Shell "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shell Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Shell CEO Ben van Beurden
Ben van Beurden
1,729 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Loved working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Whitby, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment. Being taken care of employees

    Cons

    I do not find any cons for working in shell

    Advice to Management

    I like the management handles everything over there as compared to other brands

    Shell2019-11-19
  2. "My experience as a shell intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Good working environment Good working hours Personal space Lunch break Tea and coffee readily available Water dispenser

    Cons

    More space should be made available in the cafeteria

    Shell2020-01-02
  3. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Field Services 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shell for more than a year

    Pros

    The company pays the most out of any of the oil sands companies, and probably values safety the most. Excellent work environment.

    Cons

    Some people will 'backstab' and report an employee in order to gain some clout. However this was only a select few

    Shell2019-10-08
  4. "Value, Respect, Integrity, Diverse...I could go on and on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Royalties Accountant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive management A Country Chair that "shows up" and cares...walks the talk! Flexible working environment Awesome benefits Purpose-Driven career New Energies!

    Cons

    Offshoring of roles to shared service centres

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Shell2019-04-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Organized, good work processes, good work environment

    Cons

    Slow decision making, too many reorganizations

    Shell2019-03-30
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shell part-time

    Pros

    Good work environment, focus on development, good work-life balance

    Cons

    some HR policies, maintaining good talent

    Shell2019-03-27
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shell part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, safe working environment

    Cons

    Too many processes to follow. Paperwork.

    Shell2018-11-11
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, work environment, benefits

    Cons

    Massive staff reduction in Canada to active financial targets

    Advice to Management

    Don't let your people go and then regret saying there's no one left

    Shell2018-10-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Relaxed working environment. respect to the staff, employees and their life. Safety first attitude sometimes to an unnecessary level

    Cons

    Lack of job security, Politics in everything. non-transparent performance appraisal

    Shell2018-09-17
  10. "assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Shell

    Pros

    good work environment for everyone

    Cons

    too much busy place always

    Shell2018-01-23
Found 267 reviews