Schoology Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Schoology Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Schoology Co-Founder and CEO Jeremy Friedman
Jeremy Friedman
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "They provide unlimited PTO and have an open policy about working from home(in 6 reviews)

  • "There is a good commission plan and great work life balance(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains with abrupt and sometimes disruptive changes(in 6 reviews)

  • "Ever wonder why they won't offer industry-standard matching 401k contributions, despite its tens of millions in funding(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great company destined to disappear under another company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schoology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People - Fair pay - Work-from-home policy - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Some management bullying - No 401K matching

    Continue reading
    Schoology2019-10-25
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - QA Engineer 

    I have been working at Schoology full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly collaborative environment, Everyone is positive

    Cons

    Sometimes wish it was easier to move up

    Schoology2019-10-21
  3. "Too much change*"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schoology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great vision and product in the education space

    Cons

    constant change and not much room for growth

    Schoology2019-10-30
  4. "Mission-based edTech company that's doing business right..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schoology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Schoology is a mission-based company with a culture that's very well balanced. The balance comes from us being mission-based but also because we're aVC/PE backed, for-profit company. We have a pragmatic, experienced leadership team that's always available and open (office hours) to connect. This is also a co-founder led company which helps us stay true to our mission.

    Cons

    Perhaps not enough resources to do more?

    Continue reading
    Schoology2019-09-26
  5. "Great company that is always learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schoology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The employees truly want to improve K-12 education - Everyone is open to new ideas and innovative ways to solve problems - The culture is fantastic. Every is friendly, open, and honest with each

    Cons

    The same "cons" as every other company: - Sometimes we can get analysis paralysis before making a decision - K-12 is a slow moving market compared to other industries. That can be frustrating for a fast moving company

    Continue reading
    Schoology2019-09-19
  6. "Awesome people working towards a great mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schoology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Dedicated employees focused on the mission of our company: Advancing what's possible in education - Fun work environment: my colleagues make every day fun! I love coming to work! - Fantastic customers: our customer base is the most dedicated and enthusiastic I have ever worked with

    Cons

    - Change of a growing company can be difficult for employees to manage

    Continue reading
    Schoology2019-09-19
  7. "Great company! Great mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schoology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work and grow your career. There are always opportunities for professional development and training. The refrigerator is always stocked with Freshdirect.

    Cons

    The office is located above Penn Station which means it can be crowded at certain times of the day.

    Continue reading
    Schoology2019-09-17
  8. "An EdTech company that really cares about the Ed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schoology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +Culture and commitment - Schoology wants to get it right for schools and school systems and they understand that doing that means getting it right for students, parents, teachers, and administrators + Employees - Smart folks who are open and welcoming to new team members, diverse ideas, and new information + Management is engaged in active dialogue with employees and staff which further supports the culture + Lots of perks AND WOW! What an amazing customer base - the true testament to the company is how the users of Schoology are avid fans and users - teachers and administrators are making the difference in the lives of students and with everyone moving in that direction, it is an exciting place to work!

    Cons

    I would hate to say it is perfect because no one would believe that, but I am struggling to write something here. Having come from a company where I would run out of space in this category, I just want to say that an interview with the folks who work here would confirm if this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Schoology2019-08-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worked at other NYC "best places"..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Enablement Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schoology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ... and this place is better! All the standard start-up perks of course - stocked kitchen, cold brew coffee, beer on tap, pool table, cornhole, video and board games that people actually take advantage of, company gatherings, etc... Unlimited PTO and flexible work hours that are actually encouraged you take advantage of But what separates Schoology from the sea of tech start-ups in NYC is an Exec Team that genuinely cares about its people. They are all open and friendly and take any and all concerns seriously and proactively try to fix. They all care about your development while you are here and there are increasingly more professional development opportunities that simply do not exist for a company of this size anywhere else.

    Cons

    Since we are K-12 focused, we have a great deal of former educators that transition from the classroom to working here. While I think this is actually a tremendous pro, sometime the lack of start-up experience leads to a few pitfalls in understanding the rapid changing environment of a start-up... especially in sales.

    Continue reading
    Schoology2019-07-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of great people and a great product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schoology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - A lot of friendly people to work with across all departments - A great office space and location - Fairly mission driven, although that may be starting to waver slightly -PTO policy is great and actually recommended to be used

    Cons

    - A lot of turnover in some departments - Market has been somewhat saturated, need to better develop secondary products to grow

    Continue reading
    Schoology2019-07-10
Found 66 reviews