Schneider Electric Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Schneider Electric Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Schneider Electric CEO Jean-Pascal Tricoire
Jean-Pascal Tricoire
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is sometimes challenging(in 125 reviews)

  • "No Cons I have come across so far in my journey of a year(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider Electric full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing Environment. Leaders are approachable and down to earth. As an HRBP we have a lot of support from our Global Parent Organization to foster Well being, collaboration and a flat organization. We work hard on initiatives to bring recent grads, develop our people and ensure fairness in the workplace and it has paid off.

    Cons

    Not a lot to say in here. I enjoy coming to work to SE.

    Schneider Electric2019-08-22
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible time, good working environment

    Cons

    Complex organization and sometimes redundant teams

    Schneider Electric2019-09-02
  3. "Below average company for IT people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schneider Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Parks and in-house canteen.

    Cons

    Software engineers are treated as 2nd generation citizens as they work on the add-ons features for the company.

    Schneider Electric2019-09-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Big company with lots of overhead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schneider Electric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Got to work on interesting products/technologies -good insurance plan

    Cons

    Very political. Sometime technical decisions are taken without consulting the persons who are most knowledgeable about said technology. Tend to treat people as a number.

    Schneider Electric2019-08-22
  5. "Permanent employee - 5 years of service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Instructor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - High salary - 37.5 hours / week - Free electric vehicle charging stations - Good company benefits (RRSP 5% match, stock ownership, health care benefit, free mobile device with data) - Start with 19-day paid-time off (PTO). - Flexible hours and telecommuting depending on job and supervisor - Great employees at DDO office.

    Cons

    - Seniority rules. If you work with older people, they'll dump all the workload on you while they collect paycheck. It's not true for all cases, but for many. - Do more, with less. While the company's stock is at all-time high ($70 EU), the company expects you to do more, while reducing cost, providing no career development opportunities, and no traveling unless billable. - Company promotes continuous improvement... and education. I have been working at the company for 5 years as an instructor. No opportunities for career development. Company won't pay for education either.

    Show More
    Schneider Electric2019-07-25
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good environment, great benefits (flexible work arrangements), global company with many opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    None that I can think of as of now.

    Schneider Electric2019-07-22
  7. "Big turn around, perfect for competitive employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Administrator in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Schneider Electric full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, good work/life balance in the office

    Cons

    Little work/life balance for technicians, job promotion doesn't translate into better pay.

    Advice to Management

    Build on what you have while you still have something to build on.

    Schneider Electric2019-06-11
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Awful management that only wants to hear "yes""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schneider Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very interesting work and opportunities to travel due to the large global footprint. If you have the drive there are always people to reach out to and ways to learn and improve yourself.

    Cons

    Awful managers who make technical decisions with outdated or no experience. Sexism, racism and hiring friends/girlfriends are all things that were tolerated and done by managers and HR over the last year I was in the Montreal office at 7262 Rue Marconi. White males who agree with them are considered high performers especially if they're native Quebec.

    Advice to Management

    Glad many of you have quit or been fired, but there's still plenty to go! The majority of you should never be managers again as you treat people horribly.

    Schneider Electric2019-06-07
  9. "Schneider Electric (Global not my local workplace)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    VERY long lasting company with strong values (energy efficiency, environment friendly, gender/culture equity, etc.). Amazing oportunities (different career development paths & tools, HR/IT/learning/etc supports, relocation worlwide, ...).

    Cons

    Working in a 7 years-old acquisition site, the spirit and culture of the global organization is not really represented as it should. My ratings are more related to the overall group rather than specific to my working site.

    Advice to Management

    Carefully ensure all employees/contractors/collaborators/acquired organizations are soaked into SE culture, history, spirit in order to be succesful with the onboarding and long term profitable relationship.

    Schneider Electric2019-05-04
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Automation Engineer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Schneider Electric full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Learning Tools Travel Opportunity Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Salary & Travel Compensation Development Plans

    Schneider Electric2019-04-23
Found 119 reviews