Scotiabank Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Scotiabank Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3042 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
1107 Ratings
  1. "Awsome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture at work, great training, great retirement options

    Cons

    High stress and long hours

    Advice to Management

    Reduce sales pressure to improve employee satisfaction

    Scotiabank2019-07-31
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, location, employees, technology, great people

    Cons

    low salary, do not promote from within

    Advice to Management

    promote employees, and loyalty

    Scotiabank2019-07-31
  3. "Management at Senior less than great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Leader in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people t work level

    Cons

    management style at senior level

    Scotiabank2019-08-14
  4. "It is great if you get into right team otherwise it’s very old technology."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Flexible timings. Easy going place.

    Cons

    Really old technologies not efficiently managed. I had to wait for month just to get a laptop. Not sure if they don’t care about team members or just want to treat them as slaves.

    Advice to Management

    Make changes often, don’t keep same team for more than year otherwise it will be pain to deal with when someone leaves company.

    Scotiabank2019-07-30
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior AML/ATF Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexible working hours -opportunity for growth -fair pay

    Cons

    -not many locations locally mostly downtown

    Scotiabank2019-07-29
  6. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great place to work with.

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Scotiabank2019-07-29
  7. ""they want to be better but seem to not do anything to get better""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, GPS in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    competitive salary decent culture low expectations Decent salary low expectations decent culture. Young and willing to work

    Cons

    too many associates that dont really add value Dont quite have direction lack expectations

    Advice to Management

    I suggest you figure out what you want to do and "do it" for longer than 6 weeks before you determine that it isnt working. tighten up hiring process.

    Scotiabank2019-08-13
  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Nice workplace infrastructure Flexible hours

    Cons

    Promotion can take longer than competitors

    Scotiabank2019-08-12
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    strive for achievement culture foster learning and growing opportunity

    Cons

    need to be a bit more agile(?)

    Scotiabank2019-07-28
  10. "Great role to gain real life experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    involved in the community, working in a team, dealing with people on day to day basis can be very rewarding.

    Cons

    a lot of paper work, compares to top banks technology and systems still need a lot of wok, big focus on sales goals, high sales goals. Can be very stressful job, environment every unstable, high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Focus on career development. Increase pay as job/role very demanding.

    Scotiabank2019-07-28
Found 3042 reviews