Screwfix Employee Reviews about "rota"

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
117 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "it isn't to bad as you do a 7am - 3pm or a 10am - 6pm if you are full time(in 17 reviews)

  • "Terrible rota management, always changing managers, 6am starts(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "rota"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "No the company it used to be"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security, good pension, staff discount, the people you work wuth

    Cons

    It does depend on what store you work in Branch managers and area managers differ massively. Unfair rotas, lack of staff, expected targets high, high staff turn over, lack of care from higher management, used to be a really nice place to work however over the last 18 months its just a money making machine at any cost staff are now just a number kingfisher are strangling the life out of it.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-03-27

    Screwfix Response

    March 30, 2020Talent Director

    Thank you for leaving a review. Colleague feedback is one of the most important things to us and our business, we actively encourage stores to let us know what's working well and what's not via the in-store feedback forums, so I am sorry if you felt that wasn't listened to. If you'd like to discuss anything in further detail you can email us on reviews@screwfix.com

  2. Helpful (2)

    "It was a great company to work for, until the Store Manager was replaced"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff are absolutely wonderful. Most of the customers are regulars that we get to know on a personal level. Screwfix really makes customer service work so easy and friendly that you feel at home when you're at work.

    Cons

    Managers change frequently, so different attitudes to get used to. Managers can be very abusive and insulting, I was told "not my problem" by my manager on whatsapp when I explained the reason why the rota change was not suitable for me on a particular day. No flexibility at all to have a life outside of work when the rota is set up even though I did not agree to the extra overtime hours. Rude and unsupportive comments when I opened up in regards to my dads new disability (complete visual impairment - blindness in both eyes) which is a very sensitive issue for me was a deal breaker for me. I could not continue working in a place like that any more.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-29
  3. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant 

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    OK pay, very good discount

    Cons

    Terrible rota management, always changing managers, 6am starts

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-28
  4. "Nightmare"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its a job I guess.

    Cons

    Where to start. I'm absolutely baffled as to how Screwfix boasts a positive Glassdoor rating on their front doors. I've worked there for a good few years now, I've seen a lot and have a good understanding on how the company works (at least at my store). The management: These are some of the most unintelligent people I've met, yet I continue to watch them get their little promotions while others are completely ignored. Negativity: Catch a shoplifter, no praise. Drive to another store to get a customers order or supplies, no praise or petrol money. Use the wrong customers account even though you did every possible check you've been asked to (its not my fault a customer knows his brother surname, address and email), discipline! Managers will constantly watch and rate you. Screwfix claim not to want robots working for them though they continually try to program us as such. No holidays for the entire month of September: yep. Hours: Expect to finish work late (8.15pm) and start early (6.45am) the following day. Rotas are a joke and tailored to the writers benefit. The customer comes first, second and third: Customers always comment on how happy we all are, guess what!? we're faking it! Personal data: Screwfix is data hungry, always talking about how much a customers data is worth to them. Customers don't even understand why we take all their details. Changeovers: A changeover is when the store front is refitted with new posters and stoke is changed. Expect to be expected to stay after work to carry this out on a Sunday with no additional pay. High ups haven't a clue: There's a constant air of "make it up as we go" about Screwfix, must be hard to figure out what to do with a dead weight like B&Q dragging the rest of the business down.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-11-08

    Screwfix Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Director

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I'm terribly sorry you've had a poor experience working here. I'd really like to look into this as this is absolutely not the behaviour we condone. If you wouldn't mind sending further details of the store you work in to reviews@screwfix.com, we can look into everything that you've said. Thanks again

