Scotiabank Financial Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Scotiabank Financial Analyst Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
5 Ratings
  1. "Incredible experience for a co-op student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank for less than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing atmosphere, great people, managers focus on personal development

    Cons

    - Located in downtown Toronto, may not be a con for everyone, but sometimes it can get crowded or long waits for elevators

    Scotiabank2012-12-10
  2. "Financial Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Analyst, Financial Engineering Co-op Student 

    I worked at Scotiabank for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work on many different tasks in different languages People are nice and willing to help

    Cons

    Low workload I spent a month doing nothing because I did not have access to our databases.

    Scotiabank2019-06-27
  3. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    faced paced, friendly colleagues,

    Cons

    Repetitive work, boring work sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Rotation in roles

    Scotiabank2019-03-04
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Scotiabank for less than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to financial services

    Cons

    Not alot of challenging work

    Scotiabank2018-11-24
  5. "Commercial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, good culture and good co workers

    Cons

    working during weekends, working under pressure

    Advice to Management

    xxxx

    Scotiabank2018-11-16
  6. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and culture. Snacks and drinks are provided. Really nice teamwork and different opportunities to work with different projects and teams.

    Cons

    Need to offer more training opportunities to contractors. Sometimes treat them in a different way with full time employees, especially faced with opportunities. Don't let contractors feel like they are seasonal. Please provide more care.

    Advice to Management

    Construct goals in a more strategic way may be wise.

    Scotiabank2018-04-15
  7. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Scotiabank for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and a wonderful company

    Cons

    More work from home should be encouraged because of the commute time.

    Scotiabank2018-02-13
  8. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Severely underpaid, Scotiabank pays 90% of market rate, so 90% of what TD/BMO/RBC/CIBC would pay for the same position

    Scotiabank2017-07-19
  9. "Good place to learn starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Pleasant atmosphere - Not a lot of overtime (at least on my team) - Reasonable salary

    Cons

    - Progression appears to be slow. - Company appears to have a strong preference for hiring people on contract whose chances of landing a permanent role can be slim. - Some of the systems are outdated.

    Advice to Management

    If you don't want to see good people leave, then try to allocate more resources to converting contractors into permanent roles within a reasonable timeframe.

    Scotiabank2017-03-03
  10. "Senior Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work / life balance, given the ability to work from home. Great people to work with, very knowledgeable.

    Cons

    internal changes within company give rising concern to job security. too much emphases on cost cutting and not on growth initiatives.

    Advice to Management

    hiring freezes do not allow your employees a chance for career advancement within the company

    Scotiabank2016-04-04
Found 19 reviews