Scotiabank "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Scotiabank Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 30 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
1,369 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance was sometimes tough, but that might vary by department(in 91 reviews)

  • "Long hours when steering committee meetings came close(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Unique and Exciting Team to be apart of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Coordinator, Hockey Sponsorship in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great opportunity to help support a large and exciting Hockey Portfolio - Collaborative work environment - Many mentorship opportunities - Many driven and outside of the box thinkers on the team - A very unique objective that is strongly supported by the overall bank

    Cons

    - Better alignment between what all the teams are working on could be improved in order to foster more brainstorming within the team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on creating that great culture that you have established!

    Scotiabank2019-11-21
  2. "Compliance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Work environment manager system job

    Cons

    More or less possible accurate

    Scotiabank2019-11-30
  3. "good place to work and improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank

    Pros

    helpful colleagues and good working environment

    Cons

    no downsides up until now

    Scotiabank2019-11-16
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've been at Scotiabank in the downtown head office for a number of years, and it is a great place to work. - Lots of opportunity to take on extra work and grow professionally - Good benefits, vacation, personal days, etc - Strongly promotes a diverse and inclusive work environment

    Cons

    - Cost and resourcing constraints can be challenging

    Scotiabank2019-11-10
  5. "retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Retail Credit Risk Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay and good working environment, people are really friendly

    Cons

    performance guided, might be busy

    Scotiabank2019-10-08
  6. "Overworked and underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Hamilton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Good benefits package.

    Cons

    No appreciation. Unrealistic goals. You have to stay late every night if you want to reach your goals. Below average pay for stress and work load.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees and all the hard work they do.

    Scotiabank2019-10-08
  7. "Credit Risk python developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Software Developer 

    I have been working at Scotiabank

    Pros

    * Professional Working environment * Good pay

    Cons

    * Bureaucracy * Strict hours * Failure to be upfront about on going issues

    Scotiabank2019-09-22
  8. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at a bank looks good on resume

    Cons

    -Awful management -Awful hiring process, all done online, first time I actually went to the bank and met my managers was on my first day -Toxic work environment

    Advice to Management

    Put yourself in the shoes of those in customer service roles

    Scotiabank2019-10-22
  9. "Initial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment, flexible hours, interesting projects

    Cons

    Small team and tight deadlines

    Scotiabank2019-09-01
  10. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Officer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent working environment, work life balance

    Cons

    Not many promotion opportunities

    Scotiabank2019-08-29
Found 237 reviews