  5. "Decent job, but be forewarned, the managers can be a mixed bag!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent customer base, you can have a lot of friendly banter with your regular customers. Pay is decent, and the discounts at Screwfix and B&Q are nice. There's also some decent incentives to help push sales in the stores. Can work with some great people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    Depending on the type of manager you get, you can be for a good time at work, or a horrible time. You can be in for harassment and unwelcome comments about your appearance and weight. We're constantly told by the manager that they would like to replace us all with old, semi-retired people so they can give out 4 hour shifts so they don't have to give people breaks. Management spend most the day on their personal phones taking personal phone calls. Some area managers are useless, so there will be no point going to them to raise a complaint about horrible managers. Getting recorded conversations for the most pettiest things ever. Being expected to do three things at once, we can't do it! SOTY is the biggest waste of time ever. As long as the stock is in the right location and the stock count is right, that's all that should matter. Terrible IT equipment. Have to wait ages to get anything repaired or replaced is a real inconvenience. Rotas get changed quite frequently, meaning people are unable to plan their lives, i.e. making appointments, and actually having a life.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-10-25

    Screwfix Response

    October 28, 2019Talent Director

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review but I'm sorry to hear about your experiences. I can see you're a current employee but it doesn't state which Trade Counter, however I want you to know that the cons you have listed, especially regarding management, are taken seriously, not tolerated and not what we endorse as a wider business. If you feel comfortable to do so, please contact us on reviews@screwfix.com with further information so we can look into this. Your comments will absolutely be passed on to the relevant teams but please do get in touch if you want to discuss in more depth or provide anymore feedback.

  6. "Service assistant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers made the day pass with ease. Even if they dident know what the product name they required was called this enabled a fun challenge resolving this issue together either looking through the catalogue with them or looking online. Meeting and interacting with all walks of life some who are regulars and some in and out. Dealing with the cantankerous customer enabled me to practice active listening in order to resolve their issue quickly and effectively in order to provide a great customer service. Half hour unpaid break and 2 paid 10 mins break when on a longer shift. Walking out on my last shift to go elsewhere more professional and friendly.

    Cons

    training is not what it was made out to be during the induction process . The procedure of so called reviews was questionable regarding the fact that the focus was more on the failings of not grasping certain aspects of the job role when in fact if someone is not shown how to carry out tasks then how on earth are they supposed to know unless they are shown. Being told you are responsible for your own training is all well and good but it the trainers won’t take time to oversee the training the person of course will be doing an inadequate job. People can only work with the tools given to them. The expectation and attitude that you are in the wrong for leaving work on time which is a bewildering concept when you are on a rota and comply with start and finish times. Of course it would be beneficial if you had the time back in lieu or the overtime but the reality is it’s expected for free. Who wants to work for free in this day and age in order to push sales for the higher ups who see the monetary benefits. Psychological warfare regarding the toxic atmosphere of the gossipy cliques and backstabbing if staff not present in order to defend themselves from downright nasty onslaughts of their characters in unfair assessments. This is unprofessional and reminiscent of a school playground. Management seemed to encourage this debacle. The hardworking staff put away delivery while others are standing about on phones while management stare at a computer screen half the day. Yes paperwork etc needs done but the staff who were deemed part of the clique stood around while others were doing the graft . Also when providing front of house service to customers and hearing the profanities from staff in the warehouse results in a cringeworthy atmosphere of embarrassment from customers resulting in apologising for immature unprofessional conduct. Rotas being changed on the whim of management with no prior discussion regarding staff. Holidays are a logistical minefield as upon checking the diary and requesting months in advance was refused , however that is not a problem as management can then deem it acceptable to tell you when you can take time off. Would have more chance sending the request to Santa. Changeover . Expected to stay 2 hours after closing time unpaid every few weeks . Lack of staff inventive in order to push sales. Pizza or vouchers for £20 or junk food for staff in the “ canteen” that’s not the incentive deserved for hard working service assistants while the management are more focussed on their financial bonus which more than likely barely covers the amount of unpaid overtime they do. Allocation of breaks a bit all over the place. If working at 6.30 common sense would say half hour break at 10.30 or 11 am but 12.30 was the standard for “lunch” If your face and demeanour of complying to the gossipy clique then the operation of setting someone up to fail will prevail.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-02-12

    Screwfix Response

    March 27, 2019Talent Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review and providing such detailed feedback. Sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. We have just introduced a process that will mean there is greater focus placed on the induction reviews, which are of course hugely important to any new starter. Your feedback also highlights some areas of concern in terms of the environment in the store where you worked. This is something that we would like to investigate more. If you could email reviews@screwfix.com with more details of the store in which you worked, then we can make sure that your feedback is acted upon.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Breaking the rules"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, easy work, mostly fun.

