SandRidge Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SandRidge Energy Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
SandRidge Energy CEO 	James D. Bennett (no image)
James D. Bennett
38 Ratings
  1. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SandRidge Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Very welcoming, laid back culture. Great pay and half day fridays are very nice. Awesome corporate culture.

    Cons

    They don't have their internship program really well developed, and I don't think they ever will. Manager told me he didn't know he had an intern until a month before I came because the old management that got laid off requested one. That manager has since accepted a job elsewhere. Mid-level management is always changing

    SandRidge Energy2018-02-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant I in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SandRidge Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company has a great culture. Open and honest dialogue is important here. Work life balance is also attainable. Good benefits.

    Cons

    It is expected for you to stay until you get your work done. Have had quite a few layoffs over the past few years

    Advice to Management

    Let your employees have more flexibility. If they can get their work done a better, more efficient way, reward that! This would greatly improve the work ethic of employees.

    SandRidge Energy2018-02-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Change of Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SandRidge Energy full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Good learning opportunities Benefits Vacation time

    Cons

    Change of direction and leadership Retaining of knowledge

    SandRidge Energy2018-02-23
  4. "Current Outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SandRidge Energy full-time

    Pros

    There is a great company culture and the management is trying to listen and communicate more.

    Cons

    There are a lot of residuals from the restructuring and the recent layoffs.

    SandRidge Energy2017-10-25
  5. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Psychiatric Technician in Alva, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SandRidge Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary. Generous paid time off. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    Cons

    Cut throat environment. Heavy politics. Terrible field management. Promotions are given on a buddy system basis rather than work ethic, knowledge and experience.

    Advice to Management

    Remove current field management and promote someone with integrity and morals.

    SandRidge Energy2017-10-25
  6. "Lots of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SandRidge Energy full-time

    Pros

    The HR department ('people and culture') seems to care about and for the employees (more than managers). Good 401(k) match. Operations group works on a lot of projects, with reasonable opportunity for input.

    Cons

    Managers and supervisors too busy managing up to spend time with their teams. No clear strategic direction for what the company wants to do.

    Advice to Management

    Decide on a business strategy to make positive returns in a low price environment -- not just one that gets you paid.

    SandRidge Energy2017-09-05
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Journeyman/Maintenance Tech2 in Enid, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SandRidge Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independence of daily jobs. Technical experience, training, fellow employers, oil and gas industry. Latest tools and test equipment. Drinking on back roads

    Cons

    Young engineers that are on power trips get pushed into upper management because of their cheap salary compared to the veterans pushed out. Other than that it was a dream job

    Advice to Management

    My manager was great

    SandRidge Energy2017-07-24
  8. "Good place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SandRidge Energy full-time

    Pros

    Consistency. Home most every night.

    Cons

    Leadership in electrical group. Lots of travel.

    SandRidge Energy2017-04-13
  9. "SandRidge is a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Data Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SandRidge Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, great atmosphere great place to work!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    SandRidge Energy2017-03-22
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SandRidge Energy full-time

    Pros

    Leadership, Culture, People, Benefits, Work Environment

    Cons

    The oil and gas industry is unstable

    SandRidge Energy2017-02-17
Found 82 reviews