Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) President and CEO Dr. Kinam Kim
Dr. Kinam Kim
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Collaboration is somewhat limited to Korea R&D counterpart(in 49 reviews)

  • "It is hard to manage a work-life balance(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    Good benefit and working environment.

    Cons

    Researches are not really “cutting edge”, somewhat fall behind.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-12-17
  2. "Nice people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    smart and perfesional people nice working environment

    Cons

    small space lack of sport room lack of inside cafeteria and restaurant

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-09-30
  3. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment Innovation is really appreciated

    Cons

    No policy of working from home

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-09-03
  4. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)

    Pros

    The building is awesome, new office spaces with kitchen areas on every floor, gym is pretty good, pool tables/ping pong tables in various locations, cafeteria has a good selection, subsidized meals, close to public transportation, cool benefits including discounts on samsung and harmon-kardon product, was assigned a meaningful intern project that contributed to the work of the team, was included in team meetings and was assigned sprints in an agile work environment. The intern program was awesome with plenty of activities!!! They helped the interns connect and build friendships! They work hard to put on the intern events and it shows!

    Show More

    Cons

    The pressure to perform well was felt a little more than previous internships. (But that's to be expected in this area)

    Advice to Management

    I had great managers who had a sense of humor, which was nice!

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-08-15
  5. "One year Anniversary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Work Environment Great benefits (medical and financial) Excellent working team Great available Environment (Good cafeteria food. Exercise Gym, etc.). Excellent support from Management, HR and finance team

    Cons

    None so far, that I can provide

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-07-02
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart team members, friendly working environment and patient mentors. A lot of opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    The cubicles could be more spacious. Now is like everyone can hear everyone.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-05-31
  7. "Good culture, nice cafe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Systems Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and working environment. Nice food from cafe. Good fitness center and recreation zone.

    Cons

    No stocks here. That's it.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-03-07
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Samsung 5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Architect in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment ( facilities,etc.) good benefit and compensation.

    Cons

    Little to almost no opportunity to advance career. No equal opportunity employer.

    Advice to Management

    Career advancement opportunities to those who are not directly visible to management to HQ. Opportunity to share employee's experience at Samsung directly with senior management.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-01-07
  9. "Staff engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sensor Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, nice people, and cutting-edge technology development environment. management is good

    Cons

    Sometime the time assigned to finish a task is too short

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2018-03-08
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Better than expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a few reservations about joining Samsung a few years ago, from the work environment to culture. However, for the most part, that wasn’t what I experienced. I found that at the organizational level, SSI does care about its employees and tries to make it a good place to work, with nice amenities, a good salary and benefits. I think the actual work experience depends on the specific group you are in. From an engineering perspective, the groups vary widely: from product development to research. It seems that each team/group has a decent amount of freedom to execute as they see fit - typically driven by a VP down to the mangers. My experience has been positive with supportive and smart colleagues, and a reasonable manger. Having said that, there is politics and some amount of unnecessary oversight by HQ and SSI itself, but it’s not really worse than I’ve experienced elsewhere.

    Show More

    Cons

    At organizational level, there’s not a lot of trust. Which leads to, “If Samsung doesn’t trust me, why should I trust them”. I think that has several potential consequences, such as higher turnover, lower productivity, and a lack of ownership. The lack of stock RSUs/options is unfortunate.

    Advice to Management

    Trust employees to do the right thing. I think “trust but verify” would go a long way toward employee engagement and initiative.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2018-01-25
Found 23 reviews