Sharp Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sharp Corporation Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
44%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Sharp Corporation CEO Katsuhiko Machida
Katsuhiko Machida
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learning opportunities, training, work on projects, product line and discounts with excellent work life balance(in 3 reviews)

  • "Great products that are very competitive(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people, good products."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sharp Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, comfortable environment. Good location. Salary is good, with the right manager, input is appreciated and talent is recognized.

    Cons

    Fear of job security due to global economy, constant layoffs and role changes. Staff works in fear of severance but management dismisses or is ignorant of the truth. Good old boys club at the top, directors in general are friends of the VP and are generally useless to their reports.

    Advice to Management

    Transparent can have two meanings, choose the correct one. Look hard at upper management, there are significant issues and multiple employees are seeking work elsewhere. Keep the talent you have by engaging them instead of driving them away. HR is useless other than basic functions an the ethics hotline is not trusted. There is nothing wrong with the truth, you need to listen.

    Sharp Corporation2013-04-12
  2. "It's obvious what is going on. Why doesn't leadership look deeper?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sharp Corporation

    Pros

    Paycheck, chair, desk, phone, free printing

    Cons

    Organizational behavior, corruption, nepotism, old boys etc..

    Advice to Management

    There are serious ongoing conflicts of interest at the VP level. The company is structured to maximize personal financial benefit for a select few. Audit!

    Sharp Corporation2013-04-26
  3. "A company with a lot of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good pay rate, relaxed about timings, once a year conference which is a lot of fun, good work events.

    Cons

    Management is unqualified for their roles, toxic masculine culture, can be racist and sexist, have to take all direction from Japan, no flexible working despite promoting it.

    Sharp Corporation2019-10-22
  4. "Logistics Manager (Importation, Warehousing and distribution)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Manager in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Organized, reliable and with clear goals.

    Cons

    Sometimes it was slow in decision making.

    Advice to Management

    Good leaders!

    Sharp Corporation2019-09-26
  5. "Sales analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sharp Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good business exposure and experiences

    Cons

    Multiple job requirements beyond job description

    Sharp Corporation2019-08-05
  6. "If you want to grow in your career and as a person run from this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VCIO in Annandale, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sharp Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers and client relations were great and the benefits decent.

    Cons

    Horrible experience. Lied about how much I could expect to make within a year in bonuses. Because of this, I lowered my base salary and then found out that for me to make the bonuses they were talking about I would have to bring in new clients on my own in addition to taking care of implementations, migrations, project management and career advancement through certifications so in essence, I needed a 40 hour day.... All of this without a dedicated team to help me other than a brilliant Sales Specialist. They were also supposedly giving me a 6 month ramp up bonus which equaled to $5k but in reality they offered me $5k less than the base that I already went down $20k from my previous job because of their "bonus structure". They wanted me to take the branch to the next level without the resources needed for me to do so and I burned out. All of this happened while they knew I was getting married which almost didn't happen because of the stress this company put in my life. I replaced someone that left me with a lot of damage control to do for our clients and never even got the full training I needed to succeed from the start. It was postponed because of a client and repostponed twice through the 6 months I was there at the end I got 2 days of a full week of training that I needed to know all the right procedures because I was so busy with clients.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie to your prospective employees about expectations and stay true to your word on what you offer. It leaves a sour taste in your mouth that is hard to overcome.

    Sharp Corporation2019-08-16
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sharp Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Big reputable brand with substantial financial backing

    Cons

    Work environment is toxic with a big boys club

    Advice to Management

    Review your management

    Sharp Corporation2019-08-04
  8. "office environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gautam Buddha Nagar
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    its has nothing for employee on timely salary

    Cons

    HR policy , office environment , and Paper is so much , technology uses ZERO for women no team to discuss their sexual harassment on workplace and cleanness in washroom etc.

    Advice to Management

    Please be transparent and bit employee friendly

    Sharp Corporation2019-05-22
  9. "Work-life balance is good, if the job is suitable for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Sharp Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Emphasizing on Compliance, Easy to use day-offs

    Cons

    Hierarchical, top-down type administrations can be seen in many divisions

    Advice to Management

    Business performance has recovered since the acquisition by Hong Hai, a Taiwanese Company

    Sharp Corporation2019-04-18
  10. "Credit Mangement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sharp Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Facilities were second to none. Everything from the Offices, Restaurant, Toilets and Car Parking facilities were absolutely spot on.

    Cons

    It was a 'jobs for the boys company'. It wasn't sustainable with people taking on roles that they were no-where near qualified, or even had the understanding to make a success of the company. Hence why the company no longer exists in Manchester.

    Advice to Management

    Management can only be sustainable if you really do 'manage'. I learnt from the management mistakes at Sharp, and although I didn't have to experience those mistakes first hand, I know run a successful;l business.

    Sharp Corporation2019-03-31
Found 83 reviews