Shopify Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 929 of over 1,084 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
608 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work hours and good work from home support(in 67 reviews)

  • "Get to work from home, great benefits(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines(in 28 reviews)

  • "Higher ups preach "work/life harmony" (work/life balance) but you'll get side eye if you try to leave the office before 5 on a Friday(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid

      Jul 20, 2021 - Customer Success Guru 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wage and benefits are reasonable

      Cons

      This company treats Its employees like trash. I was constantly so stressed out that I had a mental breakdown and they refused my psychiatrist's conditions for me to return to work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The best workplace I've ever had!

      Jul 20, 2021 - Network Engineer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities for professional growth, great organizational culture, diversity, fair compensation good perks

      Cons

      Permanently working from home, the amenities in the offices were great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Salary

      Jul 20, 2021 - Project Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, relaxed work environment

      Cons

      Work life balance, great manager

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Big company, decent culture

      Jul 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had a good work experience! Moved on to a different role elsewhere, otherwise I would have stayed longer.

      Cons

      It felt difficult to move up in the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I feel like I finally made it

      Jul 18, 2021 - Data Scientist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Amazing mentors, leads, and directors - Folks have cared about my growth - I've learned soo so much - I'm treated respectfully - I respect The Company's leadership and The Company's mission - My compensation is competitive - I love my work

      Cons

      - Really, my only gripe involves the working-from-home culture. I'm a social person so missing out on office spaces and meeting colleagues in person has been a downer. I feel like sometimes I don't know too many people. I get that this is the format during COVID, and I appreciate how The Company committed to the digital-by-default format so as to (eventually) make it the best possible experience, but there are growing pains.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company to work for!

      Jul 17, 2021 - Technical Support Advisor in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging, rewarding, amazing company culture, wonderful perks.

      Cons

      Super high-stress, low pay for the job, and hard to move up within the company. All that said, the pros far outweigh the cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      really cool place to work

      Jul 15, 2021 - Customer Success in Toronto, PE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      really cool place to work

      Cons

      remote only, not in office which you miss

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Jul 14, 2021 - Team Lead in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company and good salary

      Cons

      Hyper growth can be hard to keep up with

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great perks

      Jul 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great perks and benefits with great growth opportunities

      Cons

      all is good but. maybe the promotion system is a bit tricky

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Company I've Ever Worked For

      Jul 13, 2021 - Technical Sourcer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - It's the only company that's ever truly valued my skillset and actually taken my feedback into consideration. - Unlimited PTO isn't just lip service. I'm going to end up taking ~5 weeks this year and that's not including Holiday's or summer Friday's (we've been given all summer Friday's off...it's great) - Remote first. No plans to return to an office (this can definitely be a Con for some people) - Business is booming. I don't worry about getting laid off. My role continues to grow as the company grows.

      Cons

      - We probably aren't paying top of market in the US. I can almost certainly get paid more working at a FAANG. I believe we're revising comp right now, but I don't have particularly high expectations. Pay certainly isn't terrible, but there's room for improvement. - Senior leadership can sometimes come across as callous when addressing employee concerns. I get it to some degree (people complaining about work from home still when we've known about it for over a year, for example), but I think they could strike a softer tone sometimes. - There's a handful of people who have been promoted into positions that they simply aren't equipped for anymore. We've scaled quickly and hired a ton of great people in the process. As a result, you sometimes have really strong teams led by really weak Managers. This has definitely contributed to some (not all) of the attrition we're seeing

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 929 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Shopify Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Shopify? Share Your Experiences

    Shopify logo
    or