Samsung Electronics America Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Samsung Electronics America Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
35%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Electronics America President and CEO YH Eom
YH Eom
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance does not exist(in 153 reviews)

  • "Korea headquarters culture can still work its way into day-to-day work(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Coordinator in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Electronics America

    Pros

    Great learning experience Very flexible work hours Postive team environment Good benefits Competitve base salary Great career path Employee empowerment

    Cons

    I can't think of any bad sides about it. It is all positive. I really enjoy working there. But the only thing I can think of is that no one will look over your shoulder. You have to be disciplined to do your work

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2015-09-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "good perks, bad environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time

    Pros

    robust healthcare, small fitness allowance, great products

    Cons

    lack of consistent messaging across departments, excessive micromanagement, poor work/life balance, poorly structured systems, work week spans M - Sun, average compensation, no advancement opportunities

    Samsung Electronics America2019-06-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Extremely corrupted environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America

    Pros

    Only offers visibility. Having this company on your résumé can be beneficial to your career, but the company in itself is extremely corrupted. Hiring process to evaluation to salary increase, you must be part of a network of very questionable minds to be paid decently and not feel threatened to lose your job.

    Cons

    They don’t like promoting people dedicated to their jobs. Lots of internal battles for power, privileges. Only hires people they know or close relatives. Experienced people are not welcome there. Incompetency is a trademark.

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2017-10-01

    Samsung Electronics America Response

    February 9, 2018Employee Engagement

    We appreciate you taking time to leave a review. Samsung was built on a foundation of its core values and they continue to drive our business decisions and workplace culture today. We take all comments left very seriously and thank you for helping us to continue to improve. - The Employee Engagement Team

    Continue reading
  4. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Well know international brand.

    Cons

    Long hours and lost of meetings

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2016-03-21
  5. "Bilingual Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary to begin and good incentives but management lacks human touch.

    Cons

    Less regard to employees/ lots of prejudice towards certain type of employees/ managers show favoritism towards certain employees. Productive employees do not get a change for advancement ..

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2016-03-11
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, Perks, Brand Name, Products, Possibilities...

    Cons

    Management is unstable, lack of respect for business partners, Work/Life balance is not embedded in company's culture.

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2015-12-09
  7. "worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Electronics America

    Pros

    awesome job! great bosses! the environment of the offices, is so calm, cool and collective. Love it!

    Cons

    none, cant seem to think of any, except for more smoking zones...that is pretty much it!

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2015-08-03
  8. "No work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great exposures to various business units

    Cons

    Bad corporate culture and too much over time is expected

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2014-08-19
  9. "Getting there..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Electronics America

    Pros

    Good local leadership, great products

    Cons

    Challenge of moving from consumer focus to enterprise

    Samsung Electronics America2014-03-26
  10. "Work is interesting. But engineers not very competent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America

    Pros

    Work is interesting and environment is friendly.

    Cons

    But engineers not very competent

    Samsung Electronics America2013-02-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 824 reviews