Salesforce "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Salesforce Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5061 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Salesforce CEO Marc Benioff and Keith Block
Marc Benioff and Keith Block
552 Ratings
Pros
  • "Salesforce is really a healthy organization(in 635 reviews)

  • "Excellent company culture with an emphasis on work-life balance(in 376 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Great pay, culture & expectations - not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay - Great benefits - Well known, fast growing company - Supportive management** (contingent on your patch) ** - not all managers are like this from my experience of discussion with others

    Cons

    - Constant changes (whether to which team you're on, or your job description) - Promotion path is convuluted (interview, get approved, and they decide they want to close the position and then constantly will make you re-interview for the same position you were once approved for. Could be waiting 4 months+ after acceptance - Work hard, and only hard. Play doesn't really exist here. - Passive aggressive... directors that will never tell you "Good job" when hitting 100% of your metrics, micro-focused - Culture isn't what it's cracked up to be (sadly). Backstabbing, and bullying tendencies from other team members - business makes the best decisions for the business completely not acknowledging the toll it puts on employees (ie. 35% YoY growth, which is great, but comes with a cost) - Work life balance in positions that come after BDR are apparently non-existent

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Encourage your workers, quit with the passive aggressiveness - Focus on enhancing culture. When asked to address issues with repeat offenders do not say "It's too tough to fix" - Figure out a better way to support career growth through promotion path that is more straight forward - Add some play into the "Work hard"

    Salesforce2019-06-11

    Salesforce Response

    June 20, 2019Rachel Courtney, SVP, Employee Success

    Thank you for your review. Some of the behavior you have described is concerning and not at all what we want to see at Salesforce. I'd encourage you to reach out to your Employee Success Business Partner to discuss your concerns. If you don't feel comfortable doing that, you can reach ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Think twice about what you're walking into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depends heavily on the role & org or group you're in . Good base pay and benefits. Incredibly smart people throughout the company. Ability to work in different organizations. Flexibility to work remotely.

    Cons

    Unattainable goals. Internal bureaucracy and fighting is worse than I've seen anywhere by far. Zero work-life balance. Expectations to take calls/respond to emails anytime of day/night 7 days a week. Only objective is to sell more to clients, not what's best for their clients. Do not live by the image they portray externally.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. Actually align with other leaders in the org. opposed to placing AE's between internal bureaucracy.

    Salesforce2019-04-06

    Salesforce Response

    April 23, 2019President and Chief People Officer

    Thank you for leaving us this feedback. Culture is not something we take for granted, and we're continuing to work hard every day to make Salesforce a great place to work for all. If you're comfortable, I'd recommend that you connect with your Employee Success Business Partner directly ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good company to work in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Lots of opportunities to learn new things Good culture!

    Cons

    Big corporation that sometimes moves slowly

    Salesforce2019-03-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "#dreamjob"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solution Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - truly believes the business of businesses is to make the world a better place - competitive salary - lots of opportunities to grow your career - great resources for learning new skills - fast-paced environment - visionary leadership - great perks

    Cons

    - increasingly complex organizational structure - crowded offices in regional hubs - work-life balance is still difficult despite the company’s strong promotion of it

    Advice to Management

    - don’t get so caught up with performance that it’s no longer a warm, fun and innovative place to work

    Salesforce2018-12-22

    Salesforce Response

    January 9, 2019Linda Aiello, SVP International Employee Success

    Thank you for sharing your experience and for your commitment. Glad that you are enjoying your Salesforce experience. We are growing fast and we know that presents challenges, but we will definitely continue to work hard on maintaining this great culture.

  5. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work life balance is wonderful.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency when discussing career path

    Salesforce2018-08-14
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Great firm; High Performance Sales Culture can be a drag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Truly walk the charity talk; Very positive environment; Great to be a part of a wildly growing firm; Pay well; Customer events are first class; Great tech that never fails; Broad platform for interesting customer use cases.

    Cons

    Ever seen that episode of Black Mirror with Bryce Dallas Howard where she constantly chases positive social ratings in order to keep her place in society? That's whats its like at SF. Faking constant positivity can be draining. Its genuine with most folks but when you have 'real talk' many folks don't take it well. I was there for 3 Fiscal Years and had my territory reduced by 50% and my quota rise by 50% every... year. The 3rd time my patch became too small to hit the high quota. Sales mgmt would rather have 10 reps make 60% than 6 reps make 100%. Work-Life balance is tough too. Pressure for growth is massive on RVPs so it rolls down hill. Maintaining 25% growth has an impact on the front lines.

    Show More
    Salesforce2018-06-05
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce full-time

    Pros

    great compensation package if hitting your number

    Cons

    work life balance isn't the best

    Salesforce2018-03-05
  8. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reasons why I would not leave Salesforce: Salary - very fair with pay, commission, bonus payouts Benefits: - 7 days a year volunteer time off, matching donations - generous PTO (although don't usually take the time) - matching RRSP contributions - good Stock option plan Overall, the culture of innovation and leading game-changing opportunities every year is exciting to be a part of!

    Cons

    Work/Life balance is difficult at times

    Salesforce2018-01-02
  9. "Visionary CEO & Chairman has built a fantastic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Vice President in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Continuous Learning and Personal Evolution - Lot's of opportunities to grow your career - Amazing Culture & Benefits - Great! Compensation for Over Achievers - Innovation powerhouse

    Cons

    Work life balance is difficult to manage, relentless pace of execution can leave you questioning your longevity - can be very cliquey in certain business units

    Advice to Management

    Distribution within the Commercial BU needs a New GTM Strategy - Consult with frontline managers to learn and fine tune our execution strategy

    Salesforce2017-09-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "6 years at Salesforce and counting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -fun culture, still working to maintain some of the startup vibe despite not being a big player in the market -talks the talk about equality and for the most part walks it but the lack of women in management and Sr Leadership roles is obvious -this is not something Salesforce can change overnight but at least they aren't afraid of the conversation

    Cons

    -go get promoted, it is very challenging for working moms and parents in general to have a good work life balance -too much self promotion needed to get promoted vs looking at people's actual work because of Salesforce's culture

    Advice to Management

    -leverage your workforce better and their loyalty will pay dividends many times over

    Salesforce2017-09-29
Found 5061 reviews