinely nice. Your squad becomes your family. - Very progressive company in many ways when it comes to inclusion, diversity, mental health, and self care

      Cons

      Shopify is a great company to work for. If you are able to embrace the role of guru until mastery and then move on to something better, I think it’s a great stepping stone into other areas of the company. The cons below reflect my views of guruland. - Some gurus are straight up smarter + show more potential than their squad leads. From a high performer perspective, it’s tough to be coached by someone you know you can do the job better than. Unfortunately, if you want to advance and/or keep your position, you will need to get this person on your side and let them believe they are helping you so that they feel like they’re good at their job. - Reward for high performance is minimal. Even if you exceed your KPIs by 2x or 3x the expectation, the alleged “maximum” increase after a performance review is not much. If someone is putting up metrics that are equivalent to the work of 2 or 3 people, should they be getting paid only slightly more than the weakest link? - 30 min lunch is too short in my opinion. The issue is that scaling an extra 15 or 30 mins across hundreds of employees equates to a serious loss of productivity. I still think it would be worth it for employee morale, but there’s no data to show that. - Middle management and upper-middle management have some blind spots when it comes to the front line. Sometimes it feels like they are too removed. I’d love to see them hop back into the job 1 full day per quarter to regain perspective. - I don’t think the comp increase to go to a squad lead matches the responsibility increase. - advancement into another role is a grind. You can go through multiple rounds of interviews to find out that they are no longer hiring for that role. - internal talent movement can be better leveraged. The talent available in guruland is very high, but I feel like many high performers are not being used to their full potential. - the kool aid is good at first, but after a while it’s just kool aid, and you can spot it very easily - sometimes you will interact with incompetent and or disrespectful people.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Customer Support Guru

      Dec 5, 2018 - Customer Support Guru in Victoria, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Constant product releases, training, and business information., Like getting paid to go to University! You will learn tons at a fast pace. Everything about e-commerce, marketing , design, etc. The diversity of merchants keeps live channels interesting! Best remote position I have had, as you are in constant contact with your team/squad and have a lead. Pop up offices in major centres keep you from remote burnout. Also this company does a lot to support burnout and mental health. You do not feel alone. Feedback is encouraged and company shares

      Cons

      Rotating 6 week schedule with weekend shifts but most gurus adjust to the flow. Harder for single parents, and if you know you have an event coming up book it off, if it ends up being your day off anyways, the day goes back in your time off. You must love change and a fast pace. If you like to absorb information slowly or repetition, the guru roll may not be for you. Guru's start at set wage,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      You know how people say this "isn't for everyone"? I'm part of that "everyone".

      Sep 15, 2019 - Customer Success Guru - Remote 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Amazing benefits! - Fantastic 6-week comprehensive training process. - Everybody I met was very kind and always willing to help.

      Cons

      Intensity of the Role - While I loved the training, the people, and felt I was truly set up for success, when it came time to actually performing the role, I immediately struggled to the point of not eating, not sleeping, constant nausea, and intense anxiety. I believe this was largely due to constantly having to be "on" - when you're on phones and/or chats, your every pee break is timed by the second. Every conversation is recorded and Shopify has very specific messaging that can be extremely difficult to keep up with (especially since new features are always being added/subtracted). There wasn't a day where I was able to actually leave when my shift ended - I would always spend at least an hour trying to keep up with phone calls, chats, and email. High Turnover - Although I was only in the role for about a month before the cons outweighed the pros for me, I experienced a ton of inconsistent management and several people in my initial training group has resigned due to stress and anxiety-related concerns. Additionally, I heard way too many stories of people who were afraid they were going to get fired any second for taking too long of a break here, not keeping up with 3 simultaneous chats well enough, etc. In my short time there, I heard from tons of people about the high turnover rate and was really alarmed by how many people from my training group ended up leaving within the first month. False Promises - Throughout training, you're encouraged to think about the roles you want to move into after your time as a guru. You go to Zoom meeting after Zoom meeting where someone who got promoted from the guru role after 2 weeks is telling you all about their department. Then, once you get into the role, you quickly learn that rapid movement is something that's dying out - and it's now pretty much impossible to get out of the guru role even after 2+ years. I worked in sales and customer service for many years, but Shopify exudes a kind of pressure and exhaustion I have never before experienced. In a few short weeks, I lost control of my mental health - even as someone who's very active, healthy, and makes a concerted effort to prioritize my mental wellbeing. My main point here - Shopify Gurus get amazing benefits, but at a steep cost. I would absolutely NOT recommend this role for anyone who deals with anxiety.

      33 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a happy place for Gurus

      Oct 12, 2019 - Guru in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Shopify hires great people. They are an established business and the tools that they have you use are really helpful. Shopify seems like a great place to work if you're not a guru.

