Schnitzer Steel Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 233 of over 235 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Schnitzer Steel Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer Tamara L. Lundgren
Tamara L. Lundgren
124 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good benefits, fast paced environment(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great people, motivivating, care about safety(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management told me just to hire new people and replace them(in 9 reviews)

  • "Long hours no time for family life(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Bravo!

      Dec 16, 2021 - Senior Finance Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent company with great work life balance. People are treated well and respected. Schnitzer worked very hard on creating a good environment.

      Cons

      Continue to listen to your front line workers. They make the engine go.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Typical Blue Collar

      Jan 20, 2021 - Office Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots to do, and certainly not boring.

      Cons

      Diversity & Inclusion training and policy is non existent

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      good place to work at

      Mar 23, 2020 - Production Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good management and support staff

      Cons

      outside work winter and summer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible management

      Mar 16, 2020 - Customer Sales Representative in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome people to work with on the sales floor

      Cons

      Terrible management Customers are extremely abusive and get away with everything You are not respected as a person

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Schnitzer Steel Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and feedback is such an important piece.

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Cheated out of overtime in sweatshop...

      Feb 9, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard to write any... bad to worse as more is revealed...

      Cons

      Wow... just cheated out of overtime for the first time...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Completely terrible.

      Jun 10, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are absolutely none, barring the fact that my bills were paid... and even then, it was occasionally a stretch.

      Cons

      Low pay, poor management, favoritism shown to relatives of the boss. Sexual harassment is blamed on the person being harassed, and when sexual assault by a co-worker occurred, I was told I could lose my job over reporting it to higher ups, as relationships between employees were forbidden! I watched management encourage staff to lie to HR and make complaints about coworkers in order to get them fired for no reason other than the manager didn't like them, and didn't want to pay severance. To top it all off, I worked there for nine years. When I quit, they sent out an email on my last day thanking me for four years of hard work. What was I doing for the other five years, twiddling my thumbs?

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      great company

      Aug 31, 2015 - Production Manager in Richmond, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      one of the best health and safety programs that you will ever see from a large company

      Cons

      when management makes changes they seem to want it done YESTERDAY. SLOW down a little bit when you change things and your employees wont get so edgy..

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The complete worst experience

      Jun 14, 2015 - Supervisor in Surrey, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Location, normal salary, you can survive.

      Cons

      At the lower level , you are just a worker which would be used up by your employer. if you really care about your work, you will end up hating yourself or your environment, they put a non educated person responsible for a very high educated crowd because he was the most corporate washed of all. They spent 45-50 million dollars on a plant in canada without going through the financial studies good enough before committing to this investment, hence the plant worked for 2 years and they wasted time off many professionals just to close down the plant after two years. The moral was so low at this place specially at mid level management. you could not trust your mid level manager with a piece of information about your life , only in one day the general manager would know about it.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Miss Management

      May 20, 2015 - Baler in Surrey, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Yes they do advance you up the ladder and put you onto different machines with some training, and there may or may not be a bonus for all the work you do. Limited advancement but there is some.

      Cons

      As echoed in a lot of reviews , management takes a one day course on how to manage the employees and relies on ongoing experience to continue the education. This is stupid. Advancement depends a lot on whose buddy you are. I am fine with being laid off however the lower seniority people making far less retain their jobs and they have far less safety and diligence in doing the work and will have a stronger chance of being injured. Just an accident waiting to happen. Not a healthy place to work. Too much talk of safety and slowing down and non verbal communication that contradicts what you are told. Bottom line : not a safe work environment , and stress levels are high.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Waisted money and time in Canada

      Feb 24, 2015 - Truck Driver in Fort McMurray, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros are for their competitors. They get to employ all the expirinced ex schnitzer employees as they expand where schnitzer shrivels.

      Cons

      In one year I worked under 4 managers and 5 assistant managers. I was trying to move to the area that we worked in but couldn't get a wage that would sustain even rent in Ft MacMurray. They made no benefit for me to move there, even though my offer would save them 2000$ a month in expenses. I quit because I only spent 14 days in my own bed that year. The rest was time spent away from family. One of their core values. We moved an average of 5000 tons per month now the numbers are 2000 tons per month and the latest I've herd is they are pulling out. Poor management from top to bottom in Canada. And even poorer direction from the American dictator ship that has hamstrung the company's they bought with terrible direction and changes to a system that worked.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 233 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Schnitzer Steel Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Schnitzer Steel? Share Your Experiences

    Schnitzer Steel logo
    or