Shane English School Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shane English School Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Getting paid on time on the 10th of every month(in 8 reviews)

  • "Maximum class sizes are 14 and you always have a TA in the room with you(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company accommodation is overpriced(in 7 reviews)

  • "If you're full-time there are a lot of training days and event days which are paid, but a pain to attend(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Shane English School part-time

    Pros

    The diversity in your client base. Good salary Not in a fixed location everyday Gets to explore other areas of Japan

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Shane English School2018-08-06
  2. Helpful (5)

    "I enjoyed working for Shane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    A lot of paid holidays, paid optional overtime, friendly students, nice supportive management

    Cons

    Little opportunity for career progression, the schools have very few resources, it got a bit boring using the same texts all the time

    Advice to Management

    More positive feedback for teachers. Chances for progression within the company. Upgrade the classrooms with internet access and more resources. But I did enjoy working here. None of these are huge problems.

    Shane English School2015-04-22
  3. "a solid intro to English teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Taipei
    Recommends

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best Shane schools are supportive environments, are well organized and have a lot of materials to assist your lessons. Shane Taiwan also always paid on time and had a vacation time scheme that allowed for a decent amount of travel time at almost any point in the year.

    Cons

    The lesson materials are mediocre at best.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in hiring people with proper experience (degrees in childhood education, for example) to write your materials. If possible, incorporate aspects of the society you're teaching in into the lesson materials.

    Shane English School2019-09-15
  4. "Great For Moving to Japan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Yokohama-shi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some great people, had a lot of freedom in lesson planning, materials not that bad for young learners, move around a lot and see different areas/stations, pay a decent wage to live and have fun, some really lovely counsellors (the ladies at the front desk of each school), pay for transportation, lots of help when moving country

    Cons

    No photocopier/printer unless visit head offices (OK if you teach at one/pass one on the way home), lack of serious professional development after initial training e.g. first observation quite late into year, very few INSETTs/trainings.

    Shane English School2019-08-26
  5. "Kindergarten Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    The kids and staff are awesome

    Cons

    Compared to other english schools the pay was low.

    Shane English School2019-08-11
  6. "Strong performance leads to more work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher 

    I worked at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    Lots of professional training

    Cons

    If you perform we, it leads to more work. If you don't do well, you aren't asked to do as much.

    Shane English School2019-08-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Your mileage may vary..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EFL Teacher in Tokyo
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid on time, supportive academic management, fairly relaxed atmosphere

    Cons

    Communication problems between teachers and Japanese staff, paid leave requests are often a lottery, lack of real bonus incentives.

    Advice to Management

    Start updating the materials, it’s 2019, not 1989.

    Shane English School2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awful! Keep away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    Absolutely, positively zero good things to say about this place.

    Cons

    Parents are conned, students don't learn more than 2 sentences per lesson, you spend 1.5hr drilling the same sentences through games (you're not allowed to move on to another topic if they already know the sentences). If you decide to leave the institution they will withhold your money and threaten you with police, immigration, etc. They are criminals and have an awful reputation in Thailand. Be very wary of working... for them. Ask around, read online reviews- they're low-paying manipulators.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close down.

    Shane English School2019-08-18
  9. "I think it's a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Tokyo
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shane English School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management is quite understanding and flexible, the students are great, the commute time to work is very short, in my case and overall I'm very happy with it.

    Cons

    If you are a very creative person and like to design your own classes it could be a bit boring, because Shane has it's own textbooks that you must use. But the books are well designed, easy to use and effective, so I don't mind using them.

    Advice to Management

    I can't think of anything.

    Shane English School2019-07-04
  10. "English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small classes and that was great.

    Cons

    I honestly cant tell you.

    Shane English School2019-05-06
Found 84 reviews