      Cons

      - Burnout - Lack of professional development - Everyone wants out of the guru role so there are thousands of people applying for one role, so very few chances for advancement - Misaligned goals across the company - No consistency amongst squad leads and their expectations - QA and SLs are not aligned - Did not feel supported across teams - Gurus are siloed and completely removed from the company. They are never allowed to attend company meetings (have to watch them recorded on their own time), which leaves us feeling unheard and not even part of the company - Leadership is very disconnected from the role and have no idea how hard it is now - Lots of talk about fixing things but nothing is done - 3 chats about 3 completely different problems and also business coaching = stressful - when concerns are voiced, leadership turns it around on the gurus and makes them feel guilty for the state of support (ex. we were told the queues are high because so many people were taking sick time. Maybe we should address why half of the gurus are on short term disability because of the stress of the Guru job, rather than telling Gurus to just not be stressed?) - not a fair compenstation for the work that gurus do and the stress they are under - Business Coaching expectations on all interactions without ANY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! marketing or sales training - Gurus are expected to hit a monthly sales goal that actually works out to be the guru annual salary - All the little perks that made the job bearable are slowly being removed (PD time, training time, team time, jump offs) - Remote employees vs. internal staff are treated completely differently - Internal staff have many more perks - While gurus are handling 2hour wait times on the phone, the internal staff are spending the day doing a pasta making course, which I don't really understand how that helps the company

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      This place is straight up the worst.

      Apr 19, 2019 - Customer Success Guru - Remote 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gurus are great people, you share and go through a lot of frustration and BS together so it really bonds you with your squad, especially if you have a bad unexperienced lead which is the norm.

      Cons

      Terrible. This place is terrible. Middle management and supervisors are absolutely clueless with how to properly run the support team that Shopify needs. Our concerns are dismissed always and we're made to feel like we don't know anything by people that have never done our job. The only people who stick up for gurus in the rest of support are people who were recently gurus since they know what it's like. Suggest something reasonable like adding a character/ message limit for merchants starting chats so we don't get pages of text before even connecting with the merchant during our HOUR long wait times? Nope, no way, god forbid we implement something that makes the guru job even a sliver easier when we are actively voicing where we are struggling. Stop trying to compare Shopify to other companies that are nothing like us. We support the ENTIRE internet. This isn't Rogers, or Telus where you actually have departments that know about a specific aspect of the company to help someone, so you have no business trying to tell us that we're following the norm. Pretty sure Rogers went down to 2 chats at a time also after their employees voiced concerns but noooo, not Shopify, it's basically a crime to make any kind of change that positively impacts employees and helps them with an increasingly stressful job. We're the place mat for merchants to walk all over us and if you voice that you're struggling, you're essentially told off since there's 100s of people wanting to work here (obviously oblivious to how it actually is working here). Please PLEASE read all the Glassdoor reviews before considering working here, especially for gurus. And anyone working here under a year is still probably under the impression that Shopify cares about them and they have a chance to advance. That notion will fade soon once you start seeing the patterns of how decisions are made and the lies you are fed to make you think you are working towards a larger goal. You are fed the idea that Shopify's success is your success. It is not. Shopify will use and abuse gurus to grow and once you are burnt out they are done with you. Upper management has completely lost touch with what it means to care about their employees. Last time I checked, it's normal for large companies that say they are 'progressive' to actually invest time, resources and money into their employees to try and keep them here. We've had dozens of great people quit for much better jobs in the past few months and still no one in management seems to think employee retention is necessary.

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer Guru

      Sep 25, 2018 - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home! Nice little perks! Alot of gurus out there are pretty nice! They really encourage opening your own business and give you the tools to do it (a true-win-win)! Salary and benefits are decent, but I worry for those who live in more expensive regions like Vancouver as the salary is the same everywhere for this role.

      Cons

      - In order to succeed you need to work longer than the stated 8 hours/day. I met others who have been here for a while and are always on the support channels, even on their days off because they enjoy it? Work and life balance on the surface is encouraged, but the workflow itself isn't conducive to it. - Felt like a high school popularity contest. - Training isn't as sufficient regarding time management - things are left out on how the guru system "actually" works when you are finished. - Felt that there was a lot of narcissistic personalities. Keep smiling, even if it breaks you. Having dealt with volatile merchants (and a racist or two) from around the world, we're told to paint it like flowers and suck it up. - You don't get holidays (federal and provincial) off unless you dip into your vacation time. - Staggered work hours, where it may benefit some, but working 6 days straight in a row, one day off, then another 4 straight is really not conducive to a healthy work-life balance. - Not really a "Guru" role - While you are expected to learn everything - you are also expected to make sales - appearing as a favour to the merchant, but it's really Sales, as you are "graded" every two weeks as to what you brought in to the team. And no, Gurus, even though they are the ones making a sales pitch because they are good at what they do, do not receive any commission - even if the sale itself is monumental - the managers get those credits, not the guru - even against their bi-monthly reports.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Shopify Job Seekers

    Customer Success Guru
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Success Guru - Remote
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Shopify? Share Your Experiences

    Shopify logo
    or