Self Made Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Self Made Marketing Reviews

Updated 6 November, 2017
14 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Flosusm Smith
3 Ratings

14 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Best decision of my career life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Oakland, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Oakland, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Self Made Marketing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I worked at Self Made Marketing for about 8 months exactly. I found their ad on CareerBuilder and decided to give it a shot and wow! What a amazing decision that was. I went through the program as a Account Manager and developed skills I never would have if I would hadn't have come across this awesome opportunity. Before, I never had sales experience, was working as an Olive Garden server hating life minute by the minute. I never had clear direction in life, did some college, decided it was not for me. Going through this program I am meeting some amazing people in the process and seeing the effect it has on my growth i just wish i would have found it sooner. My manager helped mature me into this person that when I look in the mirror, I'm happy with what I see. He gave me a opportunity that has helped set my kids for a completely better life than I would have been able to do on my own. It has to be experienced to be believed. Trust me, do not miss out- this might be the greatest decision you will make in your life.

    Cons

    The cons: If you don't have a student mentality and aren't willing to learn, then this will be a very rough road for you, and you won't go far. Nothing will be given- every single dollar will be earned, it just makes it way more sweeter in the end.

    Advice to Management

    You obviously know what you are doing, Flo. Keep it up.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Self Made Marketing full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The thing I LOVE the most about Self Made Marketing Group is that I have grown so much with in the comapany and personal as well. I have learned a lot in the past 3 years that I have been working with Mr. Flosusm Smith and his amazing team. Of course my journey has been slightly hard but I applied my self and everything that I learned in the business and my life and I can actually say that I am pretty successful for my age.

    Cons

    I wouldn't change a thing. I am the happiest I have ever been .

    Self Made Marketing Response

    6 Sep, 2017 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your kind words!


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Emeryville, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Emeryville, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Self Made Marketing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    the meetings for staff an employee's make you want to just be a better person every single day

    Cons

    Meetings start a little early so little traffic to get in

    Advice to Management

    Shoot more videos about the company so everyone can see how exciting it is here

    Self Made Marketing Response

    13 Mar, 2017 – HR Manager

    Thank you, we appreciate your feedback and will continue to do our best as a company.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great Job for Students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Self Made Marketing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love working for Self Made Marketing! What I loved most about working with the company is how much they are willing to work with my schedule due to be being a part time student. The CEO and HR manger are also very approachable to any issues that I have with balancing work and school, they are always there to give me advice and that push that I need to keep moving forward.

    Cons

    There is a lot of hard-work involved with this position, but it is something that I love to do so that is not an issue.

    Advice to Management

    The management team is amazing, they're the most understandable individuals I've ever work with.

    Self Made Marketing Response

    6 Sep, 2017 – HR Manager

    Thank You for the feedback!


  6. Helpful (3)

    "POSITIVE COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Emeryville, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Administrative in Emeryville, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoy working for self made! Self-Made is a goal oriented company, they set you up for success. Before I started working for this company I was a little confused as to what I wanted for my future, however with the help of self-made and the needed training I was able to set realistic goals. Self made focuses on growth opportunities, everyone has an equal opportunity to be successful in the company. I love my job 

    Cons

    I don't have anything bad to say about the company, positive vibes only if your a negative person you wont succeed with self made

    Advice to Management

    Office :)

    Self Made Marketing Response

    21 Oct, 2016 – HR Manager

    Thank you!


  7. Helpful (13)

    "MLM Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    It pays. Which is okay. They will also hire anyone. So if you can not get a job anywhere and just need SOMETHING, apply here.

    Cons

    This is a MLM scheme. Not a good opportunity for growth, career development, unless you want to stay in the MLM scheme.

    Advice to Management

    Stop malicious business and recruitment practices.

    Self Made Marketing Response

    6 May, 2016 – HR Manager

    The company is certainly not a MLM company. MLM is something that you pay into which no one has ever had to do with this company. It is an equal opportunity employer with a salary pay.


  8. Helpful (6)

    "Psychotherapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive, Professional Evaluator, Supervision in Amityville, NY (US)
    Current Employee - Executive, Professional Evaluator, Supervision in Amityville, NY (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Self Made Marketing (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    create job model, supervision, program planning, execution and evaluation, staff enrollment, executive overview, interpersonal relations on all levels of employment,

    Cons

    no alternative evaluations, need alternative and differential levels of feedback, inter-level, inter-position and open communication between all levels necessary for optimum success

    Advice to Management

    to balance self and other evaluations, openly elicit feedback between all levels of employment, keep open communication by written, verbal and anonymous feedback

    Self Made Marketing Response

    21 Oct, 2016 – HR Manager

    Hi,

    I am not sure if this is the right company as we are in California and only been around for 4 years.


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Self Made Marketing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Pay if you are into being a sales rep.

    Cons

    long hours on your feet

    Self Made Marketing Response

    21 Oct, 2016 – HR Manager

    Thank you!


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Enterprise Architedture and Management Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Architect and Management Consultant in Washington, DC (US)
    Current Employee - Enterprise Architect and Management Consultant in Washington, DC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Self Made Marketing (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Promoting and delivering products to clients on schedule and complying to requirements.

    Cons

    Drain of energy to continually search for engagements.

    Advice to Management

    hire me and I'll resolve your most important issues for your clients.

    Self Made Marketing Response

    21 Oct, 2016 – HR Manager

    Thank you!


  11. Helpful (4)

    "Glad I found this opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Trainer in Hayward, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Corporate Trainer in Hayward, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Self Made Marketing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity for growth and advancement, Great credible clients, A lot of bonuses and you control how much you make its Hourly plus commission last week I made $1000 and I worked only 35 hours!

    Cons

    A lot of conference calls, some last for 30 minutes others an hour 2-3 times a week. The conference calls give you a lot of info on how to grow they are great but time consuming

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do, you motivate me everyday I come to work to see someone at your age accomplish what you have and be able to help other people grow is huge. Flo always keeps it straight forward that's why I love working here!

    Self Made Marketing Response

    21 Oct, 2016 – HR Manager

    This is great to hear lets keep striving and growing!


Showing 14 of 15 reviews
Reset Filters