Screwfix Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
117 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "it isn't to bad as you do a 7am - 3pm or a 10am - 6pm if you are full time(in 17 reviews)

  • "Terrible rota management, always changing managers, 6am starts(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time

    Pros

    Good team Good hours Good progress schemes

    Cons

    You can't be full time without being a duty manager

    Screwfix2019-10-11

    Screwfix Response

    October 14, 2019Talent Director

    Thanks for your review - our training and development schemes are great if you'd like to progress in your role, I'd advise you to speak with your manager about options

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Screwfix in a nutshell."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade+ Service Assistant in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture of screwfix is amazing, everyone works together like a big family after all you see your work colleagues (a lot of the time) more than your own family. Trade customers are one of the main reasons I am still in this company, they honestly become friends instead of customers. The pay is better than most retail jobs and even better for the younger people as we are all paid the same wage (on the same level). I owe a lot to Screwfix for giving me a chance on a small contract and seeing the potential in me. If you get a good branch manager it honestly makes life and your job within Screwfix amazing.

    Cons

    The work and life balance is hard sometimes but I imagine it being the same for most jobs. On trade+ it isn't to bad as you do a 7am - 3pm or a 10am - 6pm if you are full time. I think one of my only cons of the company is to make the pay more fair for people that are working their way up the company as it is for people coming external. Sometimes it feels like we have to jump through hoops in the company to get a promotion where if you come into the company at a management level you get given the job on a plate. In my option people are more likely to leave the company when they are management and not value the culture of the business, coming in externally because it is so hard to pick everything up in such a short amount of time.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-09-19
  3. "Poor treatment of staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time

    Pros

    -Some great people in the team -Some great customers -Staff discount in screwfix and b&q -Good amount of annual leave -The idea is good, just poorly executed in some places

    Cons

    -Poor pay for supervisors (they are expected to do the same as the assistant manager but for the same money) -Not enough staff -Rude customers -Weak management that don't have enough of a backbone to manage their staff properly -Lack of care when you're sick -Your opinion only matters if you're male -Absolutely no work/life balance, different shift pattern every week. Working full time and not allowed to take time off for appointments -Higher management have no idea what happens in their stores and judge unfairly -Unrealistic expectations. You cannot safely run a shop for 5 hours on just 2 members of staff

    Screwfix2019-05-08

    Screwfix Response

    June 3, 2019Talent Director

    Firstly, we’d like to thank you for leaving your review. We’re so sorry to hear that your experience at Screwfix did not match your expectations. We're also very concerned about what you said about treatment of staff. We strive to do the best for our people so we would welcome a chance to discuss this further with you. Please email reviews@screwfix.com to provide us with more details so we can investigate.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Really great people, and good company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Assistant in Wirral, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Usually varied shifts, so you won't get too bored. Staff discount 20% at Screwfix and B&Q. Health packages and sharesave schemes. Team vibe and staff nights out.

    Cons

    Very focussed on targets, and the hours the store gets is dictated directly by how much it sells. This means that some stores just don't have enough staff to do basic things. Depending on who the manager is your shift may not be varied, and you may be stuck on till/delivery for 8 hours which makes it so boring. Would be nice to have more praise in the position, most tasks you do are completely thankless even if you do them to a higher spec than others. As an SA you'll likely be put on a 12-hour contract if you're inflexible, and they won't usually give you above a 30 hour contract, even if you work there full time. This means that people are routinely underpaid for holidays. Other employers have it so that you build up holiday pay as you work. Contract hours should better-reflect the hours you work. For how much some people know, £8 an hour isn't enough; after working there for a while you amass a large amount of knowledge about the systems and the products. Long-term employees should be paid a higher rate than short-term ones to reflect their value to the company. Even for supervisors, £9 an hour isn't enough, and isn't a competitive salary, both amounts are hardly above minimum wage nowadays.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-01-14
  5. "Ok job no perks though and no time off for Christmas on your actual 2 days off. Under paid supervisor job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix

    Pros

    Flexible hours i guess ok when need time off

    Cons

    No diffrence in pay between supervisors even though trade plus supervisors bring in the most money for the company and have the most to do in shop but get nothing extra for it. No overtime for full time employees only to part timers.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-12-29

    Screwfix Response

    January 29, 2019Talent Director

    Thanks for your feedback, we will feed this into the relevant teams. If you want to discuss this further, let us know at reviews@screwfix.com

  6. "Really nice company to work with, never had any problems whilst there"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training, and flexibility on hours

    Cons

    Can't work overtime to get more money if you're full time

    Screwfix2018-11-27
  7. "Used to be great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be a place where they celebrated people for who they were. Now they only care about making money.

    Cons

    Not the greatest pay, and few full time contracts

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-08-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Down to the Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay as an SA is above minimum wage and on par with entry level administration work. SBS allows staff to get on first name terms with customers and streamline the service. Kingfisher, the parent company, holds an annual survey which will monitor the view of staff. This allows the staff to help improve the company. Wide range of contracts to suit your needs. Communication between sites and the Contact Centre is good.

    Cons

    Each site can vary depending on the management. Some areas expect staff to work 10 hour shifts. The wide range of hours expected on management and full time staff can be strenuous on the person and can wreak havoc on your work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-07-31
  9. "Good company, could be great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of chances for progression and with the recent introduction of the Branch Manager apprenticeship scheme the opportunities are there Great staff discount The staff are great The training is excellent, the Product Confidence and How To especially Free uniform and safety boots The area manager Steph for Area 27 is very good and cares about her staff

    Cons

    Low available hours in the store means you are often short staff and then your Area Managers wonder why you have missed targets or not gotten any rebrands. More full time staff needed in all stores rather than all part timers Branch managers not leading by example, for example being late or one rule for the store manager and one for other staff and management. More support from Branch Managers, less micromanaging Sunday Hours on Bank Holidays would be ideal rather than 0700-2000 Can be hard to have a social life with the early or late shift option

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-06-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales assistant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Assistant in Weston-super-Mare, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pension plan - Flexible hours - Overtime available

    Cons

    - 0 hour contract - No full time contracts available - Customers are not always the friendliness

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2017-12-30
Found 17 reviews