Scotiabank Senior Financial Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Scotiabank Senior Financial Advisor Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
23 Ratings
  1. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very relaxed environment to work in

    Cons

    service goals are a little high

    Scotiabank2019-08-08
  2. "Awsome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture at work, great training, great retirement options

    Cons

    High stress and long hours

    Advice to Management

    Reduce sales pressure to improve employee satisfaction

    Scotiabank2019-07-31
  3. "Great role to gain real life experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    involved in the community, working in a team, dealing with people on day to day basis can be very rewarding.

    Cons

    a lot of paper work, compares to top banks technology and systems still need a lot of wok, big focus on sales goals, high sales goals. Can be very stressful job, environment every unstable, high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Focus on career development. Increase pay as job/role very demanding.

    Scotiabank2019-07-28
  4. "Need improved training programs for employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Charlottetown, PE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to proceed further in career if you can meet your targets.

    Cons

    Very inefficient training programs for financial advisor jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Please improve your training programs.

    Scotiabank2019-08-06
  5. "Average and competitive with Canadian Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonuses are considerable based on role and seniority It's extremely international so languages are useful

    Cons

    The pension plans are changing, like in most companies

    Advice to Management

    Retirement benefits should be improved

    Scotiabank2019-07-22
  6. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can move anywhere in the country Good Employees

    Cons

    Office Politics Unrealistic Goals They do not promote from within Leadership Courses have more than a year of waiting list

    Advice to Management

    Identify Emerging Leaders and ensure they are nurtured appropriately

    Scotiabank2019-06-03
  7. "Friendly work environment with room for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees, customers, and competitive pay

    Cons

    Large targets, stressful, and infrequent bonuses.

    Scotiabank2019-05-29
  8. "Senior Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good teams to work with. Good coaching. Growth environment.

    Cons

    High demand to achieve goals week over week.

    Advice to Management

    Better compensation structure which can lock bonuses into quarters that focus on all activities.

    Scotiabank2019-03-23
  9. "Senior Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Edmonton, AB
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay for sure. Makes it hard for me to leave Scotiabank and explore other banks. I'm fortunate to still be part of the Hybrid Pension plan with DB and DC. New Hires are now just purely DC. They know how to give recognition who deserves it and worthy of promoting. I'm the living proof that as long as you are highly knowledgeable with what you do and you have good communication skills, meaning good in oral and written...

    Show More

    Cons

    Scotiabank keeps hiring people who lacks proper english communication skills. I often get clients complaining to me about their experience with a different financial advisor because of their poor communication skills.

    Advice to Management

    Recruitment Team should up their game, and hire better candidates based on situational cases. They keep hiring trashy financial advisors.

    Scotiabank2019-02-26
  10. "Always been good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Williams Lake, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, rewarding, appreciated, moved up quickly, achievements are acknowledged

    Cons

    Behind the times, technology in the stone age,

    Advice to Management

    Be more team oriented in sales approach

    Scotiabank2019-01-08
Found 35 reviews