Sandvine Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sandvine Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Sandvine CEO Lyn Cantor
Lyn Cantor
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, drinks, cab for late evening drop home(in 28 reviews)

  • "Smart people, working with new technology, very broad way of working(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Things are getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, free food and beer if that's your thing, fun events going on in the office. Lot's of opportunities to learn and work on innovative things. Things were definitely worse a year ago but the culture has been improving. Seems as though the dust has settled and people are happier.

    Cons

    Communication can be lacking, sometimes there are silos. Would be nice to have RRSPs.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and communicate downstream.

    Sandvine2019-06-10
  2. "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sandvine 

    I have been working at Sandvine full-time

    Pros

    Tons of projects and initiatives

    Cons

    Too many managers and not enough work completed

    Sandvine2019-11-24
  3. "A lot of learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine full-time

    Pros

    Work flow is constant and always changing but allows you to learn and grow with the organization

    Cons

    feel like each department is segregated, would like to see more relationships being built between departments

    Sandvine2019-10-30
  4. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Hardware Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Fair compensation. Management recognizes and rewards hard work.

    Cons

    Company was moving away from hardware projects and shrinking the team

    Sandvine2019-08-03
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Bad sales leadership contaminate the workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sandvine has great products, marketshare and a go-to-market strategy

    Cons

    Do not take a sales position here. 'Bringing in the numbers' on a 30/60/90 basis with a complete disregard for the customer or sales person has led to 'high turnover'. Very tactical top-down sales push versus strategic selling is the focus. Some senior sales leaders never stop searching for something to over-analyze and micromanage. Under constant surveillance and inspection, this makes the sales team feel discouraged, frustrated and uncomfortable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bad senior leadership is causing irrevocable damage, hindering performance and creating unnecessary stress to employees and customers. A new company culture needs to be developed.

    Sandvine2019-07-24
  6. Helpful (11)

    "More value on money than people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team is very close and we get to work on some neat stuff, but if any one of them left many of us wouldn’t be far behind.

    Cons

    Sandvine is not what it used to be. We don’t really have a culture anymore. The days of being a “Great Place to Work” are so far gone. Executive leadership has moved to the US and it is a very different style than Sandvine 1.0. Very little communication and transparency. Only focus is on making money and if you are not a money maker you can consider yourself at risk at being out of a job. Mindset that anyone is “replaceable”. Very little career development and opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Making money is cool but so is treating people with respect. Don’t drive away good people.

    Sandvine2019-06-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Solid company. Good technology. An okay place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Waterloo, ON
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strategic management. Good customers. Decent name in market.

    Cons

    Private equity run so the focus is more on profit than on growth. Top down management can limit the contribution allowed for motivated middle managers.

    Sandvine2019-07-07
  8. "Great company, awesome benefits and very smart friendly people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    smartest people, good management, good benefits and compensation, remote work if needed, great company culture, many company events, free beer, drinks(pop, coffee, tea etc..), Whisky bar, good management, challenging and interesting technology stack, always something new to learn.

    Cons

    can't find any cons for now

    Advice to Management

    RRSP would be great benefit, macbook for software developers would be a good incentive

    Sandvine2019-06-23
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Terrible management, lack of responsibility, broken teams."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sandvine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Salary is okay. - Benefits are okay - Free food pretty often - Free beer anytime you want it if that's your thing.

    Cons

    In my time at Sandvine: - I have been sworn at by managers (technically the one of the VP's) for asking if I could have access to a server for something. - I have heard other people managers throwing racist slurs around, not even behind closed doors. - I have been physically threatened by people managers. - I have received insanely little amounts of training, and then been expected to take on huge responsibilities far beyond my scope, as if I was a master of my craft. - I have been told, "No offense, but maybe Sandvine made a mistake in hiring you." - I have been told "Well, if this new product doesn't sell, who knows where you could end up. Enjoy job security while you have it! (I'm not even part of any sales team...) - I have been told, "You should consider yourself lucky I hired you. Nobody else in this kind of office environment would since you have tattoos." The C-level staff have no idea what is happening below them, and only care about the money being brought it; it's extremely apparent. Human Resources can only do so much to help, when many of the management and above aren't following the company policies. No RRSP.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You seriously need to get a clue what is happening around you, or this company (at least the Waterloo office) will crumble. Plus, maybe next time don't hire racist, aggressive people -- or don't be surprised when lawsuits find you.

    Sandvine2019-05-30
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Crumbling culture. Questionable ethics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sandvine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is full of smart people. The technology is interesting and you are faced with new challenges constantly.

    Cons

    Most of the knowledgable people have left. Management is not transparent about company performance, corporate objectives, and how products are used in certain countries.

    Sandvine2019-05-06
Found 224 reviews