Scotiabank Bank Teller Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Scotiabank Bank Teller Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
6 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Professional and supportive team - Hours are very accommodating, allowing me to balance part-time work and full-time school - Opportunities for internal transfers

    Cons

    - Mandatory unpaid breaks for shifts in excess of 5 hours. Breaks should be paid. - Lower pay in general in comparison to other banks.

    Advice to Management

    - Consider better compensating your front-line. Our job is a major responsibility and can be quite stressful at times. - Continue to work on developing a customer-centric focus.

    Scotiabank2019-02-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Below average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff rate, staff accounts, great team work environment, opportunities to learn new things, some benefits, annual bonus

    Cons

    Very little pay for such a high stress and high responsibility position. Lack of sufficient opportunities for career advancement. The department is almost always short-staffed which leads to a highly inconsistent lunch schedule and a total lack of breaks. Highly stressful training process, which felt more like a survival of the fittest challenge. Very outdated technology and problematic communication between branches...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting support staff positions. Be honest with your subordinates about work expectations and objectives. Strive for a long term efficiency. Give full time positions and promotions to your most loyal and performing staff members. If nothing above is done, the talent will flee.

    Scotiabank2018-12-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Toronto, PE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, attractive benefits free parking Friday party

    Cons

    No room for advancement, they hire people from the outside, no bonus

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of them

    Scotiabank2018-02-17
  4. "good company to work with and for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Sherwood Park, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank for more than a year

    Pros

    room to grow with opportunities to take courses and advance your position and knowledge, management encouraged this for their staff members.

    Cons

    full time positions are not available unless you are management

    Scotiabank2017-10-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bank Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Starting Salary for an entry level position, lots of support from the Branch Manager and lots of opportunities within the bank

    Cons

    No Cons as such.

    Advice to Management

    Fair hiring Practices for all positions, and avoid nepotism. Give a fair chance tp students from all school, grit is more valuable than talent.

    Scotiabank2017-08-24
  6. "Same as any bank that is in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job and salary for someone with little or no experience.

    Cons

    Very structured and rigid environment. For someone who likes freedom and flexibility, do not work in a bank.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the feedback from employees, there are many inefficient processes.

    Scotiabank2017-08-23
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Worst place I have ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Kamloops, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank

    Pros

    Flexible hours for students, and reasonable pay.

    Cons

    They would switch my schedule the day before a shift without letting me know and then if I missed the shift because I was unaware I had one they wouldn't call me to let me know until 5 minutes before the scheduled shift would end. Convoluted phone system made it impossible to contact and ask when shifts were, also made it practically impossible to call in sick. Part-time employees treated like dirt, as a student I was...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more financial advisors. Let people know about schedule changes, phone or otherwise. Hire a more competent management team. Take more care with the needs of your staff and encourage them to grow rather than cut them down at every opportunity.

    Scotiabank2017-04-07
  8. "Bank Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank

    Pros

    Training is good, great hours, very flexible for my family, benefits, don't have to work weekends. Very loyal customer base and friendly co workers.

    Cons

    Sometimes a big problem with internal communications. The call centre has very inconsistent service. Some days are over an hour on hold for help.

    Scotiabank2016-11-30
  9. "Bank Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bank Teller in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Scotiabank

      Pros

      Co-workers at my branch were always willing to help, were very supportive and receptive of employee needs.

      Cons

      It's unavoidable to have times when you'd be unbalanced at the end of the day. That can force you to stay around an hour after work just to figure out why.

      Scotiabank2016-10-19
    • "Good company culture and well known brand"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Bank Teller in Toronto, ON

        I worked at Scotiabank

        Pros

        - Great culture - Well know brand - Rapidly expanding - Good learning opportunities

        Cons

        - Can be a bit bureaucratic but that is the nature of a lot of banks - Nothing else...great organization

        Advice to Management

        Listen to employees and take feedback into consideration

        Scotiabank2016-08-30
      Found 18 reviews