Scotiabank Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Scotiabank Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3047 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
1107 Ratings
  1. "Need improved training programs for employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Charlottetown, PE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to proceed further in career if you can meet your targets.

    Cons

    Very inefficient training programs for financial advisor jobs.

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-08-06
  2. "This is great entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Scarborough, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sales Targets are not difficult to hit You will become much better with interacting with customer

    Cons

    system is hard to navigate

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-07-19
  3. "repossession enforcement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Repossession Enforcement Officer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of job opportunity, great culture

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-07-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worked for 1 year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Representative in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, work environment

    Cons

    Frequent restructuring and layoffs, management heavy hiring

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-07-30
  5. "Great experience and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working here! Great culture and team

    Cons

    Wish I could have stayed longer!

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-07-16
  6. "Will never recommend it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you like productions support and drain away your career, then this is your jam.

    Cons

    The environment is nowhere even near other companies. Discourage learning and new technologies. Zero job security and downsizing is a common event at Scotia.

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-08-22
  7. "Success as an Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Coaches that come into branches to work one on one with advisors and strengthen skills - My branch environment was excellent. Lots of great people. - healthy amount of competition.

    Cons

    - numbers, numbers, numbers. If you dont have your numbers, you're no good to the company. - management in branches has poor leadership skills. People get bumped up very easily and they may not be a good fit for that particular role. - advisor support lines are ridiculously slow. You have to be passed around to get to where you need to be This role consists of constant emails and voicemails. Clients always come first. They dont care if you're on vacation or sick. They need their job done. So, if you're looking for a role like this, be prepared for that!

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-07-16
  8. "Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Portfolio Analyst 

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Job stability Internal job postings Work/life balance

    Cons

    Micromanagement Lack of responsibility given at lower levels

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-07-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have some cool people working with me and always make my days

    Cons

    No company communication (about change or some update)

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-07-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of change, no clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    There are lots of opportunities if you want to work for a bank.

    Cons

    There seems to be a desire to more rapidly change with the market, but it is not focused change, it seems to be changing for the sake of it.

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-07-27
Found 3047 reviews