Scotiabank "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Scotiabank Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3042 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
1107 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance was sometimes tough, but that might vary by department(in 83 reviews)

  • "Very long hours, HR is not very helpful(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Scotiabank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, great people, career opportunities, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Short training period. Working experience could be very different depending on which branch you're working at, but I believe this applies to other retail jobs as well.

    Advice to Management

    More technological innovations needed.

    Scotiabank2019-06-06
  2. "Customer Representation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good training, well to do people that you work with. Give good advise for future career.

    Cons

    Some customers can be diffacult

    Scotiabank2019-04-12
  3. "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Limited opportunities. All about who knows you.

    Scotiabank2019-04-26
  4. "Awesome place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    great people, great culture, greta benefits

    Cons

    long hours, politics, manager dependant

    Scotiabank2019-04-09
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Great people, nice environment, moderate benefits

    Cons

    Low Salary, commute, not much career opportunity

    Scotiabank2019-03-05
  6. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    good work culture and great people

    Cons

    different teams use different technology

    Scotiabank2019-01-25
  7. "Great place to launch career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, I have learned a lot and I genuinely enjoy coming to work every day

    Cons

    Depending on the department, economic outlook and due to structural rigidity, there is sometimes not a ton of opportunity for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, just be sure to recognize and promote potential.

    Scotiabank2019-01-09
  8. "Application Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Great people you work with Location

    Cons

    Not compensated enough for your role

    Advice to Management

    Create more opportunity to grow

    Scotiabank2019-01-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Shareholders first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    There are some really great people in the organization. I enjoyed working with the teams, helping clients succeed, and finding new ways to solve problems.

    Cons

    I loved working here for a long time and was very loyal to the brand. Felt in the first part of my career that customers and employees were important and respected. Worked hard and was committed to the job as I believed in our organization and what we did. Over the last few years saw behaviours of senior leadership deteriorate to the point that staff were openly chastised and humiliated in public settings. Changes...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give your leaders/managers opportunity to make real decisions. Stop micromanaging. Stop the humiliation tactics and unhealthy competition, encourage healthy competition and true collaboration. Treat people as human beings not commodities. Encourage leaders to challenge and create new ways. Support your teams.

    Scotiabank2019-01-23
  10. "Great as a student - to much sales focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank part-time

    Pros

    Great people Positive environment to work in Good benefits & pay

    Cons

    Focused highly on sales targets

    Scotiabank2018-12-06
Found 3042 reviews