    Cons

    Management break company rules and possibly the law with some of their actions... discussing private info in open forum is common, when called on it you are ganged up on. Very poor management in place, always frantic and panicked, DO NOT instill confidence. Rotas continually changed with short notice and have often seen people rota'd for 9 consecutive days of work, one I know of was put on for 18 days in a row because the manager booked too many others out for holiday. Hiring practices possibly break the law with young people being discriminated against in favour of applications from older candidates that are considered more reliable. One branch manager would only hire "hot girls with double d's" for the Trade counter as to entice more sales from the trade customers. Another female employee who expressed interest in the Trade side told "sorry, you're not pretty enough." - By the same manager. (who ironically, has 2 daughters!) One member of staff actively trading a sexual rendezvouz for large orders... All turned a blind eye to as long as sales are up! Demoralising culture.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-02-17

    Screwfix Response

    March 27, 2019Talent Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We take reviews like this very seriously. Please could you email reviews@screwfix.com with more details including the store in which you worked, so that we can investigate this as a matter of urgency. We are sorry that your experience did not match the high standards that we aspire to.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "WORST PLACE TO WORK"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ok pay for retail & that’s the only pro

    Cons

    Working mixed shifts all week & having your shifts changed last minute. Always the same people doing the same jobs day in & day out Being made to feel unimportant Managers have a power trip Nothing is fair in the work place I’ve workee here for three years now & I’ve been made to feel like crap by every manager that’s comes in. Last year I had a health issue that this job caused & I was made to feel like a burden the whole time I was signed off. When I was allowed to start working normally I was made to feel like I was nothing in that place as I still had adjustments in place as I couldn’t do the full job due to work over pushing me & not getting others to help. Even though I’ve spoken so many times about wanting to progress in the company I’ve never been asked or told about new job roles coming up. I’ve been stuck on the same hours since I started & no one once has sat down with anyone from the team an asked if any of us wanted to progress in the company I’ve had management slate other staff memebers off to me & them do the same about me to other staff. It’s makes other staff members not like you I really wouldn’t recommended this if you wanted a career. If your a student or just starting to look for a job then maybe start out here but you’ll get no where in the ways of a career & earning good money. As for work/life balance. There isn’t any, yiu are made to work a mixture of shifts every week that you have no way to plan anything. You also don’t get your 4 weeks worth of rotas up ever & normally have two weeks up at a time an just hope you don’t need to make any plans for those weeks. If you ask inadvance about hospital appointments or to have a certain day off your told no book it as holiday even if the rota for that week is up. When I had health issues I was sent by the company for a check up & I had to book that in my own time as they would change any of my shifts even though it was for them.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-11-06

    Screwfix Response

    November 12, 2018Talent Director

    Sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would really like to discuss this further so we can look into it in more detail. Please could you email reviews@screwfix.com with your contact details so that we can get in touch with you.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t bother"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I guess the pros is you get paid

    Cons

    Awful to work for very low salary and are not flexible with working careers, rota goes up on a Friday or Saturday for the following Monday. No progress. To many clicky managers that look after there friends Catalog changes they expect all staff to go in on a Sunday when the shops shut between 4-8 if you don’t then expect a recording of conversation

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-09-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Service Assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great company * Well organised and driven * Room for progression (if you play the game)

    Cons

    * Work/life balance revolves around a 4 week rota but can change with 24 hours notice, so not really a 4 week rota * Management teams can be terrible (lazy, delegation of their own tasks, letting people get away with murder because they are friends) to the point where you have no idea how they were promoted (play the game) and they let the store fall apart * Staff morale can be low at times (management) which makes progress through the week slow (delivery put away, PI checks etc.) which all flows into the following day/week * Salary and availability of contracts (hours)

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-03-25
Found 15 reviews