Scotiabank Director Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Scotiabank Director Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
36 Ratings
  1. "Constantly being challenged with stretch assignments. Perform well, and you advance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A large organization with many routes for career progression.

    Cons

    Technology need to be upgraded

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2018-08-15
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multi cultural environment if you so fancy

    Cons

    Work long hours, sub-par compensation

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-08-15
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Global bank a lots of opportunities across the country and globally

    Cons

    Internal politics not always the best support . Depends on which team you fall

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-08-16
  4. "Corporate Banking Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good learning opportunity to get introduced to credit lending

    Cons

    Unfair opportunity for different level of work

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-06-10
  5. "fine place to work without growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good opportunities for external staff

    Cons

    no growth , constant change , bad management

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-05-29
  6. Helpful (5)

    "My worst job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Director in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Probably the only thing I can think is there are very good few professionals that really want to make a change. However there is a huge lack of empowerment.

    Cons

    Where to start? I was hire with very high expectations about my role, upper management said to me that their objective was to change how HR was helping our employees and how important it was the change. Since I joined I saw a terrible lack of empowerment at every level, people just don’t take decisions because they are afraid of having not support. The IT tools inside are way to old and complicated, I was never able to have a cell phone that worked and I was a having a Director role, my onboarding was terrible and at the end they let me go because the project I was hired for did not happen at all due to a lack of planning and budget issues they did not plan. I can say for sure this is the worst experience in my 20 years of career.

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-02-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Account director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Vision (if we can achieve it), senior executive leadership and some good SVPs, global

    Cons

    Very political and game players are rewarded at lower levels--politics over quality of work. Some bad sneaky people (former steven Harper staffers who are weak and terrible communicators but good at being sneaky, playing politics and back stab their bosses and peers). --too many layers and weak people managers. Unprofessional and wasteful. A good stock to short if they don't clean up the weak people and execute. Quality over game playing should rule.

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2019-01-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employee share program was enhanced

    Cons

    Retireeflex benefits being eliminated, pension changes are hurting employees, culture has changed to focus on profit and expense management. No engagement for employees as the company values international and external talent.

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2018-12-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very strong work ethic. People generally get along really well. Would suggest this is one of the least political environments I have worked in.

    Cons

    Process and systems support create a lot of unnecessary spin.

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2018-10-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "17 yr veteran"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, difficult to progress based on merit (more based on business need)

    Continue reading
    Scotiabank2018-09-27
Found 66 reviews