Sandvine Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sandvine Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Sandvine CEO Lyn Cantor
Lyn Cantor
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, drinks, cab for late evening drop home(in 27 reviews)

  • "The company is full of smart people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Things are getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, free food and beer if that's your thing, fun events going on in the office. Lot's of opportunities to learn and work on innovative things. Things were definitely worse a year ago but the culture has been improving. Seems as though the dust has settled and people are happier.

    Cons

    Communication can be lacking, sometimes there are silos. Would be nice to have RRSPs.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and communicate downstream.

    Sandvine2019-06-10

    Sandvine Response

    June 17, 2019Sandvine

    Thank you for sharing your valuable review

  2. "Great company, awesome benefits and very smart friendly people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    smartest people, good management, good benefits and compensation, remote work if needed, great company culture, many company events, free beer, drinks(pop, coffee, tea etc..), Whisky bar, good management, challenging and interesting technology stack, always something new to learn.

    Cons

    can't find any cons for now

    Advice to Management

    RRSP would be great benefit, macbook for software developers would be a good incentive

    Sandvine2019-06-23
  3. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Hardware Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Fair compensation. Management recognizes and rewards hard work.

    Cons

    Company was moving away from hardware projects and shrinking the team

    Sandvine2019-08-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Solid company. Good technology. An okay place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Waterloo, ON
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strategic management. Good customers. Decent name in market.

    Cons

    Private equity run so the focus is more on profit than on growth. Top down management can limit the contribution allowed for motivated middle managers.

    Sandvine2019-07-07
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Bad sales leadership contaminate the workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sandvine has great products, marketshare and a go-to-market strategy

    Cons

    Do not take a sales position here. 'Bringing in the numbers' on a 30/60/90 basis with a complete disregard for the customer or sales person has led to 'high turnover'. Very tactical top-down sales push versus strategic selling is the focus. Some senior sales leaders never stop searching for something to over-analyze and micromanage. Under constant surveillance and inspection, this makes the sales team feel... discouraged, frustrated and uncomfortable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bad senior leadership is causing irrevocable damage, hindering performance and creating unnecessary stress to employees and customers. A new company culture needs to be developed.

    Sandvine2019-07-24
  6. Helpful (4)

    "More value on money than people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team is very close and we get to work on some neat stuff, but if any one of them left many of us wouldn’t be far behind.

    Cons

    Sandvine is not what it used to be. We don’t really have a culture anymore. The days of being a “Great Place to Work” are so far gone. Executive leadership has moved to the US and it is a very different style than Sandvine 1.0. Very little communication and transparency. Only focus is on making money and if you are not a money maker you can consider yourself at risk at being out of a job. Mindset that anyone is... “replaceable”. Very little career development and opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Making money is cool but so is treating people with respect. Don’t drive away good people.

    Sandvine2019-06-28
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible management, lack of responsibility, broken teams."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Salary is okay. - Benefits are okay - Free food pretty often - Free beer anytime you want it if that's your thing.

    Cons

    In my time at Sandvine: - I have been sworn at by managers (technically the one of the VP's) for asking if I could have access to a server for something. - I have heard other people managers throwing racist slurs around, not even behind closed doors. - I have been physically threatened by people managers. - I have received insanely little amounts of training, and then been expected to take on huge... responsibilities far beyond my scope, as if I was a master of my craft. - I have been told, "No offense, but maybe Sandvine made a mistake in hiring you." - I have been told "Well, if this new product doesn't sell, who knows where you could end up. Enjoy job security while you have it! (I'm not even part of any sales team...) - I have been told, "You should consider yourself lucky I hired you. Nobody else in this kind of office environment would since you have tattoos." The C-level staff have no idea what is happening below them, and only care about the money being brought it; it's extremely apparent. Human Resources can only do so much to help, when many of the management and above aren't following the company policies. No RRSP.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You seriously need to get a clue what is happening around you, or this company (at least the Waterloo office) will crumble. Plus, maybe next time don't hire racist, aggressive people -- or don't be surprised when lawsuits find you.

    Sandvine2019-05-30

    Sandvine Response

    June 3, 2019Sandvine

    Sandvine does not tolerate this type of behavior and takes these concerns very serious. The company has several policies that support fair and ethical treatment of all associates. Additionally, the company has an escalation process to address matters such as this. Thank you for your feedback.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Crumbling culture. Questionable ethics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is full of smart people. The technology is interesting and you are faced with new challenges constantly.

    Cons

    Most of the knowledgable people have left. Management is not transparent about company performance, corporate objectives, and how products are used in certain countries.

    Sandvine2019-05-06
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Used to be a great company before take over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be: Great smart people Used to be: Startup like environment High-paced Great benefit

    Cons

    A bit stale technology with opportunities to learn, but not for all Uncertainty if you will be here another week Low margin result driven that results in zero investment in people and tools

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a great job to sell this company one day, it might have no smart people left by the time it happens.

    Sandvine2019-03-23
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Stay Away. This is not Sandvine anymore."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    • Interesting tech that impacts the world. • Reasonably good compensation.

    Cons

    • Anyone of any substance or real value from the original Sandvine is gone • Absentee leadership in the USA planning on how best to line their pockets on exit. • Elimination of virtually all local leadership from legacy Sandvine. If you're interested in a short term "ok" paycheck, then this might still be the place for you. If you want to work for a place that is looking for long term stability with a... management that genuinely cares about you... They're gone. All that remains is the new management team who will also be gone the moment it financially pays off for them (and them alone). No real innovation is coming from here anymore. The order of business is maintain appearances, cut costs and shine it up for the sale.

    Show More
    Sandvine2019-03-15
Found 195 reviews