Shopify Development Intern Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
11 Ratings
  1. "Amazing people and culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Back-end developer intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best internships I had. My mentor was relatable and present and the people and culture were supportive and candid.

    Cons

    Nothing really negative to say.

    Shopify2020-02-09
  2. "Amazing place to intern at!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Developer Intern in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    - Team treats you as if you are a full-time employee (work on real projects!)

    Cons

    - Compensation doesn't match Bay Area companies

    Shopify2019-11-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Developer Intern in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects, a lot of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Ottawa is really not a fun city

    Shopify2019-02-08
  4. "Great internship experience!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer Intern in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free food, - Great mentorship opportunities and ability to connect with a lot of cool people - Amazing offices - Given a lot of autonomy for personal decisions. - A strong, no bs, product that the company really believes in

    Cons

    - Experience can be heavily team dependent

    Shopify2018-02-13
  5. "Really great culture and everyone is super friendly"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    - Really friendly cooworkers and very welcoming - Great salary for a Canadian company - Free meals, booze, and snacks - Nice office - Lots of growth/new opportunities - Flex hours

    Cons

    - Feels somewhat disorganised... - The actual work isn't all that interesting compared to some other companies

    Shopify2018-01-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company but at the end of the day, it's just another company."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Developer Intern in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify

    Pros

    - great perks - lunch provided (cheap but a taxable benefit) - awesome office and work space - helpful co-workers - free booze - video games rooms to relax - good tools - not cheap with employees - potential to learn a ton on the job

    Cons

    - HQ location (Ottawa) - no centralized review process - inexperienced management - lack of transparency when it comes to performance - can feel like a cult at times - your job experience is very dependent on your team - team lead has too much power over who they manage for a company this size - lack of experienced leardership

    Continue reading
    Shopify2018-01-04
  7. "Great place to work, amazing culture! Misses at a couple places though."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Intern - Developer Intern in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify for more than a year

    Pros

    If I had to mention one thing that Shopify got right is that they know how to program their culture. While there is a bit of hero-worshipping, I have never felt more "included" in a community than ever before.

    Cons

    The food is great, the people are great, the product is great -- but at the end of the day, you're still doing web development. Being a web dev is just a generalist skill, and would fade quickly over time -- unless one tries to develop into different roles. I'd say do an internship or two here, and at most a year of full-time web dev work -- if you cannot transform into specializing anything, find a place elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2017-12-19
  8. "Recommend!"

    5.0
    Former Intern - Developer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify

    Pros

    Everyone is really nice and smart.

    Cons

    Free lunch and snacks are provided, so you'll gain a little bit of weight.

    Shopify2017-11-10
  9. "Positive experience as a developer at Waterloo office"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Developer Intern in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at Shopify

    Pros

    Friendly and smart group of people.

    Cons

    There were not many cons.

    Shopify2017-09-19
  10. "Experience really depends on team you're on"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Developer Intern in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks are great and a nice office

    Cons

    Experience really varies between teams. My team was not that great it felt I was often put on the work they didn't want to do. Did not feel like I was treated as a part of the team, but more like an outsider.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2017-07-20
Found 14 reviews